LibGuides: Queer Theory: Finding Articles

Searching Databases

Using keywords will search for instances where that word or phrase is mentioned in the description and/or record of the items within the database. Starting off with keywords can help you generate subject terms that could help you broaden or expand what you're looking for.

Example keywords: queer, queer theory, lesbianism, gay, LGBT

You might chose to use subject headings and/or terms, which are terms used to describe what the document contains. Searching through subject headings will give you materials that are specifically about that topic. Keep in mind that these headings are pre-selected, so using both broad and specific terms will help you discover different subjects you might want to search. Below are some lists that compile some of the subject headings. Please note that these lists are not finite, and that subject headings don't always reflect more commonly used terminology that could be applicable to your search or particular collection you are searching.

Library of Congress Subject Headings for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Intersex (LGBTQI) Topics- from the Indiana University of Bloomington Gender Studies Research Guide.

LGBTQ Subject Headings- from the Yale University LGBTQI Subject Guide.

Databases to find Articles

LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus with over 6,400 terms.
Alternate Access Link
LGBT Studies This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community. It features select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers. It is also seeking to represent the major winners of both the Stonewall Book Awards and Lambda Literary Awards, many of which are no longer in print.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. It features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. A primary partner for this collection is Frameline, a nonprofit media organization that produces the San Francisco International LGBT Film Festival, the oldest film festival devoted to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender programming currently in existence.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Alternate Access Link
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.--About the database.
Alternate Access Link
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Includes material from Women studies abstracts (1984-present), Women's studies bibliography database, Women's studies database (1972-present), New books on women and feminism (1987-present), Women of color and southern women (1975-present), The history of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and disciplines (1970-1995), Women's health and development: an annotated bibliography (1995), Women, race, and ethnicity: a bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's audiovisuals in English: a guide to nonprint resources in women's studies (1985-1990) and the MEDLINE subset on women (1964-2000). Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature.
Alternate Access Link
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles for over 210 publications of the alternative and independent presses, from 1970 to current.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1952 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
The Alternative Press Index is a subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The Index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
Alternate Access Link
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Identifies full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from the alternative and independent press. Citations are drawn from about 250 alternative, radical, and left publications reporting and analyzing practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Includes indexing for regular columns, editorials, fiction, interviews, bibliographies, biographies, and reviews. Topics include African-American studies, ethnic and racial studies, feminism, gay/lesbian studies, community organizing, ecology, labor studies, social theory, socialism, alternative organizations, anarchism, prisons, indigenous people's rights, and internationalism.
Alternate Access Link
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Alternate Access Link
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.

Journals

These links will take you to the online catalog from which you can see the journal online by clicking on the Discover full text button.

Gender Issues

Peer reviewed interdisciplinary articles from across the nation that focuses on gender and gender equality. There are basic and applied research articles that examine gender relationships along with the impact of social, political, economic and legal forces on gender.

GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies

Scholarly and peer-reviewed journal with articles on scholarship, criticism and commentary on various subjects including but not limited to literary studies, political science and law. Their aim is to give a queer perspective on every issue.

The Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide

"A bimonthly journal of history, culture and politics," this journal prints essays from different academic fields as well as reviews on books, plays and movies.

Sexuality & Culture

An interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal that publishes theoretical articles, literature reviews, experiment results, book reviews, and critical reviews of literature and other media.

The Tulane Journal of Law & Sexuality: A Review of Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity in the Law

The first and only student-edited law review in the country that is devoted to covering legal issues of interest in the LGBT community. They address all types of legality issues in theoretical and practical articles written by academicians, practitioners and students. It is published annually and has a national and international dissemination.

Journal of Lesbian Studies

A peer-reviewed journal that focuses on the perspective of lesbians and presents book reviews, poetry, editorial letters, debates and commentaries, balancing scholarly and practical information.

LGBT Health

A peer-reviewed journal that focuses on promoting healthcare for the LGBT population through research, reviews, clinical reports, legal/policy perspectives and book reviews.

Magazines

These links will take you to the online catalog from which you can see the magazine online by clicking on the Discover full text button.

The Advocate

An American bi-monthly editorially focused magazine that covers news, politics, opinion and arts and entertainment. It is the oldest and largest LGBT publication in the US and the only surviving one of its kind founded before the 1969 Stonewall Riots.

Out

A LGBT lifestyle, fashion and entertainment magazine with the highest circulation of any LGBT monthly publication in the US.

Curve

Lesbian magazine that covers news, social issues, politics, celebrity interviews and stories on pop culture, entertainment style and travel.

RFD: A Country Journal for Gay Men Everywhere

A quarterly reader-written magazine that focuses on gay country living and alternative lifestyles.

Gay Parent

A periodical that features personal stories of LGBT parents from across the country. Topics such as adoption, foster care, how to get pregnant, and what it is like to raise children are covered.