Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Arabic-language resources at the UIUC Library: Reference Works

An introduction to the University Library's holdings of Arabic-language materials, including current periodicals, reference works, language-learning materials, databases, DVDs, archival collections, and the 55,000-volume general Arabic-language collection

Bibliographies and Catalogs

The library owns many standard bibliographies and catalogs of Arabic-language publications, including the French National Library's Inventaire des livres imprimés arabes : 1514-1959 (015.174927 B471I), George Haddad's four-volume al-Fihris al-muwaḥḥad lil-kutub al-ʻArabīyah al-muqtanāh min ṭaraf al-maktabāt al-Faransīyah : 1952-1983 = Catalogue collectif des ouvrages en langue arabe acquis par les bibliothèques françaises : 1952-1983 = Union catalogue of Arabic books in French libraries : 1952-1983 (Q. 018 H117C), and Fihris al-makhṭūṭāt al-Islāmīyah al-mawjūdah bi-Maʻhad al-Abḥāth fī al-ʻUlūm al-Insān̄iyah - al-Nījar, a four-volume catalog published by Niger's Institut des recherches en sciences humaines (Z965.N54 I57 2004).



Dictionaries, grammars, encyclopedias, and more

A useful collection of Arabic dictionaries, grammars, encyclopedias and other reference materials, as well as Arabic language-learning materials, are housed in the southeast corner of Deck 7 in the library's Main Stacks.  These include the recent 23-volume Syrian encyclopedia al-Mawsūʻah al-ʻArabīyah (AE10.55.M38 1998), al-Bustānī's 11-volume Kitāb dāʾirat al-maʻārif : Encyclopédie arabe, wa-huwa qāmūs ʻāmm li-kull fann wa-maṭlab (published in1900 -- AE90.A7 K5 R), the 20-volume 1966 edition of Ibn Manẓūr's 13th-century Lisān al-ʻArab (PJ6620.I154 Folio),  Ramzī Munīr al-Baʻlabakkī's 2,000-page al-Mawrid al-akbar : qāmūs Inkilīzī-ʻArabī ḥadīth = al-Mawrid Al-Akbar : a modern English-Arabic dictionary (Bayrūt, 2005 -- PJ6640.B354 2005), Fridrik Tiedemann's The 101 most used verbs in spoken Arabic : Jordan and Palestine (ʻAmman, 2005 -- LT.PJ6145.T54 2005), the 12-volume Beirut/Damascus edition of Nashwān ibn Saʻīd al-Ḥimyarī's 12th-century Shams al-ʻulūm wa-dawāʾ kalām al-ʻArab min al-kulūm (PJ6620.N32 1999), and Imīl Badīʻ Yaʻqūb's 10-volume Mawsūʻat ʻulūm al-lughah al-ʻArabīyah = Encyclopedia of Arabic linguistics (Bayrūt, 2006).

Other encyclopedias can be found in the main Arabic collection directly above this area on Deck 8.  The Library has also recently acquired major new encyclopedias from Kuwait and Lebanon.

As part of the reorganization currently under way, much of this material will be moved into the reference collections in the International & Area Studies Library, Room 321 Main Library.