About This Exhibit
July’s exhibit honors librettist Sir William S. Gilbert and composer Sir Arthur Sullivan, celebrated for their world-renowned comedic operas: “The Pirates of Penzance”, “The Mikado” and “H.M.S. Pinafore” to name just a few. Among the scores and media from these beloved operas, this exhibit also contains bibliographies, annotated works and even a Gilbert and Sullivan dictionary. To learn more about these composers (or “in matters vegetable, animal and mineral”) visit the Library Catalog accessible via the MPAL home page.
Interviews and Performances from the MPAL Archives (Alexander Street Press)
External Links
Pictures from the Gilbert and Sullivan Exhibit
Featured Items in the Exhibit
Gilbert and Sullivan's HMS Pinafore ; &, Trial by jury by Call Number: DVD M1500 H577 2005Publication Date: 2005- A bibliography of Sir William Schwenck Gilbert : with bibliographical adventures in the Gilbert & Sullivan operas byCall Number: Reference Non-circulating ; ML134.G44 S32Publication Date: 1968
- An entirely new and original aesthetic opera, in two acts, entitled Patience, or, Bunthorne's bride byCall Number: M1503 S949P3 1946Publication Date: 1946
- An evening with W.S. Gilbert : a musical biography byCall Number: DISC M1507 W64E96Publication Date: 1980
- Final curtain : the last Gilbert and Sullivan operas byCall Number: 782.1 SU5WPublication Date: 1976
- Gilbert & Sullivan's H.M.S. Pinafore, or The lass that loved a sailor byCall Number: DVD M1500 H577 2002Publication Date: 2002
- Gilbert & Sullivan's Iolanthe, or The peer and the peri byCall Number: DVD M1500 I553 2002Publication Date: 2002
- Gilbert & Sullivan : a critical appreciation of the Savoy operas byCall Number: 782.8 G54G 1969Publication Date: 1969
- Gilbert & Sullivan : the official D'Oyly Carte picture history byCall Number: ML410.S94 W55Publication Date: 1984
- Gilbert and Sullivan, masters or mirth and melody byCall Number: 780.923 SU5PUPublication Date: 1947
- Gilbert and Sullivan : interviews and recollections byCall Number: ML410.S94 G44Publication Date: 1994
- Gilbert and Sullivan : the players and the plays byCall Number: ML410.S94 G36 2021Publication Date: 2021
- H.M.S. Pinafore : or, The lass that loved a sailor : an entirely original nautical comic opera in two acts byCall Number: M1503 S949H5 1914Publication Date: 1914
- How quaint the ways of paradox! : an annotated Gilbert & Sullivan bibliography byCall Number: Reference Non-circulating ; ML134.S97 D54Publication Date: 1991
- Martyn Green's treasury of Gilbert & Sullivan byCall Number: M1507 S95G7 1961Publication Date: 1961
- A Most Ingenious Paradox : the Art of Gilbert and Sullivan byCall Number: ML410.S94 W74Publication Date: 2001
- Pirates of Penzance ; Overtures [to] the Sorcerer, Cox and Box, Princess Ida ; Overture in C (In Memorium) byCall Number: CDISC M1505 S84E4Publication Date: 1987
- Savoy operas : a new guide to Gilbert and Sullivan byCall Number: 782.810924 SU5SPublication Date: 1985
- Sorcerer : an original modern comic opera, in two acts. byCall Number: M1503 S949S62Publication Date: 1913?
- Story of the Savoy Opera in Gilbert and Sullivan days byCall Number: 782.81 F57S 1979Publication Date: 1979
- Trial by jury ; Excerpts from Utopia Limited byCall Number: DISC M1500 S95T74Publication Date: 1963
- Very best of Gilbert & Sullivan. Vol. 2. byCall Number: CDISC M1505 .S84V4v.2 1998Publication Date: 1998
