Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bakumatsu Meiji Shimbun Zenshu (Print) (幕末明治新聞全集)
Chōya Shinbun (Microfilm) (朝野新聞)
Chōya Shinbun―from 1874 to 1901
Chōya Shinbun was a major Japanese newspaper published in early- through mid-Meiji period. The newspaper supported the contemporary Freedom and People's Rights Movement.
Chūgai Shinbun (Online) (中外新聞)
Chūgai Shinbun―from 1868 to 1868
Chūgai Shinbun was published in February 1868 and reported both domestic and foreign affairs. The newspaper was sold nationwide just one month after its publication.
Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection (Online) (邦字新聞デジタルコレクション)
Jiyu no Tomoshibi (Microfilm & Online) (自由の燈)
Josefu Hiko Kaigai Shinbun (Print) (ジョセフ彦海外新聞)
Kanayomi Shinbun (Print) (仮名読新聞)
Kindai Sesō Zenshi: Keiō yori Taishō made no Shinbun Jūyō Kiji no Shūsei (Online) (近代世相全史: 慶応より大正までの新聞重要記事の集成)
Kōko Shinbun (Online) (江湖新聞)
Kōko Shinbun―from 1868 to 1868
This is a wood-block printed newspaper published in Edo in 1868. The newspaper took a pro-shogunate position and was forced to stop its publication soon after the Meiji government occupied Edo.
Mesamashi Shimbun (Microfilm) (めさまし新聞)
Naigai Shinbun (Online) (内外新聞)
Ono Hideo Collection (Online) (小野秀雄コレクション)
Ono Hideo Collection―from Edo to early Meiji periods
The historical collection of early Japanese newspapers called "Nishiki-e" and "Kawara-ban." The number of newspaper articles available online is not big, but this collection would be useful to know what early Japanese newspapers were like.
Shinbun Shūsei Meiji Hennenshi (Online Search & Print) (新聞集成明治編年史)
Shinonome Shinbun (Print) (東雲新聞)
Shinpi Shinbun (Online) (信飛新聞)
Shinpi Shinbun―from 1872 to 1876
This is a reprint collection of a regional Japanese newspaper published in Nagano prefecture, central Japan, during the Meiji period.
Tōkyō Nichinichi Shinbun (Print) (東京日日新聞)
Tomoshibi shinbun (Microfilm) (燈新聞)
Tomoshibi Shinbun―from 1886 to 1887
This is an early Japanese newspaper and a root of current Asahi Shimbun.
This is also the predecessor of Mesamashi Shinbun. See http://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-uiu/Record/uiu_7512281
Tōyō Jiyū Shinbun (Print) (東洋自由新聞)
Yokohama Shinpō Moshihogusa (Online) (横浜新報もしほ草)
Yomidasu Rekishikan (Online) （ヨミダス歴史館）
Yomidasu Rekishikan―from 1874 to 1912
Yomidasu Rekishikan (ヨミダス歴史館) is an article database for The Yomiuri Shinbun. The historical collection for 1874-1989 (in images from the shukusatsu-ban edition) and the current collection for 1986-present (full text with images of the print edition) are available.
Further information and instructions can be found at: http://uiuc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=175315
Please note: the access is available from computers with Illinois IP address. VPN or the library's proxy authentication needed for off-campus access.
Yūbin Hōchi Shinbun (Print) (郵便報知新聞)
Yūbin Hōchi Shinbun―from 1872 to 1894
This is an 82-volume reprinted collection of an early Japanese newspaper.This newspaper played an important role in the Meiji period as an organ of the Freedom and People's Rights Movement.