LibGuides: MedEd Research: Where to publish

How to find publications

Use Database Search - Search for your topic in an article database to see where related articles have been published.

Scopus

Go to Scopus and enter keywords describing your article or manuscript’s topic. Then click Search.
TClick Analyze Results at the top of the results page.
Click Source title to view a graph of the journal titles.
You will now see a graph depicting the total number of articles published per year for your search query by journal title. Click on each journal title to view additional information including journal metrics

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Ulrich's Web is a global serial directory that publishes information about journals such as: publisher information, online availability, subject classifications, how often the serial is published, whether or not the journal is peer-reviewed, and much more. You can also browse article titles by issue for specific journals. This can be a quick way to get a sense of a more detailed sense of the journal's discipline and research focus.

Ask Scholars in Your Field

Identifying professors and scholars in your discipline can be a valuable way to learn about journals. Use their expertise to get a better overall view of the publishing community in your research focus. If you can't find a scholar that specializes in your discipline, try contacting a subject-specific librarian here at the Library by finding your subject library.

"Where to Publish" Tools

Be iNFORMEd Checklist
Duke University published this checklist to help you assess the quality of a journal or publisher.
COPE
COPE provides leadership in thinking on publication ethics, practical resources to educate and support members, and offers a professional voice in current debates.
Elsevier Journal Finder
The Elsevier Journal Finder helps you find journals that are best suited for publishing your scientific article.
Harzing Publish or Perish Journal Quality List
The Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 80 countries. It is one of the best known sources of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and the social sciences.

JANE - Journal/Author Name Estimator
Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!
JournalGuide
Find the best journal for your research. JournalGuide is a free tool created by a group of software developers, former researchers, and scholarly publishing veterans at Research Square. Our goal for JournalGuide is to bring all sources of data together in one place to give authors a simple way to choose the best journal for their research. Our data sources include major industry data sets, public resources, information submitted directly by journal editors, and even real-life publishing experiences submitted by authors like you.
Journal Selector (Cofactor)
Use the options to find journals that match your requirements. The journals are listed at the bottom of the page. Change the options for any of the questions and click Search. Click on a journal name for more information about it.
Scimago
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately.
SPI-Hub
Identify journals in which to publish your research;
Run individual searches and select the most representative keywords matching your topic of research.
Use free text if no autocomplete match is found.
Springer Journal Suggester
The Springer Journal Suggester helps you find journals suitable for publishing your research in such fields as: philosophy, law, engineering, food science and nutrition, and more.

UlrichsWeb: International Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and access information serials published throughout the world, covering all subjects. Entries provide pricing, subscription and distribution details as well as publisher, editor contacts. Direct links to URLs and e-mail addresses given when available, along with reviews excerpted from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal.

Wiley Journal Finder
Our Journal Finder Beta can suggest Wiley journals that may be relevant for your research. Simply enter your title and abstract and we’ll create a list of potential journals for you to consider. We also recommend reviewing the journal’s Aims and Scope before deciding where to submit.

Second-tier Journals

American Journal of Medical Quality
The American Journal of Medical Quality is the official Journal of the American College of Medical Quality. The journal publishes original work in the entire field of quality measurement and improvement.
BMJ Quality
BMJ Quality is an online workspace that supports individuals and teams to work through quality improvement ideas, make an intervention, and publish their results while developing their knowledge and skills
Health Care: The Journal of Delivery Science and Innovation
Health Care: The Journal of Delivery Science and Innovation is a quarterly journal invested in promoting cutting edge research on innovation in health care delivery, including improvements in systems, processes, management, and applied information technology.
Implementation Science
Implementation Science is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal that aims to publish research relevant to the scientific study of methods to promote the uptake of research findings into routine healthcare in clinical, organizational or policy contexts.
The International Journal for Quality in Health Care
The International Journal for Quality in Health Care (IJQHC) is a leading international peer-reviewed scholarly journal addressing research, policy, and implementation related to the quality of health care and health outcomes for populations and patients worldwide.
journal for healthcare quality
The Journal for Healthcare Quality (JHQ) welcomes submissions by writers from all sectors in the field of health care quality. The journal publishes articles on a broad range of topics including administration and management, performance measurement and improvement, and global and international issues.
The Journal of Clinical Outcomes Management
The Journal of Clinical Outcomes Management® (JCOM®) is an independent, peer-reviewed journal offering evidence-based, practical information for improving health care quality.
The Journal of Healthcare Risk Management
The Journal of Healthcare Risk Management is published quarterly by the American Society for Healthcare Risk Management (ASHRM). The purpose of the journal is to publish research, trends, and new developments in the field of healthcare risk management with the ultimate goal of advancing safe and trusted patient-centered healthcare delivery and promoting proactive and innovative management of organization-wide risk.
PLOS One
More advanced, specific science resources that are open and could be used in a classroom setting.
Patient Safety and Quality Healthcare
This online and print magazine reaches a readership of about 20,000 people, and has published Open School student work on several occasions. Please note PSQH is not a peer-reviewed journal.
Quality Management in Health Care
Quality Management in Health Care (QMHC) is a peer-reviewed journal that provides a forum for readers to explore the theoretical, technical, and strategic elements of health care quality management. The journal's primary focus is on organizational structure and processes as these affect the quality of care and patient outcomes.

