LibGuides: Cinema Studies Libary Guide: Finding Books

Sample Subject Headings

Motion pictures

Audio-visual materials

Film criticism

Motion pictures--Criticism

Motion pictures--Reviews

Film adaptations--History and criticism

Film genres

Motion picture reviews

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
PQDT is a collection of citations to dissertations and theses worldwide from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some of the older graduate works. PQDT is also the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress. Also included are the citations to British and Irish dissertations and theses (PQDT: UK & Ireland) since 1761 and abstracts for content since 1986.

Note: UIUC masters theses are not in PQDT. They are only found in IDEALS or in the library catalog.

Encyclopedias

The Film Encyclopedia 7th Edition by Ephraim Katz; Ronald Dean Nolen
ISBN: 9780062026156
Publication Date: 2012
Regarded as the undisputed Bible of the movie industry, Ephraim Katz's The Film Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film available. This all new seventh edition includes up-to-date additions, and features more than 8,000 A-Z entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of moviemaking, including: * Directors, producers, stars, screenwriters, and cinematographers * Styles, genres, and schools of filmmaking * Motion picture studios and film centers * Film-related organizations and events * Industry jargon and technical terms * Inventions, inventors, and equipment * Plus, an index of Academy Award winning films and artists, top grossing films, and much, much more. The editors have updated every single page, giving more thorough coverage to independent films, and adding new entries for all the latest stars and trends, from Sofia Coppola (director, Lost in Translation, The Virgin Suicides) to Johnny Depp (Oscar nomination for Pirates of the Caribbean) to The Lord of the Rings trilogy (Return of the King won a record-tying eleven Oscars). With the abundance of movies available through standard and electronic channels, this is the essential sourcebook every film buff, student, aspiring artist, and armchair movie lover needs.
The Encyclopedia of Best Films by Jay Robert Nash
ISBN: 9781538134122
Publication Date: 2019
This all-inclusive A-Z encyclopedia by one of the world's foremost experts on cinema provides comprehensive annotations of the best films produced from 1914 on. The work offers more than 5,000 three- to five-star entries (three stars=good; four stars=excellent; five stars=masterpiece), and yes, author Jay Robert Nash has viewed every single one of them as well as many more that did not "make the cut." In addition to a precis, each film's entry also includes a listing of the cast as well as the key principles involved in production, from the director to the hair stylist. Especially unique to this book is a rating system that helps parents determine whether or not a film is appropriate for their children. Unlike the industry rating system which can be influenced by studio lobbying, Nash objectively evaluates each film and confers upon it one of four recommendations for viewing: recommended, acceptable, cautionary, and unacceptable. Backmatter includes a list of top films by genre (i.e. animated, drama, sports, mystery, adventure etc.) as well as an annotated name index listing all persons mentioned along with their dates of birth and death. Rounding out this essential volume for the film buff are over 500 still photos from the author's private collection.

Finding Books

Step One: UIUC Online Library Catalog

There are two ways to search the UIUC Library catalog. Both offer the same content but the method of searching and presentation of results varies.

Through the new Primo Library Catalog. This catalog requires you to register with a login and a password to request materials. It also lets you search books in I-share (see below for more details.)
Through the Library Easy Search. This interface lets you search the UIUC catalog for books, articles, journals and media. .

Getting the actual book: When you locate your item you have two choices.

Print books

You can request the item and pick it up at any of the departmental libraries. Or, you can retrieve the book yourself from either the main stacks or the departmental library where the book is located. If you choose this option, make sure you jot down the location and call number of the item.

Electronic Books

Access will depend on the publisher. In some case you will be able to download full books via PDF. In others you might be able only to view the book online. In all cases the Library follow the publisher's requirements.

What if my book is not in the UIUC Online Library Catalog?

Step Two: I-Share

Once you have verified that the book you are looking for is either not located in the UIUC catalog or all copies are checked out, you may order it through Primo Library Catalog and selecting "All I-share Libraries." Items typically arrive within 5-10 days and you will receive an email when the item is available for pick up.

What if my book is not available in I-Share?

Step Three: Interlibrary Loan

If the item is not available in the UIUC catalog or through I-Share, then your next stop will be Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery. First, keep your full citation handy -- you'll need it. Second, login to the ILLiad server using your NetID and password. From the ILLiad main menu, select "Request a Book." Be sure to fill out as much of the form as possible, including the source of your citation. This will ensure that ILL can place your request in a timely manner. You'll be notified by email when your item is ready to be picked up.

WorldCat -You can search WorldCat to find books on your topic, which might not be in the UIUC nor the I-share catalog. Once you find a title of interest, you can order it through Interlibrary Loan

More Help with the Library Catalog

Reference

Books on Specific Films

Most books having to do with specific films - including screenplays of specific titles - are shelved under call numbers beginning with PN1997, with expansions of the call number based alphabetically on the film's title. For example, a book on Annie Hall has call number PN1997.A4463 C69 - the "A4463" part of this call number indicates that the film's title begins with the letter "A."

If the film's original title is in a language other than English, then the call number may reflect the spelling of the original title: For example, a book on Last Year at Marienbad may appear under the call number PN1997.A446 L48, because the original French title of the film is L'Anneé dernière à Marienbad.

To find books at the library, search the Primo.

Handbooks

Cinema Studies: the Key Concepts by Susan Hayward
ISBN: 9780415538138
Publication Date: 2013
Cinema Studies: The Key Conceptsis an essential guide for anyone interested in film. Providing accessible coverage of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, theories and production terms, this is a must-have guide to a fascinating area of study and arguably the greatest art form of modern times. Now fully revised and updated for its fourth edition, the book includes new topical entries such as: CGI Convergence Cult cinema Digital cinema/Post-digital cinema Dogme 95* Movement-image/Time-image Quota quickies 3-D technology
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Barry Keith Grant
ISBN: 9780028657912
Publication Date: 2006
This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others. Also included are more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics (for example, Robert Altman is featured in the article on Sound ). Additional features include a comprehensive index; a list of further reading sources; 350 black-and-white and 150 full color photographs; and more. 01
Queer Cinema in America: an Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Films, Characters, and Stories by Aubrey Malone
ISBN: 9781440867163
Publication Date: 2019
Just as American society has changed dramatically from decade to decade, so has queer cinema. Taking us from a time when LGBTQ characters were often represented as either caricatures or figures of farce, this lively yet authoritative reference explores the sea change ushered in by such stars as Greta Garbo and Marlene Dietrich in the 1930s and '40s, androgynous figures such as Montgomery Clift, James Dean, and Marlon Brando in the '50s, and closeted gay men such as Rock Hudson and Liberace, whose double lives were exposed by the scourge of AIDS. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on stars, directors, films, themes, and other topics related to queer cinema in America, including films and persons from outside the U.S. who nonetheless figured prominently in America popular culture. Entries cite works for further reading, sidebars provide snippets of interesting trivia, a timeline highlights key events, and a selected, general, end-of-work bibliography cites the most important major works on the topic.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
ISBN: 1558624503
Publication Date: 2000
Students of film and film buffs alike will find inspiration in the updated and expanded edition of "International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers." Your patrons won't find a more conclusive work on the most-studied artists and works than in this set, which now includes portraits and movie stills. You'll find thorough coverage of legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists through a detailed essay and comments by an expert. Entries also include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards and bibliographies.