Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Toolkit for STEM Business: Market & Industry Resources

This guide was created by Becky Smith and Lindsay Taylor, MSLIS candidate 2022.

B2B Industry Information Chart

B2B Industry Information Chart

Sometimes it's challenging to choose a right database to start your search among so many available resources, and it's often hard to remember all features for various databases. This chart includes 11 BIS subscribed key databases and a variety of B2B industry categories. Click on the database name to directly go to the database. You will need your NetID and password to login.

 

Database Agriculture & Food Education IoT Information Technology & Telecommunication Manufacturing Professional Scientific  & Technical Services Transportation Utilities
BCC Research          
Business Source Ultimate
Emerging Markets Information Service            
First Research Industry Profiles      
Gartner Research            
IBISWorld    
IDTechEX          
Mintel            
Mergent Online            
Passport Global Market Information Database              
Statista        
Technavio            

 

Databases for B2B Industry Research

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies. It contains the industry research information on Food.

 

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on agriculture and food.

  • Type in the "Agriculture" in the first search box and then "Food" next to the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

Emerging Markets Information Service 

To find industry research information on agriculture: first click an "Industry"; then click on "Agriculture" tab; The relevant results will then be displayed.

 

 

First Research Industry Profiles

 

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

 

For example, to search for a specific industry report on food in US, click the drop-down menu under the tab of "Industry Research," and select "Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting in the US," as shown below. 

 

 

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

IDTechEx

www.idtechex.com

Includes company profiles, reports, webinars, research articles, brief forecasts, market sizing and company presentations on emerging technologies with a specialty in Internet of Things.   

To search for the report of food industry information, click the drop-down menu of "Products," then select the tab of "Reports," and choose "Food & AgTech."

 

 

Access is for Urbana, staff, faculty, and students currently enrolled.  Students in experiential learning teams are permitted to use the resource for analysis for their projects.   Authentication or credentialing is a two step process.  The link will require using the VPN server, then use one of 39 already designated "seats" or usernames/password to access. 

Those seats are as follows (example for the first 10 seats is pasted below).  Note: this is a screenshot and not clickable links. 

 

 

 For the remaining 29 seats, use the same web address but insert the next number (illinois11@idtechex.com ; for the password, insert the number after the word ill and before the exclamation mark !).   If you need further assistance, e-mail Becky Smith. 

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports publishes online reports containing consumer research and analysis; market drivers, size, structure, and segmentation; and market forecasts and is a delivery platform focusing on opinions from Mintel analysts.

You may only access a Mintel database to which our institution has subscribed for non-commercial study while you are a current student, a current faculty or staff, or permitted guest.

 

For obtaining more industry information about agriculture and food, select "Food" under the drop-down menu of "Category."

 

Use the search box in the top center to start your search, and use the filters on the left to narrow down your results.

 

Passport

To search for industry information on food, go to 'Industries' section; select 'Fresh Food' or 'Package Food'; choose either industry you are interested in.

 

 

For database help, click here.
 

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on food, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Agriculture.'

Passport Global Market Information Database

To locate statistics, look under Search (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.

For example, to search for industry statistics, go to 'Search Statistics' section; select 'industries'; choose a industry you are interested in; click go .

For database help, click here.

 


 

SimplyAnalytics

SimplyAnalytics provides data for all geographies include census block-groups, census tracts, ZIP codes, cities, counties, states, and the entire United States.  (this is for power users only, not for beginning researchers)

  • Demographic Variables: Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more.
  • Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections.
  • Business Variables: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments.

Create an account or login as a guest. Please note that only five users may use this resource at any given time.


Please make an appointment with BIS team
 for information about how this database works. 

 

 

 

Statista

Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 60,000 topics drawn from over 18,000 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. The data is aggregated by a dedicated team of researchers and statisticians who are experts in the 20 market and industry sectors covered. For each data set, extensive source information is provided. Data sets can conveniently be downloaded as an image, pdf, Excel file, or PowerPoint.

In the search bar, type in the company name.

 

When the results load, you can limit the results by clicking Dossiers, Statistics, and Infographicsundefined

         

 

 

U.S. Census Bureau

The US Census includes data from the US Census collected every ten years, but also from over 130 surveys conducted each year. Most recent data at data.census.gov often comes from American Community Surveys (ACS). The US Census regularly updates a handbook on using ACS data, which is an open access resource. 

Grapic showing census topics: social, demographic, economic, and housing

image source: US Census Bureau, 2021

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on education.

  • Type in the "Education" in the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

First Research Industry Profiles

 

 

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

 

For example, to search for a specific industry report on education in US, click the drop-down menu under the tab of "Industry Research," and select "Educational Services in the US," as shown below. 

 

 

 

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on IoT.

  • Type in the "Internet" in the first search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

IDTechEx

www.idtechex.com

Includes company profiles, reports, webinars, research articles, brief forecasts, market sizing and company presentations on emerging technologies with a specialty in Internet of Things.   

To search for the report of IoT industry information, click the drop-down menu of "Products," then select the tab of "Reports," and choose "5G, 6G, RFLD & IoT."