PubMed Central

Do I have to submit my manuscript to PubMed Central (PMC)?
As noted on the NIH public access website, your peer-reviewed papers should be submitted to PubMed Central (PMC) immediately upon acceptance for publication by a journal. PMC will make these papers publicly available within 12 months of publication. The Policy applies to all peer-reviewed papers that you author or co-author as part of your NIH or NIH-funded duties, even if the corresponding author or other authors are not supported by NIH.
How Papers Get Into PMC
Provides an overview of the PMC deposit process
NIH Institutes of Health Public Access
Information about Journals and the NIH Public Access Policy
PubMed Central Submission Assistance
Submit your peer-reviewed final manuscripts, accepted for publication, to PubMed Central (PMC) with the help of NIH Library staff. The NIH Manuscript Submission System (NIHMS) is easy to use and the process of submitting is quick. This free service (for NIH staff only) is the Library's way of supporting NIH Public Access.
PMC Journals
Alphabetic list of journals with formal agreements for deposit in PMC
PMC Information for Publishers
This page provides information about PubMed Central® (PMC) for both new and currently participating publishers, along with links to many of our resources.

Student-run Journals

The American Medical Student Research Journal
Medical students, working under the guidance of faculty mentors, author, review, and edit the journal. Articles must have a medical student as the primary author and meet the journal’s standards of excellence in research.
The British Student Doctor Journal
Open access, biannual, peer-reviewed general medicine journal; publishes articles written primary by medical students.
more...less...
Fully open access; no authorship charges.
The Einstein Journal of Biology and Medicine
For Authors - The Einstein Journal of Biology and Medicine (EJBM) serves as an intellectual forum for the medical scientific community, and encourages the publication of a wide range of scholarly material by students, residents, fellows, postdocs, faculty, and alumni.
Harvard Medical Student Review
Submit - The scope of HMSR is intentionally broad. Medicine and health care involve diverse areas of scholarship and thought, and HMSR will be accommodating to most topics that fall within these spheres. This includes, but is not limited to, trends in biomedical research and technology, innovations in medical care delivery, debates in medical ethics, opinions on best health policies, and views of medicine and medical education from the lens of a student—a lens that is itself diverse.
Harvard Public Health Review
Submit - HPHR invites submissions from students and faculty across academic disciplines, as well as from members of the general public that speak to the publication’s mission and vision and elucidate pertinent and timely public health issues within an evidence-based and health equity framework.
International Journal of Medical Students
Submissions - The International Journal of Medical Students (IJMS) is a peer-reviewed open-access scientific journal, created to give a voice to the thousands of medical students worldwide, who actively participate in research and who contribute with their actions to the development of better science and medical progress. The criteria that a manuscript needs to meet to be published in the IJMS include: originality, transparency, readability, factual accuracy, clear authorship roles and involvement, and conflict of interest disclosure.
Pulse Voices
Pulse isn’t a student-run journal, but it publishes work from all people involved in giving and receiving health care. It seeks high-quality original nonfiction, first-person stories, poetry, artwork, and photographs by patients and providers who want to share their experiences of health care.
Student BMJ
Launched in 1992, the journal publishes articles that have been specially commissioned with medical students in mind. It also features carefully selected articles from the BMJ.
Student Doctor Network
The Student Doctor Network is an online publication that publishes topical, interesting, and relevant articles with information that readers can’t get anywhere else. The site includes comprehensive coverage of health issues from authors representing a variety of medical professions, including dental, psychiatry, and rehab sciences.

LibGuides

MedEd Research

Things to consider

Journal Impact

Predatory Publishers

How to find publications

"Where to Publish" Tools

Second-tier Journals

PubMed Central

Student-run Journals