2nd ed. Online version of the 4 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies. Bibliographies accompanying the entries are not annotated. Includes a "Thematic Outline" that arranges the entries by broad topic, an annotated bibliography at the end, an annotated filmography at the end, a selection of primary sources, and a subject index.
2nd ed. Online version of the 3 volume original. Entries are unsigned, but have all been vetted by academic reviewers (who are listed in volume 1). Entries have bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated. Includes chronology, thematic outline of entries, and a detailed index.
Organized first by historical periods, then by major topics in working class history, then by industries. Begins with a section on reference works and archival collections. Includes an index for personal names and organizational names.
2 vols. Online resource. Also available in print through our catalog. A little old, but still highly regarded, and useful as a starting point into just about any historical topic. An excellent introduction to historiographical themes and seminal works.
Guide to major information sources for research on American Indians. The nearly 400 annotated entries are divided by genre into 12 chapters, covering encyclopedias, dictionaries, periodicals and newspaper indexes, directories, statistical compendia, bibliographies, biographical sources, government publications, and other materials published in the U.S. between 1970 and 1993.
Three good, general sources for biographical information are:
Online version of the 8 volume original. Part of the Oxford African American Studies Center. The standard reference work for biographical information on over 4,000 African Americans who have made especially important contributions to African American history and culture.
Contains American Biographical Archive - Biographical entries from 626 reference works (in 933 volumes), originally published between 1702 and 1998, containing often-difficult-to-locate biographical information.
Over 40,000 articles from about 300 biographical dictionaries. Includes Index that supports browsing by religion. We have a trial to the online version of this set (African American Biographical Database) through August, 2021.
Annual digest of statistics, drawn from the census and other sources. Most volumes have been digitized. Published every year from 1878 to 2012. Continued by: ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Compendium of statistical data with more than 1,000 tables and charts arranged in 12 topical chapters. The chapters cover topics such as history, population, family, education, culture, health, social and economic conditions, business and industry, land and water management, government relations, and law and law enforcement. Each table references the original source. There is also a separate list of sources, as well as a detailed keyword index. Does not incorporate 1990 census data, but has projections for 2040.