Call Number: Literatures and Languages: PN1994 .M364 2009; Reference
Since publication of the first edition in 1974, Leo Braudy and Marshall Cohen's Film Theory and Criticism has been the most widely used and cited anthology of critical writings about film. Now in its seventh edition, this landmark text continues to offer outstanding coverage of more than a century of thought and writing about the movies.
Call Number: Literatures and Languages: PN1994.E53 2010
What is the relationship between the cinema and the spectator? Renowned film scholars Thomas Elsaesser and Malte Hagener use this central question for film theory in order to guide students through all of the major film theories-from the classical period to today-in this brief, insightful, and engaging book.
Call Number: Literatures and Languages: PN1995.F4675 2010
The Film Theory Reader brings together a range of key theoretical texts, organized thematically to emphasise the development of specific critical concepts and theoretical models in the field of film theory.
Call Number: Literatures and Languages: PN1994.F43814 2005
Written with undergraduate readers in mind, these essays cover the central issues raised in today's cinema courses and provide students with practical models to help them improve their own writing and film-analysis skills. Film Analysis also includes a helpful introduction and an extensive glossary.
This book offers an accessible account of film theory for the student and the cinemagoer. It ranges from the late 1960s to the present, a period in which a number of conceptual strands--notably politics, semiotics and psychoanalysis--came together. Lapsely and Westlake chart the construction of this synthesis and its subsequent fragmentation and elucidate the various intellectual currents contributing to it. The first part of the book covers the conceptual background of film theory, dealing with historical materialism, semiotics, and psychoanalysis, while the second part concentrates on particular topics--authorship, narrative, realism, the avant-garde and postmodernism. This second edition features an extensive retrospective introduction, as well as a fully updated and extended bibliography.
Call Number: Literatures and Languages: PN1995.C624 1999
This major film theory collection represents material under a variety of headings, including class, race, gender, queer theory, nation, stars, ethnography, authorship, and spectatorship. Offers an international approach to the subject, including coverage of topics such as genre, image, sound, editing, postmodernism, culture industries, early cinema, classical Hollywood, and TV relations and technology.
This book is a lively and provoking introduction to film theory. Suitable for students from any discipline, it is particularly aimed at those studying film and literature, providing a depth of reference not generally available outside the field of film studies.
This collection reprints the most influential and important writing on the essential concepts in the study of film theory, and provides a historical and intellectual context for the material. Including an extensive index and new introductions to guide the reader through the work, this is an essential resource for students and researchers working in the field of film studies.
Contains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- ; International index to television periodicals, 1979- ; List of periodicals indexed; Treasures from the film archives; International directory of film and TV documentation collections; and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications.
Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire perform in Swing Time (George Stevens, USA 1936)
Film is an art form with a language and an aesthetic all its own. Since 1979, David Bordwell and Kristin Thompson's Film Art has been the best-selling and widely respected introduction to the analysis of cinema.Taking a skills-centered approach supported by a wide range of examples from various periods and countries, the authors strive to help students develop a core set of analytical skills that will deepen their understanding of any film, in any genre.
Call Number: Literatures and Languages: PN1995.C66 2010
This best-selling text is a succinct guide to thinking critically and writing precisely about film. Both an introduction to film study and a practical writing guide, this brief text introduces readers to major film theories as well as film terminology, enabling them to write more thoughtfully and critically.
The second edition of this accessible book continues to examine how we can extract a broad range of meanings from the films we watch. With an improved structure, better pedagogy and more examples from popular film, this new edition continues to give students of film the vocabulary, context and critical tools they need for serious film study.