Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Translations and Translation Studies in the Russian, Eastern European & Eurasian Context: General Sources

A Brief Overview of the Field, and A Guide to Resources for Identifying Translated Works

A good place to start


Author: Nisula, Dasha C̆ulić.
Title: Bibliography of Slavic literature / Dasha Culic Nisula.
Series: Scarecrow area bibliographies ; 20
Scarecrow area bibliographies ; 20.
Published: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2001.
Physical Description: xiii, 277 p. ; 22 cm.
Includes: Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents: Editor’s Foreword / Jon Woronoff -- General Works on Slavic Literature -- East Slavic and West Slavic Regions -- South Slavic Region -- East Slavic Literature -- Belarus -- Russia -- Ukraine -- West Slavic Literature -- Czech Republic -- Poland -- Slovakia -- South Slavic Literature -- Bosnia and Herzegovina -- Bulgaria -- Croatia -- Macedonia -- Slovenia -- Yugoslavia.
Subject (LCSH): Slavic literature --History and criticism --Bibliography.
Subject (Other): Slavische talen.
Letterkunde.
Literatur
USA
Slawische Sprachen
ISBN: 0810840057 (alk. paper)
9780810840058 (alk. paper)
LC Card Number: 00068761
Other Identifying Number: GBA1-X5649
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=7057529
Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: International & Area Studies Ref Slavic [non-circulating]
Call Number: 016.8918 N727b

A major undertaking

Richard Lewanski's volume on "the Slavic literatures" for the "Literatures of the World in English Translation" series (New York, 1967 -- UIUC call number General Slavic Reference 016.8918 L58s) is a representatively-ambitious project from an era when Slavic Studies in the United States were still in their formative stages and linguistic expertise in Slavic languages was primarily concentrated in Slavic emigre communities.  Attempting to index all translations into English from any Slavic language (Belarusian, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Kashubian, Lusatian/Sorbian, Macedonian, Polish, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, and Ukrainian) prior to 1961, ................

Finding the right dictionary

 

Author: Lewanski, Richard Casimir, 1918-
Title: A bibliography of Slavic dictionaries, compiled by Richard C. Lewanski.

Location: International & Area Studies Ref Slavic [non-circulating]
Call Number: 016.4918 L58B1972




Subject Guide

Slavic Reference Service's picture
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website