Finding Reviews Libguide
Magazine Reviews (Reprints)
Variety Film Reviews
Call Number: Reference: Q.791.4375 V427
Film Review AnnualCall Number: Oak Street: 791.437 F4873- Film Review DigestCall Number: Main Stacks: 791.4305 FILR
Books
Selected Film Criticism, 1896-1911 by Publication Date: 1982
Online Review Sources
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
- FIAF International Film Archive Database This link opens in a new windowContains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- ; International index to television periodicals, 1979- ; List of periodicals indexed; Treasures from the film archives; International directory of film and TV documentation collections; and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications.
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Film & Television Literature Index in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews--Database description screen.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowThis database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Coverage: 1864 - current
Other Possible Sources
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Academic Search Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: MLA International Bibliography in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches).Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Communication Source in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.
Print Indexes
Macmillan Film Bibliography by Call Number: Main Stacks and Oak Street Facility: Q. 016.7914309 R269MPublication Date: 1982- Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971 by Call Number: Reference, Main Stacks and Oak Street: 016.79143 B32R
- Film Literature IndexCall Number: Reference: 016.79143 F55
The New Film Index: A Bibliography of Magazine Articles in English, 1930-1970 by
Call Number: 016.79143 M12NPublication Date: 1975
Newspaper Reviews (Reprints)
The New York Times Film ReviewsCall Number: Reference: Q.791.43 N48- Index to Critical Film Reviews in British and American film Periodicals by Call Number: Reference and Oak Street: 016.79143 B68I
- The New York times film reviewsPublication Date: 1985
Also available online via:
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new windowSearch the historical file or only, or use this link to search the New York Times in ProQuest from 1851 to the present. ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.