About This Page
This page is for research into the interactions between the European Union and non-member countries. The books listed are a sample of the University's collections on the topic. For further research, please search the subject headings in the catalog.
Databases and Journals
- International Studies Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowSubscription includes online access to: The International Studies Compendium Project. The International Studies Compendium Project, published in association with the International Studies Association, is available online (International studies online) or as a 12-volume set in print (The International Studies Encyclopedia). This resource is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. International studies online is updated twice annually and is enhanced by live links to archives, datasets, cases, pedagogical aids, and other relevant materials.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowThe PAIS Archive includes carefully selected resources to help users identify and locate information about significant political, economic, social and cultural issues affecting international and local communities, countries, governments and society. Its broad topical scope and retrospective coverage complement more specialized databases that cover the humanities, health care, agriculture, sociology, history, and many other disciplines, providing historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Also, the PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and the original historical subject headings have been retained within the file for enhanced searching capabilities.
- EIU Viewpoint: Country Analysis Advanced This link opens in a new windowCreated to support country market research, this database includes In-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends for over 195 countries worldwide, with an 18 month outlook. Quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from reliable sources and reviewed by Economist Intelligence Unit analysts to provide consistent, objective and impartial coverage.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
- Statesman's Yearbook, The This link opens in a new windowCovers key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets for countries world wide. Browse by places, people, international organizations, or abbreviations.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowWorld Newspaper Archive chronicles the history and politics of diverse peoples and cultures during the 19th and early 20th centuries. This expanding online resource was created in partnership between Readex, a division of NewsBank, and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL)-one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories-and includes historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, Slavic and East Europe, South Asia and other regions.
EU and the World
- European External Action Service (EEAS)Official website for The Diplomatic Service of the EU. Contains policies and lists of delegations and missions for non-EU nations. See "Newsroom and Resources" for documentation and speeches.
International Relations and the European Union by
International Relations and the European Union takes a unique approach by incorporating the study of the EU's world role into the wider field of international relations. As the most comprehensive introduction to the EU's international relations written by leading experts in the field, it isthe key text for anyone wishing to understand the EU's role in the contemporary world.Beginning with an examination of theoretical frameworks and approaches, the book goes on to address the institutions and processes that surround the EU's international relations. Key policy areas, such as security and trade, are outlined in detail, alongside the EU's relations with specificcountries and regions.Updates for the fourth edition include new chapters on the EU's relationship with Africa and Asia, coverage of the implementation of the EU's foreign policy, and exploration of how the EU's international relations relate historically to the European integration process, and the contemporary issue ofmigration.
ISBN: 9780192897343Publication Date: 2023
The Routledge Handbook of Ideology and International Relations by ISBN: 1003026753Publication Date: 2023
Subject Headings for Further Research
European Union Countries -- Foreign relations
European Union -- Foreign relations
Europe -- Foreign relations
European Union Countries -- Foreign relations -- Law and legislation
Diplomatic and consular service, European
European Union: foreign and security policy
Reference Materials
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
- HeinOnline World Treaty Library (UIUC Subscription)This database brings together works from Rohn, Dumont, Wiktor, and Martens to create the richest collection of world treaties ever available, spanning from 1648 to the present. Also included are hundreds of related treaty publications, scholarly articles, and a bibliography of related publications.
- Migration Data HubProvides data, graphs, and reports on Migration related issues.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures by ISBN: 9780816888405Publication Date: 1991-1996This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture. Contains a helpful ethnonym index. Available online and in print from UIUC library.
