Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Translations and Translation Studies in the Russian, Eastern European & Eurasian Context: Translation Studies

A Brief Overview of the Field, and A Guide to Resources for Identifying Translated Works

International Federation of Translators

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization's portal for Literature and Translation contains extensive directories of national organizations, publishers, associations, guides, and supplemental resoruces for linguistics.  The International Federation of Translators is one the organizations listed under literary translation organizations and associations.  The official website contains a publications section and a resources page.  According to the compilers of this website, this organization is a conglomerate of associations of translators, interpreters and terminologists,  representing ~ 80, 000 translators in ~55 countries.  Researchers can access this website at: http://tinyurl.com/

Всероссийcкая государственная библиотека иностранной литературы им. М. И. Рудомино = All Russia State Library for Foreign Literature named after M. I. Rudomino

Access: http://www.libfl.ru/

In operation since April 1922, the All Russia State Library for Foreign Literature’s print and online collections [named after M. I.Rudomino, before 1924, Neofilologicheskaia Library]of journals, more than 2.5 million periodicals, and periodicals of foreign newspapers currently received is  ~1, 500 titles.  The digital portal attached to this library allows researchers to search for topics associated with the social sciences and other fields of study.  Translations Studies scholars can also browse any of the ten subject categories listed in the left navigation bar or search for electronic titles via the main search interface.  Moreover, the top navigation bar for this electronic library includes tabs for, “works,” “terminology,” and “personalities,” which will bring up hundreds of titles and terms listed under these headings.  In terms of historical importance and academic collections in foreign languages, this library is truly exceptional resource for Translation Studies. 

European Society of Translation Studies

Access: http://www.est-translationstudies.org/

The European Society for Translation Studies is an example of how rapidly this discipline is evolving globally.  This society has developed resources for researching translation and interpreting.  By selecting the resources tab, scholars in North America can view a list of relevant conferences, online Translation Studies resources, journals, online bibliographies, research groups, an online guide for research issues associated with Translation Studies, a "translator-training observatory," and video interview of translation scholars.  In addition to the resources tab, researchers can view recent publications tab, follow discussions via Twitter (EST @estrans ) grants and prizes for research travel section, and participate in the upcoming events of the European Society for Translation Studies. 

The world of interpreters

International Association of Conference Interpreters:

Access: http://aiic.net/

Without interpreters at conferences, the "communication" in scholarly communication will be limited to sign language and long periods of awkward silences.  Conference interpreters play an essential role in transmitting a scholar's thoughts throughout the world. 

This association was founded in 1953 and now consists of 3000 professional conference interpreters in "more than 250 cities and over 90 contries."  The association website contains official reports, newsletters, training materials, upcoming webinars, and employment opportunities.

International Medical Interpreters Association
"... is a U.S-based international organization committed to the advancement of professional medical interpreters as the best practice to equitable language access to health care for linguistically diverse patients."  This association was founded in 1986 and currently has well over 2, 000 members.  The members provide services in ~70 languages.  According to the official "IMIA mission and vision" page, this organization's objectives include: "publish and promote periodicals, notices, glossaries, dictionaries, reports and any other publications that may further its objectives."  Translation Studies scholars will find the Annotated Bibliography on Language Access and Interpretation [listed under "Resources"] to be extremely beneficial to their research projects.

Accesshttp://www.imiaweb.org/

The European Legal Interpreters and Translators Association

Access: http://www.eulita.eu/home


As of Novemeber 26, 2009,  14 associations from 12 EU member statates have joined the European Legal Interpreters and Translators Association.  According to EULITA's mission statement, this organization "... is committed to promoting the quality of justice across languages and cultures.."  Moreover, this organization works closely with legal services and legal professionals.