LibGuides: Video Collections in the Social Sciences and Health: Videos in Sociology

Why Use Video?

Video is a powerful tool for doing research in the social sciences, health, and education. Videos can present difficult topics in a new light and provide a different way of understanding information. Search the video collections below for full-length films and video clips relevant to your topic.

Resources for Videos in Sociology

African American Communities This link opens in a new window
This database has video and print materials focused on Black experiences in the United States -- materials originate primarily from the cities of Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis and New York City.
African Diaspora: 1860-Present This link opens in a new window
This database is centered on Black experiences from the African Diaspora across the globe. This collection is comprised of a mix of print and videos materials.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
This collection includes video materials focused on racial justice and diversity, as well as, interviews with Black leaders and academics dating back to 1949.
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Border regions across the world and their historical and social background is the focal point of this database. Videos, text and other media are available.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
This database supports the "growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies." The video covers many interdisciplinary topics with the disability community.
Health and Society in Video This link opens in a new window
Health and Society in Video defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society. This resource includes documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews
Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
This collection includes videos about Latinx experiences across the Americas created by Latinx individuals. Content available primarily in Portuguese, Spanish and English.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Videos from this collection explore the lives of LGBT individuals as well as the "cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community."
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies This link opens in a new window
Aimed at the study of incarceration from a global perspective, this database includes archival materials, reference texts, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, rehabilitation research, training materials, and artistic works.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
The database houses materials on wide variety of American pop culture topics from a historical perspective.
Popular Culture in Britain and America This link opens in a new window
Materials offering perspective on the social and cultural history of Britain and America are available in this database through print materials and video pieces.