This book, written by Turner's daughter, discusses Turner's contributions to the land-grant movement and in the founding of the University of Illinois. No index. Also available electronically through HathiTrust Digital Library http://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/1987885.html

Includes key federal and state legislation (i.e., the Land Grant Act of 1862), addresses and speeches, and reports that articulated the initial vision of the university and documented its formation. No index.

Provides a pictorial history of the university beginning with the first regent, John Milton Gregory (1868-1880), through the first three years of George Dinsmore Stoddard's tenure as president (1946-1956). This book nicely summarizes key events for each of the ten regents/presidents and their contributions to the university. No index.

The Illio is the yearbook of the University of Illinois including students, sports, and other activities.

This book provides a history of education at the University of Illinois from 1868 to 1945. The book examines the history of teacher education in Illinois, the founding of the University of Illinois, and the establishment of the College of Education in the 1920s. Indexed.

A detailed history of the University of Illinois College of Agriculture from its founding until the 1920s. Brief summaries of major developments and initiatives of the college from the 1920s through the 1960s are covered in the last chapter. Indexed.

Nevins claims that this is the first history of the University of Illinois. Covers the founding of the university through the 1917 and includes chapters on housing, students and student life, and relations between the university and the state. The appendix includes growth of the university by years, buildings (1868-1916), and other data about the university. Indexed. Online version also available. See the above link for more details.

The university was twenty-six years old when Altgeld became governor of the state of Illinois. He was pivotal figure in the development of the University of Illinois, both actively participating in Board of Trustee discussions and securing state support and funding for the university. He also influenced the architecture and the landscape of the campus. No index.

The title of volume 1 is The Movement for Industrial Education and the Establishment of the University: 1840-1870. This 631- paged book provides considerable detail about the land-grant movement and the formation of the university (known then as the Illinois Industrial University) and includes key documents in the appendix. The introduction to volume 1 was written by Edmund J. James, the fourth president of the university. Indexed. Online version also available. See the above link for more details.

The university was experiencing unprecedented growth and expansion in the post-World War era, and as this author argues, commercial and housing development lacked a cohesive plan to provide optimum benefit to the university and to the community. The author suggests alternatives in planning the campus environment and includes maps. No index.

This work continues where the author left off in his prior work (The University of Illinois 1867-1894: An Intellectual and Cultural History). In this work, Solberg examines the presidency of Draper; the curriculum and faculty during Draper's time; and, student life and the rise of fraternities and intercollegiate football on campus. Indexed.

Examines the founding of the University of Illinois and analyzes its critical formative years while also taking a broader look the intellectual and cultural forces during this time period. Indexed.

Covers the first ten years of the Illini Union and includes pictures of the building and student and faculty life at the university. No index.

This is a history of the development of the Champaign-Urbana campus from 1867 through the 1920s. It also includes the history of the colleges of Medicine, Dentistry, and Pharmacy on the Chicago campus. Indexed.

A pictorial history of the university and includes chapters on campus architecture, academics, student life, arts and entertainment, athletics and famous alumni. Color and black and white pictures. No index.

This report summarizes James's presidency from 1904 to 1920. It details the finances, land, buildings, equipment, libraries, museums, faculty, and students and student organizations at the university. Indexed. Also available electronically from the this record.

A biography of Peabody, the University of Illinois President from 1880 to 1891. No index.

Also available in print http://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-uiu/Record/uiu_472179

This biography of Draper covers his tenure as the President of the University of Illinois (1894-1904) and as the Commissioner of Education of the State of New York. Indexed.

Kinley was the president of the University of Illinois from 1920 to 1930 and during his tenure, the campus had undergone a major expansion and construction phase. Indexed.

James's administration at the University of Illinois from 1904 and 1919 serves as a case study on how a president responds to three critical demands: attracting quality faculty, maintaining institutional tranquility, and protecting the institution's public image. No index.

Although it is mainly an autobiography of her life, as a niece of Willard, she served as his social secretary while he was the university president from 1934 to 1946. Her reminiscences provide a glimpse of his tenure as president and of the university and town life from 1930s through the 1950s. No index.

The author examines the use of interpretation planning in preserving campus sites and uses the University of Illinois as a case study to suggest ways to educate the campus and the public on the importance of historic campus buildings and sites and to strengthen preservation efforts. No index.

This guide serves as an introduction to art at the University of Illinois's Urbana-Champaign and Chicago campuses and at Robert Allerton Park. Includes not only museum holdings, but also paintings and sculptures in "classrooms, rotundas, hallways, libraries, student centers, lobbies, and theaters, and outdoors along walkways, near buildings, on facades, over entrances, in the landscape." Maps of the two campuses and Allerton Park are included. Indexed.

This thesis provides a history of the first library building, Altgeld Hall, from its initial design by Nathan C. Ricker and James McLaren White to the various murals and art works in the building. Black and white pictures. No index.

The thesis examines art patronage and collection at the University of Illinois, beginning with the first art gallery in 1875. It also serves as selective catalogue of art works on and around the Urbana campus and at Robert Allerton Park. Black and white pictures.

This book provides brief historical information on and pictures of key buildings at the Champaign-Urbana and Chicago campuses. View online version through this record.

See the record for a link to an online version.

University office that serves as an advisor to the Black Greek Council, Interfraternity Council, and the Panhellenic Council.

The IFC is the governing body for University of Illinois fraternities. This site contains links to IFC bylaws, judicial procedures, and meeting minutes.

The Panhellenic Council functions as the governing body for University of Illinois sororities. This site contains a calendar of events, recruitment information, and contact information for officers.

See the record for an online version.

Order No. 9712212

See the record for an online version.

The Business and Financial Policies and Procedures manual contains detailed information about business and financial policies that apply to the University and its three campuses (Chicago, Springfield, and Urbana-Champaign). Examples include discussion of how the University handles gifts, how the University provides insurance, and how the University pays for the travel of its employees.

Also available in print http://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-uiu/Record/uiu_1073584