Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EU Institutions and Other Bodies
Europa. Contains good, basic information about the institutions responsible for creating, upholding, and supporting European Union legislation.
Proposes and enforces EU legislation; implements policies and budget. Politically independent and composed of one Commissioner from each member country.
Responsible for EU legislation, supervision, and budget. Directly elected by EU voters every 5 years.
Composed of the European Council President, the European Commission President, and the heads of state of EU member countries. Sets the political direction and priorities of the EU.
Court of Justice of the European Union
Ensures EU law is applied and followed fairly in each member country. Composed of the Court of Justice (1 judge from each country + 11 general advocates) and the General Court (2 judges from each country).
CIA World Factbook
CIA. Contains very basic but helpful information about the European Union in general, including legislative information under the “government” heading.
Europa. Tracks the European Parliament’s legislative, budgetary, and other activities.
Europa. A searchable database of EU legislation. Provides details about the process each legislative document undergoes..
Preferences and Procedures by
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2006-07-02
An advanced analysis of the EU legislative process, making use of models like computer simulation and game theory.
Official Journal of the European Union.
EUR-Lex. Published every work day, the Official Journal (O.J.) is the EU’s official legislative record. The L Series contains EU legislation while the C Series contains reports and announcements including judgments of the Court of Justice and the Court of Auditors, as well as other institutions.
Archive of European Integration
University of Pittsburgh. A large repository of both primary documents and research articles on all facets of European integration and unification. Legislative research may benefit especially from the archive’s Law page.
Application of EU Law
Application of EU Law
Europa. Outlines the methods through which EU law is applied throughout the Member States. A brief but helpful overview.
EU Environmental Policy Handbook by
Call Number: 363.7056094 Eu1
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
A useful reference for exploring the creation of environmental policy in the EU and the intended consequences of that policy.
An independent and respected media portal dedicated to European Union activities.
Summaries of EU Legislation
Europa. Provides a 32-category breakdown of EU legislation, presented in a coherent and approachable manner. Each category contains thorough summaries of relevant legislation with helpful links throughout.
European Business Law Review
2002-2006. Provides analysis of developments in European business law, including news on specific countries and coverage of EU directives, legislation, treaties, case notes and other related matters.
European Constitutional Law Review
2005-present. Includes analysis of EU constitutional law and its applications within EU member states.
European Environmental Law Review
Available at IIT. 2003-2006. Provides analysis of European environmental law and its impact on various countries, including the US.
European Law Journal
1995-present. Peer reviewed articles about European law in general
Challenges to EU Legislation
Paradoxes of European Legal Integration by
Call Number: KJE960 .P37 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-23
Explores European integration and the problems posed by conflicting policies and social systems.
Researching Language and the Law by
Call Number: 340.14 R311
Publication Date: 2010-07-16
Though not exclusively concerned with EU law, this book includes several chapters about the European Union and the importance and difficulty of translation in legislative circumstances.