civlresearch2sm
Research Methods Resources
- SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.
- SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies of real social research that faculty can use in their teaching. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects. Available as an add-on to SAGE Research Methods or as a stand-alone product, SRMC includes original case studies of real research projects and research scenarios written by the researchers themselves. No research project exists on paper or in a vacuum, and these case studies complement students' theoretical understanding (or lack of) by exploring the difficulties, nuances and real-life decisions that researchers are forced to make.
- SAGE Research Methods: Video This link opens in a new windowVideo tutorials, interviews, case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Contributors include expert researchers at various institutions, SAGE authors, teachers, and more.
Mixed Methods
- Glossary of Key TermsFrom Colorado State University: Members of the Research Methods Seminar (E600) taught by Mike Palmquist in the 1990s and 2000s. (1994-2022). Glossary of Key Terms. Writing@CSU. Colorado State University. https://writing.colostate.edu/guides/guide.cfm?guideid=90
- Mixed Methods in Health Sciences ResearchSage Research Methods
- Mixed Methods Research : A guide to the FieldFrom Sate Research Methods Conceptual Framework for the Field of Mixed Methods Research Welcome to the field of mixed methods research! We begin this book by considering the
- NIH Mixed Methods ResearchPprovides guidance to NIH investigators on how to rigorously develop and evaluate mixed methods research applications. Pursuant to this, the team developed a report of “best practices” following three major objectives.
- SAGE Mixed Methods ResearchAn Overview of Mixed Methods Research
Text Mining
- Finding Text Data SetsThis guide details how to acquire textual data for computational text analysis. Each tab includes information about text data collections for different genres of resources, to the extent possible for the collection: the provider of the collection, the scope of the collection, the data formats available, and how to access the text data.
- Introduction to OCR and Searchable PDFsLearn OCR best practices and how to begin an OCR project using ABBYY FineReader, Adobe Acrobat Pro, or Tesseract with this guide.
- Text Mining Tools and MethodsThis guide contains resources for researching with text mining
Resources for Qualitative Research
- Qualitative Data Analysis Software: IntroductionComputer Assisted Qualitative Data AnalysiS software (CAQDAS) has been around for quite a while, and has assisted researchers in analyzing primarily text-based documents and storing that analysis in a findable and interactive manner.
- Qualitative Data AnalysisResources on conducting qualitative data analysis
- Text Mining Tools and MethodsThis guide contains resources for researching with text mining
Resources for Quantitative Research
- Introduction to Quantiative MethodsPDF From Harvard Law School - 2009 Parina Patel
- SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.
- Little Green BooksLittle Green Books, SAGE’s popular Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, provide short and accessible texts on all kinds of quantitative methods. Providing clear statistical explanations, straightforward empirical examples, and ready-to-use procedures, these supplementary texts are appropriate for the individual researcher, and for any graduate-level, intermediate, or advanced statistics course across the spectrum of academic disciplines.
Quantitative Methods for Health Research by Call Number: eBook - WileyISBN: 9781118665404Publication Date: 2018 2nd Ed.
