LibGuides: Research &amp; Publication in Medicine &amp; Health: Databases

Databases for Health and Medicine

PubMed (Medline)
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Ovid Medline
MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers novice and expert searchers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.
Biobank
UK Biobank is a large-scale biomedical database and research resource that is enabling new scientific discoveries to be made that improve public health. The resource provides accredited researchers access to medical and genetic data from half a million volunteer participants to improve our understanding of the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of a wide range of serious and life-threatening illnesses.

CABI Global Health This link opens in a new window
Global in scope, coverage includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health and nutrition. CAB Abstracts offers extensive coverage of journal and nonjournal literature from around the world including annual reports, general reports, books, conference proceedings, field notes and more. Over 7 million records with coverage dating back to 1973. Includes over 170,000 full-text journal articles and indexing for over 10,000 academic journals, books, conference proceedings and reports. Also available on the CABI Digital Library platform.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library - Cochrane database of systematic reviews is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: CINAHL in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). CINAHL provides indexing for close to 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for most of the indexed journals are also included. Full text material includes many journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Alternate Access Link
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides more than 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 650 journals.
Alternate Access Link
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycInfo {reg} provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.

Databases for Engineering

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Delivers comprehensive authoritative information that accelerates research and innovation, and features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more. AccessEngineering offers the widest and deepest repository of fully searchable engineering content available online - from the authors and industry-leading titles engineers have trusted and depended on for years.

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) digital library
The ASCE Library provides online access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and e-books and standards.
ASME Digital Library
Full text of journals, conference proceedings and ebooks published by ASME.
Engineering Village
Most comprehensive engineering literature and patent information available. Most relevant resources will be in Compendex for traditional engineering fields (mechanical, civil, industrial, etc. or INSPEC for physics, electrical and computer engineering), US Patents and European (EP) Patents databases.
IEEE
SPIE: The International Society for Optics and photonics
Advances emerging technologies through interdisciplinary information exchange, continuing education, publications, patent precedent, and career and professional growth.

Interdisciplinary Databases

EBSCO
A collection of databases that identify articles on general topics, business, health, education, and more.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database for peer-reviewed literature. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Web of Science
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Google for Academic Research

Google is a large search engine which can search very generally or very specifically. While you probably already use Google in your daily life, the Google for Academic Research guide will explore ways to use Google to meet your research needs.

Specialized Databases

Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographical references with abstracts in English from life sciences research journals published worldwide.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts is a bibliographic database covering research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources from 1910 to date. Also available on the CABI Digital Library platform.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Health and Psychosocial Instruments in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches).Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.

Alternate Access Link
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature including drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.

A-Z Databases for Health & Medicine

Use the A-Z Databases: Health & Medicine to find the best library databases for your research.

Tools for Evidence

Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis. Evidence-based disease and condition information includes summaries, guidelines, patient information, ICD codes and more.
Alternate Access Link

EBM calc
EBMcalc encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types.
Evidence Alerts (STAT!Ref)
The STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts system provides e-mail delivery and access to evidence-based medicine (EBM) information from current research of over 130 premier clinical journals.
5 Minute Clinical Consult
Fast, evidence-based answers to your clinical questions at the point of care.
Guideline Central
Guideline Central is dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible.

Essential Evidence Plus (Stat!Ref)
Select Essential Evidence Plus from Stat!Ref main menu. Provides best-evidence for clinical questions concerning symptoms, diseases, drugs, and other treatment regimens; includes "strength-of-evidence" ratings and "Bottom Line" summaries.

JAMA Evidence This link opens in a new window
JAMAevidence is an instructional resource from the American Medical Association that is intended to teach about concepts fundamental to the practice of evidence-based medicine. It is meant to help decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
UpToDate Online This link opens in a new window
A practical clinical reference, contains the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text which provides specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment.

LibGuides

Research & Publication in Medicine & Health

Clinical Trials

Protocols

Mobile Tools

Freely Availalbe Resources for Evidence-based Pracitice

Freely Availalbe Search Tools