 

 

 

Access is for Urbana, staff, faculty, and students currently enrolled.  Students in experiential learning teams are permitted to use the resource for analysis for their projects.   Authentication or credentialing is a two step process.  The link will require using the VPN server, then use one of 39 already designated "seats" or usernames/password to access. 

Those seats are as follows (example for the first 10 seats is pasted below).  Note: this is a screenshot and not clickable links. 

 

 

 For the remaining 29 seats, use the same web address but insert the next number (illinois11@idtechex.com ; for the password, insert the number after the word ill and before the exclamation mark !).   If you need further assistance, e-mail Becky Smith. 

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on IoT, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Internet.'

 

BCC Research

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies. It contains the industry research information on information technology and telecommunication.

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on agriculture and food.

  • Type in the "Information Technology" in the first search box and then "Telecommunication" next to the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

The search result should look like this (see screenshot below).  

 

The first one is the article itself, including a link to the PDF to download.  The second result (and there may be more, but not for this particular article) is a Letter to the Editor.  Sometimes there is a follow-up editorial note as well, also in PDF. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

First Research Industry Profiles

To find the industry research information on food, click "Browser Industry Profiles," and select a type of industry in the list, such as "Technology & Communications," as shown below.

 

Gartner Research 

Gartner Research is one of the foremost authorities on high tech trends. It is a global research and advisory firm providing information, advice, and tools for leaders in IT, finance, HR, customer service and support, communications, legal and compliance, marketing, sales, and supply chain functions. 

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports publishes online reports containing consumer research and analysis; market drivers, size, structure, and segmentation; and market forecasts and is a delivery platform focusing on opinions from Mintel analysts.

You may only access a Mintel database to which our institution has subscribed for non-commercial study while you are a current student, a current faculty or staff, or permitted guest.

 

For obtaining more industry information about Information technology and telecommunication, select "Technology & Media" under the drop-down menu of "Category," and check "Telecom."

 

 

Mergent Online

 

To find industry information about information technology and telecommunication, use the "Industry analysis" window on the right side of the home page. You can look at the type of industry you are interested in, such as "Technology" and "Telecommunications."

 

You can come to further search by selecting "Reports" to download the latest report or click "Historical Reports" to understand the trends of a particular industry.

 

 

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on information and telecommunication, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Technology & Telecommunications.'

 

Technavio

Technavio

Technavio provides access to subscribed market and industry reports.

To search for the industry information on Information Technology, check "Information Technology" under the "All Industries" drop-down menu.

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies. It contains the industry research information on Manufacturing.

 

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on agriculture and manufacturing.

  • Type in the "Manufacturing" in the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

First Research Industry Profiles

 

 

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

 

For example, to search for a specific industry report on manufacturing in US, click the drop-down menu under the tab of "Industry Research," and select "Manufacturing in the US," as shown below. 

 

 

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on professional scientific and technical services.

  • Type in the "Professional Scientific & Technical Services" in the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

Gartner Research 

Gartner Research is one of the foremost authorities on high tech trends. It is a global research and advisory firm providing information, advice, and tools for leaders in IT, finance, HR, customer service and support, communications, legal and compliance, marketing, sales, and supply chain functions. 

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

 

For example, to search for a specific industry report on food in US, click the drop-down menu under the tab of "Industry Research," and select "Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting in the US," as shown below. 

 

 

 

 

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on transportation.

  • Type in the "Transportation" in the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

Emerging Markets Information Service 

To find industry research information on transportation: first click an "Industry"; then click on "Transportation" tab; The relevant results will then be displayed.

 

First Research Industry Profiles

 

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

 

For example, to search for a specific industry report on transportation in US, click the drop-down menu under the tab of "Industry Research," and select "Transportation and Warehousing in the US," as shown below. 

 

 

 

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It provides survey results, which are presented in charts and tables. Its main target groups are business customers, lecturers and researchers. The data provided by the company cover, among other things, advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.

 

To search for industry information on transportation, select 'All Industries' under 'Statistics' drop-down menu, and choose 'Transportation & Logistics.'

 

Business Source Ultimate

To search for articles related to a specific type of industry, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword into the Find box and hit the Search button

 

Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an industry research information on utilities.

  • Type in the "utilities" in the search box.
  • Click the Search button on the screen
  • Choose the relevant industry under "NASIC/Industry."

 

 

Most of the articles include a link to the PDF to download. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

 

For example, to search for a specific industry report on utilities in US, click the drop-down menu under the tab of "Industry Research," and select "Utilities in the US," as shown below. 

 

 

 

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

Mergent Online

To find industry information about utilities, use the "Industry analysis" window on the right side of the home page. You can look at the type of industry you are interested in, such as "utilities."

 

 

 

You can come to further search by selecting "Reports" to download the latest report or click "Historical Reports" to understand the trends of a particular industry.

 

 

Technavio

Technavio

Technavio provides access to subscribed market and industry reports.

To search for the industry information on utilities, check "Utilities" under the "All Industries" drop-down menu.