There are quite a few article databases that may be helpful. Choosing the right one depends mostly on your topic/ focus. Databases below are divided into broad areas. Try to think about which one (or two) your topic fits with.

Mental illness: depression, substance abuse, suicide, anxiety

• Helpful databases:
  • PsycINFO
  • SocINDEX
• Potential keywords: mental health, mental illness, substance abuse, drug abuse, psychoses, rehabilitation, correctional psychology

Sociological codes in prisons: power structures, racial groups, relationship building

• Helpful databases:
  • Gender Watch
  • Women's Studies International
  • PsycINFO
  • SocINDEX
  • Sociological Abstracts
• Potential keywords: sociology of prison/ punishment, race relations, segregation, power, relationships, bonding

Rehabilitation of prisoners back into society: educational programs, counseling efforts, career counseling, outside support systems

• Helpful databases:
  • ERIC (EBSCO) 
  • PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • SocINDEX
• Potential keywords: recidivism, rehabilitation, education, literacy, crime prevention, probation, adjustment, employment, reentry, effectiveness

Motherhood and imprisonment: effects on children and their well-being, effects on mothers, relocation complications

• Helpful databases:
  • Gender Watch
  • Women's Studies International
  • PsycINFO
• Potential keywords: motherhood, psychological, maternal identity, parenting, rehabilitation, caregiver, custody

Sexual assault: rape as a form of control/ power, pregnancy within prison, guard- prisoner sexual assault and conviction

• Helpful databases:
  • Gender Watch
  • Women's Studies International
  • PsycINFO
  • PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service
  • Academic Search Complete
  • SocINDEX
• Potential keywords: rape, sexual assault, violence, abuse, sex, safety, victim, conviction, nonconsensual, intervention