Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Translations and Translation Studies in the Russian, Eastern European & Eurasian Context: Central Asia & Caucasus

A Brief Overview of the Field, and A Guide to Resources for Identifying Translated Works

Turkish delight: bibliography of translations

Ötüken, Adnan.  Klâsikler bibliyografyası, 1940-1966. UIUC Call Number: 016.8 OT9K. Location: International & Area Studies Ref.
    
Subject (LCSH):     Literature --Translations into Turkish --Bibliography

Over the last six years, the Slavic Reference Service has compiled and published several guides for Turkish and Ottoman Studies [See: http://www.library.illinois.edu/ias/iri/turkish/index.html]. Due to the size of the UIUC collection, there are literally hundreds of bibliographies and reference sources listed as circulating items, which means, researchers can discover hidden gems and expand the scope of their research project. Thanks in part to the Translation Studies Workshop, this guide to Turkish translations was “discovered” and retrieved from the remote storage facility aka Oak Street Storage Facility

 

Published in 1967 by the National Library of Turkey, this bibliography is divided into forty seven language and topical based sections and includes three indexes: author index, an index of translators, and titles.  Moreover, this bibliography of translations contains approximately 1101 entries for translations from well over 20 languages into Modern Turkish.

 

Library of Congress Subject Headings: Azerbaijani literature in translation

Muradova, M. G.  Azărbai̐jan ădăbii̐i̐aty shărg mănbălărindă : Irak, Iran, Ăfganystan, Tu̇rkii̐ă, Bolgarystan : bibliografii̐a [Azerbaidzhanskaia literatura v istochnikakh Vostoka]. LC call number: Z3465.5 .M87 1980 Azeri.

There is no better friend for a researcher than a Library of Congress Subject Heading.  In terms of searching online catalogs and accessing materials for a research project, the linked subject headings allow scholars to browse titles and bibliographic sources on a specific topic and time period.  More importantly, the main headings and subheadings act as content routers, meaning, in one search, researchers can view a full inventory on topic and at same time will be able to explore additional references.  A rich example of subject headings can be seen below. 

 

Cover to cover in Tojikī

Raḣmatulloeva, S. Ḣ.  Adabiëti mamlakatḣoi khorijī ba zaboni tojikī (1930-1970) : nishondiḣandai adabiët. UIUC Call Number: 016.8 R129A.  Location: Oak Street Facility.

As one of the last republics to be incorporated into the Soviet Union, Tojikiston's modern publishing culture did not emerge until the 1920s. With the founding of a book chamber, Tojikiston was able to produce national bibliographic publications in Russian and Tojiki. This bibliography of translations was published by the National Library of Tojikiston in 1976. The entire bibliography is in Tojiki (not even the table of contents in the back are in Russian, which is quite unusual) and contains ~2133 entries translations into Tojiki. The compiler has divided the entries by country, which adds up to 79 countries. There is even an entry for “Tibet” and translations of Tibetan folklore. In addition to the country headings and subdivisions, the entries are also organized numerically. Researchers can explore this bibliography via table contents or via index of translators and index of authors.

Kyrgyz to Russian

Kirgizskaia literatura.  Accession No: OCLC: 223373277. Location: Library of Congress.
Moskva, 1958. 

Kyrgyz literature--Translations into Russian--Bibliography

With a grain of salt: recommended bibliographies

 

During the course of their academic careers, translation studies scholars interested in Russian/Soviet or Central Asian Studies will encounter “recommended bibliographies.” These bibliographies are compiled and published by institutes, national, and regional libraries. However, there is always the issue of approved or authorized information in these bibliographic sources. This bibliography of Kyrgyz literature and translations of Kyrgyz literature was published by the State Library of SSSR (now Russian State Library) and the State of Library of the Kyrgyz SSR in 1982. There are forty six author entries, each entry contains a bibliographical overview and works about that author. In addition to having entries for Kyrgyz literary figures, the compiler has included a list of anthologies, sources for literary criticism, published bibliographies and reference sources, index of writers and a thematic index.

From Kazakh to...

Mukanova, N. A., Kauasheva, F S.  Proizvedeniia pisatelei Kazakhstana na iazykakh narodov mira: retrospektivnyi bibliograficheskii ukazatel', 1934-1985 ggAlma-Ata : Gos. biblioteka Kazakhskoi SSR im A.S. Pushkina (Otdel lit-ry na inostrannykh iazykakh), 1989.  OCLC Accession Number: 28294617.  Holding Institutions:  the Library of Congress, Indiana University, Harvard University, University of Washington, and others have this bibliography of Kazakh translations

Azhieva, S., Dusmailova, B.  Proizvedeniia pisatelei Kazakhstana na iazykakh narodov SSSR (1917-1980 gg.): retrospektivnyi ukazatel’.  OCLC Accession Number:  17333441.  Holding institution: University of California, Berkeley. 

Although UIUC library is yet to acquire these bibliographies of Kazakh translations, fortunately for Translations Studies scholars, the National Library of Kazakhstan has set up a digital space for contemporary Kazakh and classical literature.  Researchers can browse and view titles [in Kazakh and Russian] from the electronic library of contemporary Kazakh literature.  Access: http://doc.nlrk.kz/index_kaz.html.

Armenian Translations

 Milʹkina, Roza.  Bibliografiia armianskoi literatury v perevodakh na russkii iazyk. Location: Library of Congress.

As one of the most prolific publishing cultures on this planet, Armenia and the Armenian diaspora have published and translated materials to and from the vernacular language.  Some of the most important works published between the years 1512-1800 (translations and publications in Armenian) have been digitized.  These titles are available via the digital portal [See: http://nla.am/eng/?q=node/12 ] at the National Library of Armenia.  Researchers can employ a dual approach to tracking Armenia titles and translations: subject headings (see below) to locate published materials and the digital depository for viewing these selected titles.