Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 498A/495A: U.S. Inequalities, Gilded Age to the Present

A course guide.

1. America: History and Life

The two main article databases for history are Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life. One or the other of these databases is usually the best starting place to search for scholarly articles in English on topics in history, and for this class you'll probably be using America: History and Life.

America: History and Life covers articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history published since 1964, and in some cases it provides links to the full text of the articles online. Historical Abstracts covers articles, book reviews, and dissertations published since 1954 on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present.

2. Other Article Databses

3. Digitized Journals

There are several major collections of full-text electronic journals. In these databases you can browse individual issues of journals, or you can do a search across the entire database.

For older journals, use JSTOR ("journal storage"). This is a digitized, fully searchable version of the full content of more than 700 scholarly journals from their inception (sometimes as early as the 18th century) up to the last 1-5 years (recent issues are excluded). To get to JSTOR, go to the "Quick Links" on the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library web site, or go to Online Research Resources and type "JSTOR" in the search box. Some of the titles you will find in JSTOR:

  • Ethnohistory
  • Hispanic American Historical Review
  • English Historical Review
  • American Journal of Legal History
  • Journal of African American History (and its predecessor, Journal of Negro History)
  • Journal of American History
  • Journal of Social History
  • The Economic History Review

Periodicals Archive Online is another full-text source of journal literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Coverage extends back more than 200 years.

For the full text of more than 300 recent scholarly journals, use Project Muse. These too are fully searchable. In most cases, only the issues from the last few years are available. Here you will find, for example,

  • Diaspora: Journal of Transnational Studies
  • Journal of Asian American Studies
  • Journal of Interdisciplinary History
  • History and Memory
  • Journal of Social History
  • Radical History Review
  • Journal of Women's History
  • Oral History Review

To get to Project Muse, go to the "Quick Links" on the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library web site, or go to Online Resources from the Library Gateway and type "Project Muse" in the search box.

The full text of recent issues of twenty scholarly journals in history is available through the History Cooperative, which includes the American Historical Review, Law and History Review, Oral History Review, Journal of Social History, Common-place, Labour History, and Labour/Le Travail. To get to History Cooperative, go to the "Quick Links" on the HPNL web site.

4. Print and Microfilm

The University Library has hundreds of "alternative" press periodicals on microfilm and in print. The best way to check for availability of specific titles, or to browse by date and place of publication, is to consult the Library's Newspaper Database.

The Library also has a large collection of labor union periodicals, both in print and on microfilm. Begin browsing in the Online Catalog at call number 331.805-. Socialist and communist periodicals (e.g. The Daily Worker) are classified at 335- .

5. Periodicals Reference Sources

In this section: indexes, bibliographies, union lists, handbooks, guides, and directories.