LibGuides: Toolkit for Entrepreneurship: Patent and Product Research

Alibaba

Alibaba
A catalog that provides names of suppliers worldwide and by region. The searching is a bit different and pay attention to the left side bar in order to narrow your results (See Related Category). Screenshot below provides a simple way to search. Price ranges are provided for the products.

Derwent Innovations Index

Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Field Searching for patents, including international patents. You can also search by topic and get analysis of the results in which organization has the most patents.

Engineering Village

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature as well as to patents, standards and handbooks (Compendex, US Patents, Inspec, EP Patents, NTIS, WO Patents, GEOBASE, and GeoRef).

Espacenet (European Patent Office)

Espacenet (European Patent Office)
Collection of patents and patent applications worldwide through the European Patent Office (EPO) from 1836-present. You can search patents by origin country. Results can be downloaded as Adobe PDF files.

Google Patent Search

Google Advanced Patent Search makes it easy to search by categories such as assignee and date ranges.

The collection covers all granted patents and published patent applications from the USPTO (1790-present) and the EPO (1978-present). Try the basic search using the box below:

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.

Some information on patents can be found in Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.

Click the drop-down menu that says Search by content type above the red search box
Then select Patent Search under the Legal category
Search for the name of the company or patent number

SciFinder Web

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First register here using your @illinois.edu email address before visiting the url above to access SciFinder.
SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.

Scopus

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

ThomasNet

ThomasNet
American suppliers only. You can search by product, category, company name. Prices for the products are not provided, but you will get company name, location, and types of products the company supplies.

Unites States Patent and Trademark Office

Unites States Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present, searchable by many different categories. PDF images are available for all patents from 1790 to the present but you must search by patent number and/or classification code for pre-1976 patents.
USPTO - Seven Step Strategy for a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search
A short guide for finding U.S. patents and patent applications using free online resources from USPTO and the European Patent Office.

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
The WIPO provides the PATENTSCOPE database which covers 43 million patent documents including 2.5 million published international patent applications. Documents can be downloaded as PDF, ZIP, or XML files.