Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Akahata (Print) (赤旗)
Akahata―from 1967 to 1981
This newspaper is an organ of the Japanese Communist Party. It has been published since 1928 with some disruptions.
Asahi Shinbun Shukusatsuban (Print) (朝日新聞縮刷版)
Fukkokuban Jikyoku Shinbun (Print) (復刻版時局新聞)
Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection (Online) (邦字新聞デジタルコレクション)
Keijō Nippō (Print) (京城日報)
Keijō Nippō―from 1926 to 1945
This newspaper was published in 1906 as an organ of the Japanese colonial authorities in Korea, The newspaper took a pro-Japanese stance. This newspaper continued its publication until Japan's defeat in World War II in 1945.
Kobe University Library Digital Archives (Online) (神戸大学付属図書館 デジタルアーカイブ 新聞記事文庫)
Nihon Dokusho Shimbun (Print) (日本読書新聞)
Nihon Dokusho Shimbun―from 1957 to 1965
This newspaper is a representative review newspaper and its contents mainly consist of book reviews. This newspaper was published from 1937 to 1984. Shūkan Dokushojin (週間読書人) is another major review newspaper in Japan.
Nihon Keizai Shinbun (Print) (日本経済新聞)
Nihon Keizai Shinbun Shukusatsuban (Print) (日本経済新聞縮刷版)
Nihon Shimbun Nenkan (Print) (日本新聞年鑑)
Otaru Shinbun (Microfilm) (小樽新聞)
Otaru Shinbun―from 1938 to 1941
Otaru Shimbun was one of major Japanese newspapers published in Hokkaido, the northernmost island of Japan. It competed with the two other popular Japanese newspapers in the island, Hakodate Mainichi Shimbun (函館毎日新聞) and Hokkai Taimusu (北海タイムス) before World war II,
Posuton Shūyōsho no Chika Shinbun (Print) (ポストン収容所の地下新聞)
Shinbun Shiryō Genbaku (Print) (新聞資料原爆)
Shōwa Kodomo Shinbun (Print) (昭和こども新聞)
Shōwa Kodomo Shinbun―from 1946-1962
This is a collection of major news in postwar Japan. It offers with pictures and illustrations a useful window through which to see contemporary social and cultural situations in Japan after World War II.
Teikoku Daigaku Shimbun (Microfilm) (帝国大学新聞)
Teikoku Daigaku Shimbun―from 1929 to 1946
This is a university newspaper that was published at Tokyo Imperial University from 1920. This newspaper was renamed as Tokyō Daigaku Shimbun in 1947, which has been published since then.
Yomidasu Rekishikan (Online) （ヨミダス歴史館）
Yomidasu Rekishikan―from 1926 to 1989
Yomidasu Rekishikan (ヨミダス歴史館) is an article database for The Yomiuri Shinbun. The historical collection for 1874-1989 (in images from the shukusatsu-ban edition) and the current collection for 1986-present (full text with images of the print edition) are available.
Further information and instructions can be found at: http://uiuc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=175315
Please note: the access is available from computers with Illinois IP address. VPN or the library's proxy authentication needed for off-campus access.
Zenkoku Kashihon Shinbun (Print) (全国貸本新聞)
Zenkoku Kashihon Shinbun―from 1957 to 1973
This is a reprint collection of newspaper articles published by the book-lending industry. This book provides a useful insight into social and cultural lives of postwar Japan through the lens of rental books.
Zenrō Shinbun Shukusatsuban (Print) (全労新聞縮刷版)