Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alexander Street Press Features
- Searchable Transcripts
All Alexander Street Press videos come with searchable transcripts, so that you not only find videos that deal with your topic briefly, but jump right to relevant parts of the video.
- Create Clips
You can easily create a clip of any video, making it easy to excerpt videos for use in the classroom.
- Mobile Access
Watch Alexander Street Press Videos on your mobile device.
- Jump Straight from Transcript to Video
The transcripts are hyperlinked to corresponding sections of the video, so that you can click on any sentence in the transcript and start watching the video from that point seamlessly.
- Cite Permanent Links
Alexander Street Press provides the ability to link permanently to both full videos and user created clips, making it easy to point other users back to the video in a citation.
- Create Playlists
Create playlists of clips and videos and share them with other users. Many professors are already using this function to make it easy for students to locate assigned videos.
Alexander Street Press Video Collections
The Alexander Street Press Video Collection is a set of streaming videos with incredible technical capabilities. There are many video collections relevant to the social sciences, health, and education fields:
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Online brings together written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies covering human behavior. It is an essential resource for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography.
Asian Film Online: Volume I and II This link opens in a new window
Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
In partnership with California Newsreel, the oldest non-profit social issue documentary film center in the country, this collection includes cutting-edge racial justice and diversity films that inspire, educate and engage audiences. Additionally, Black Studies in Video features access to the SNCC Legacy Video Collection, a series of formal addresses, panel discussions and programs that took place at a conference and reunion unfolding over four days at Shaw University in Raleigh, North Carolina, commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the founding of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II builds on the foundation of the inaugural edition with 4,000 new transcripts of actual therapy sessions. Because all content was recorded in 2012 or later, Volume II is an ideal resource for examining the most up-to-date therapeutic approaches and methods and their real-life applications. The collection features a diverse set of clients, a wide range of presenting issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches, making this an outstanding resource for teaching and research.
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volumes I-V This link opens in a new window
Provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling--over 500 hours and more than 500 videos. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews. Many videos include supplementary materials for classroom use, and continuing education credits are available for a number of titles.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
Education In Video: Volume I and II This link opens in a new window
Education in Video provides a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,650 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
The collection includes documentaries that are already heavily used in humanities and social science classrooms. Topical coverage is contemporary and relevant across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. The titles in Filmakers Library Online present points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Health and Society in Video This link opens in a new window
Health and Society in Video defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society. This resource includes documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. It features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. A primary partner for this collection is Frameline, a nonprofit media organization that produces the San Francisco International LGBT Film Festival, the oldest film festival devoted to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender programming currently in existence.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
The result of Alexander Street's partnership with Medcom-Trainex, one of the largest providers of nursing education video programs worldwide, Nursing Education in Video gives faculty and students anywhere-anytime access to Medcom's highly regarded library of full-length training programs -- online in streaming video -- with all of the search power and advanced functionality that Alexander Street's video collections deliver. As a single, cross-searchable collection, Nursing Education in Video covers the fundamentals of nurse training and advanced topics.
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video is a collection of more than 750 hours of streaming video focused on the physical treatment of patients with congenital disorders, chronic health issues, and traumatic injuries. The videos feature occupational, physical, and speech therapists explaining the underlying anatomical and neurological issues in specific patient populations, while demonstrating effective techniques and methods for their treatment. With footage of therapists working with actual patients, as well as models and illustrations, this collection offers students and faculty a firsthand look at the realities of working with patients and putting theoretical concepts into practice.
Sixties, The This link opens in a new window
This searchable database brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The database covers subjects in arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc. The database currently has over 101,000 pages.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new window
This video collection is assembled for the study of human movement, conditioning, performance, rehabilitation, and physical education. Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world's leading producer of sports medicine videos, the collection features the most popular titles from the American College of Sports Medicine's catalog. The collection features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dietitians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
The Scholar's Edition includes all features of the Basic Edition that have been published since March 2004. It currently includes 102 document projects and archives with more than 4,050 documents, and 145,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by some 2,200 primary authors. It includes book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Those subscribing to the Scholar's Edition can access the online version of Notable American Women or the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.
Tutorial: Creating Clips and Playlists