Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Research Tools on Fedor Mikhailovich Dostoevskiĭ (1821-1881)

СовЛит: тексты, библиография, исследования

When we encounter incomplete article citations from literary journals publsihed in the 1920s, we check with Ruthenia_SovLit to verify and complete the citation.  For example, the table of contents for Krasnaia nov'  from 1921(No. 1) to 1929(No. 12) is listed here.  This website also provides a publication overview for each journal listed and supplies researchers with a list of pseudonyms used by writers in these publications.  Moreover, researchers can also search by author and article title. Main sections: Zhurnaly 1920-kh gg; Kratkoe opisanie zhurnalov 1920-kh gg;Psevdonimy avtorov zhurnalov 1920-kh gg.  The web editors at Ruthenia.ru are currently adding a "sborniki" section.  Please visit the main site for more information: Ruthenia.ru.  Browser and encoding note: Based on our experience, it is best to use Internet Explorer when viewing this web page.  If you encounter any encoding problems(Internet Explorer), please right click and select the encoding option"Cyrilic Windows."  

 

 

Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei Online Index (1956-1975)

Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei[1956-1976, Indiana University].  UIUC Call Number: 057 LE. 

It is hard to imagine the world of Slavic research without Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei This magnificent and still definitve source can be admittedly quite tedious if used in print format, particularly if the year one is searching does not come with a cumulative index. Nevertheless, the sacrifice of time is almost always worth the while when tracking elusive or incomplete citations.  Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei is an excellent source for tracking published articles in major periodicals in the Soviet Union[1926-1992] and now in the Russian Federation[1993-].  The UIUC print collection for Letopis' Zhrunal'nykh Statei is quite extensive.  In print, we own the complete run -- 1926-2010, No. 47(the latest issue on shelf).  In terms of location, the print holdings are kept in three different areas of the library: Main Stacks Reference[non-circulating] (1926-1955, 1976-2009), Oak Street Facility(1956-1975), and Slavic Library (2010- ). 

Luckily, thanks to the Slavic librarians  at Indiana University, Bloomington, a huge run of Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei, from 1956-1971, has been made available online, reducing the searching time to a fraction of what is needed for the paper copy.  It is regretful that due to legal restrictions more of the work could not have been digtized.

The search interface supports a Cyrillic keyboard and allows for limiting by subject and date. If a Cyrillic keyboard is not installed on your computer, you can use the keyboard provided by the site (pictured above).  This great online resource is supplemented by the UIUC's subscription to the  Russian National Bibliography Database [1994-].  It can be accessed from the Online Research Resources section of the Library main page http://www.library.illinois.edu/orr/.  You may see it referred to as the Eastview Russian National Bibliography (Eastview being the vendor who distributes the database).

The database is of huge importance to Slavic research since it contains all eight of the Russian National Bibliographic Publications: Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei  (Journals); Letopis' gazetnykh statei (Newspapers); Knizhnaia letopis' (Monographs); Letopis' avtoreferatov dissertatsii (Dissertation abstracts );Letopis' retsenzii (Reviews); Letopis' izoizdanii (Arts); Notnaia letopis' (Music); Kartograficheskaia letopis' (Maps). The interface provided by Eastview gives the researcher the ability of searching all eight publications at once or searching / browsing them individually.

The database can be searched in English or Russian (Cyrillic) and should it be necessary, provides its own Russian keyboard.


 

Журнальный зал

Журнальный зал is an online journal depository.  This is a great place for searching and browsing the table of contents to popular publications.  For most titles, you can view the table of contents from the late 1990s to the latest issue. 

 

ФЭБ:фундаментальная электронная библиотека

FEB-web aka The Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore was started in 1995 by Институт мировой литературы им А. М. Горького/A.M. Gor'kii Institute of World Literature and the Informregister Center at the Russian Ministry for Communication.  According to the compilers, Feb-web is a "repository of Russian verbal art and the scholarly and other texts vital to understanding it."  Researchers will find the list of dictionaries, bibliographies, and literature guides at Feb-web to be an added bonus for researching Russian literary topics and writers. 

Словарь русского языка  В 4 Т.

Словарь псевдонимов

Поэтический словарь

Словарь русского языка XVIII века

Литературная энциклопедия

 

Литературная энциклопедия: словарь литературных терминов

One of the categories of full-text materials that can be found here are the periodical publications of the academy.  One of the most important literary sources in this category is the irregularly published serial Литературное Наследство .  This title issued volumes devoted to individual authors, often reproducing archival materials.  There were three volumes on various aspects of Dostoevskii's writing, all three available here in full-text.  There are a number of other important publications at this site and it should not be overlooked when seeking materials on the author.

International Dostoevsky Bibliography, 1985-2007 / Edited and compiled by June Pachuta Farris

International Dostoevsky Bibliography

This bibliography is compiled by Ms. June Pachuta Farris, the former head of Slavic Reference Service and now a bibliographer for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies at the University of Chicago.  This guide to Dostoevskii studies should be the eighth and ninth wonder of the world.  As the image above shows, the period of coverage for this bibliography is quite amazing and brings Dostoevskii researchers into the current fold of scholarship.  With the emergence of Arctic Summer (latest temperature reading: -14 °F), it becomes more important than ever to have an online bibliography few clicks away, in the warm oasis of your apartment.  This wonder of wonders provides citations in various languages, and is divided into the following sections1) Reference aids 2) Electronic resources and Internet sites 3)Series publications; 4) Books, Articles, Essays, Dissertations.  With the exception of "electronic resources and internet sites," all other sections are in PDF format for printing and downloading purposes.  Please contact the Slavic Reference Service if you have any questions regarding journal titles, citations, or any of the sources listed in this guide.

Note:In addition to the "International Bibliography of Dostoevsky," the Russian Virtual Library's Dostoevskii section provides an extensive biobibliography and features the collected works in fifteen volumes. 

 

Dostoevsky Studies

Dostoevsky Studies [Volumes 1-9 Online]

According to the University of Toronto, "the electronic texts found here reproduce the contents of the early volumes of Dostoevsky Studies, which are no longer available in print.  Additional volumes will be added, until at least the first nine volumes are placed online."  Each volume contains the following sections: Articles, Reviews, and Bibliography(subsection: current bibliography). 

Media

Media on the web are really fairly easy to find and most scholars have their own avenues to finding material.  If you have not seen these you might find them useful when looking for information on Dostoevsky's life or the film version of the Brothers Karamazov.

Братья Карамазовы (1968)

http://cinema.mosfilm.ru/films/film/Bratya-Karamazovy/bratya-karamazovy/

Mosfilm resources are available via its youtube channel or from its own website.  The link above is to the full length version that is available currently online out of mosfilm.ru

The life and death of Dostoevskii by Igor Vol'gin.  A lecture in Russian.

http://youtu.be/S_jIc18v5us

Archival images from Omsk prison.

http://youtu.be/e12uz5xvyq8