Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Balkan Studies: Multi-disciplinary Resources: ISI emerging markets

A guide to the many multidisciplinary resources for Balkan Studies.

Breadth and depth of Internet Securities Inc. Emerging Markets

 

ISI--Internet Securities Inc.--contains an amazing breadth and depth of full-text business and political information, broadly defined, although chronological coverage is heavily skewed toward the very recent past. Items can be found dating back to the mid-1990s. The vast majority of material dates from more recent years.  Please note that there are different ways the homepage views depending on the entrance portal. The SFX window takes one to the EMIS homepage. The full-text link at the Slavic Reference Service homepage takes one to the ISI homepage. In either case, this is a subscription database so going through UIUC is imperative--unless you want to pay for your own subscription. The company is geared toward providing market information for the savvy international investor (after all, the name stands for "Internet Securities inc") but this wealth of data can be valuable for social scientists as well. ISI is drawing from online resources and these have proliferated in recent years for our area. It has several products, with the flagship one being EMIS--the Emerging Market Information Service.

  • Current, full-text, vernacular-language coverage of 80+ countries, including all of Eastern Europe and (almost all of) the former Soviet Union, with new countries slowly being added every year.
  • "Unique content," including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, market-specific information, as well as proprietary research, analysis, and statistics.
  • Content aggregated from from 2,150+ data providers, representing 13,000+ local & regional information sources.
  • Updated daily by 500 employees in 29 offices in Asia, Africa, Europe, North and South America.

Although materials relating to larger geographical regions can be searched and reviewed, ISI is primarily organized on a country-by-country basis, with a wide range of search options and types of materials accessible within each country.

Among many other options here, users can select "Latest News" from the "News" portion of the menu bar under the "DashBoard" screen, which appears when a particular country is selected from the list on the homepage. This retrieves links to a huge amount of same-day information on a variety of topics.

 

Information for Eastern European countries is provided in both English and the major languages of the country in question in most cases.

 

ISI Feeds - English

ISI has generalized news feeds from the countries it covers.  Below is the English language feed for Bosnia-Herzegovina. [Please Note:  while you will be able to see the headlines after you have left Illinois you will not be able to click on the titles and view the remainder of the article.  This is due to license restrictions.  If you need follow up information on a particular news item, please contact the Slavic Reference Service!]

Bosnia-Herzegovina NewsWatch
Loading ...

ISI Feeds - Vernacular Language

Below is an example of one of the vernacular language or local feeds.

[Please Note:  while you will be able to see the headlines after you have left Illinois you will not be able to click on the titles and view the remainder of the article.  This is due to license restrictions.  If you need follow up information on a particular news item, please contact the Slavic Reference Service!]

Serbia NewsWatch
Loading ...