Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Freshman: National Norms.
If your topic involves changes over time in the composition of the University of Illinois's incoming classes, you may want to get hold of one or more annual editions of the American Freshman National Norms report. Put out by the UCLA-based Higher Education Research Institute since 1966, the National Norms report is the largest continuous set of data available on incoming freshmen classes for the U.S. as a whole. Full text of the report is not available online, but you should be able to find reports from most years on microfiche in the University Library's Government Information section in the Reading Room (Room 200) on the 2nd floor of the Main Library.
Annual Financial Report. University of Illinois. Urbana, Illinois: University of Illinois.
Published from 1997 to the present, this report summarizes basic information about the finances of the University. The information contained in this report was published before 1997 as part of the university's Report of the Comptroller (see below).
Produced by the University's Office of Planning and Budgeting, the Budget Book contains detailed discussion of the University's fiscal planning for multiple years into the future.
A rich, customizable online resource from the University's Division of Management Information . Use it to get very detailed information from 1993 to the present on particular departments, colleges, and programs, as well as non-academic supporting units. Available information includes percentage of minority students enrolled, ratio of students to faculty, and number of degrees granted.
College and University Rankings.
Put together by the University's Social Science, Health, and Education Library, this excellent site provides links to many and varied rankings of colleges, universities, and academic programs (including the University of Illinois and its constituent programs). It also includes discussion about how to interpret such rankings.
Digest of Education Statistics.
Put together by the National Center for Education Statistics, this report gives a quick summary of what's going on in education today in the United States at every level. While not specific in any way to the University of Illinois, these statistics can help you put numbers from University of Illinois publications in context.
Higher Education Almanac.
Compiled annually by the National Education Association, the almanac records statistics and tracks trends in higher education across the U.S. Full text versions of the almanac are available online from 1996 to the present.
The Salary Book is not officially called the Salary Book -- it's called the Supplement to the Minutes of the Board of Trustees. People call it the Salary Book, however, because it contains detailed information about the salaries of many people working at the University of Illinois. It is also referred to as the "Gray Book." The Salary Book does not include information about corporate grants and other non- governmental sources of money -- only the portion of a person's salary that comes from the state is shown. Multiple copies of the book are available, but the easiest way to get the newest edition is to ask for it at either the Information Desk or the Main Stacks Circulation Desk on the second floor of the Main Library Building. The call number for all editions of the book is C.IL6uB1sup.2. It's been published from 1966 to the present.
Student Enrollment Reports.
An information-packed online resource from the University's Division of Management Information. Contains detailed information about student enrollment from 1991 to the present, as well as some historical data back into the 1800s. Available information includes percentage of minority students enrolled, ratio of students to faculty, and number of degrees granted.