Mission is to improve the conservation and sustainability of fishery resources and aquatic ecosystems by advancing fisheries and aquatic science and promoting the development of fisheries professionals. Includes publications and links.

Got latest legistlative information, fact sheets on contamination, and other research.

Find a park in your area, read about the research the parks are doing, and find other information about science, laws, and more.

Fun and useful info, including how to turn your backyard into a wildlife habitat, what to do for abandoned or injured animals, and information on endangered species. Also, in depth news, factsheets, and reports.

Contains basic information on fish and wildlife issues.

Tool connecting the natural resource workforce, scientists, educators, and the public to their wilderness heritage through ready access to wilderness information. Search legislation and policy.

Searchable resources on Urban Agriculture, including links and articles.

Mission is to reduce the burden of human illness and dysfunction from environmental causes by understanding each of these elements and how they interrelate.

This database indexes publications in 41 subject areas relating the social sciences to forestry. Among them are: legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment and finance, and more. (University of Minnesota)

Search legislation, policy, and judicial information by issue.

A part of U of I's own Illinois Natural History Survey. Includes research, publications, and outreach, as well as opportunities for Graduate Students.

Full-text HTML publication, spurred by rising concerns about the role of agricultural chemicals as water contaminants, examines policy alternatives that might control nitrogen fertilizer as a source of nitrates in water.

This site is packed with information, tools, pollution controls, health advisories, etc.

Provides lots of general information, current and historical, as well as information on the Survey's current research.

Provides results from the monitoring of Illinois streams. (IL Gov)

Provides access to the Database of Online Documents Covering Water and Agriculture, currently containing 1,442 titles, along with other resources. (National Agriculture Library)

The Funk Library holds the vast majority of published USDA county soil survey maps. Search the database by county or state to find the call number and year of the survey for which you're looking.

Provides definitions to an extensive list of soil science terms. Searchable and browsable.(Soil Science Society of America)

Contains lots of good links, research, and journal articles.

Provides technical resources on soils (US Gov)

Database of selected, annotated Web site references on soil health and related ecologically sound, sustainable agricultural strategies around the world. (Cornell University)

The Alternative Fuels Data Center is a vast collection of information on alternative fuels and the vehicles that use them.

Direct link to the U.S. Department of Energy's renewable energy webpage. Renewable energy types include: biomass, geothermal, hydrogen, hydropower, ocean, solar and wind.

News links for alternative energy from the Environmental News Network.

National organization promoting the use of biomass as a renewable energy source.

Information on alternative energy sources and additional links provided by the USDA.

Homepage of the International Energy Agency Bioenergy Organization. This group "aims to accelerate the use of environmentally sound and cost-competitive bioenergy on a sustainable basis, and thereby achieve a substantial contribution to future energy demands."

Information on renewable energy from the U.S. Department of Energy's research laboratory.

Governmental homepage for the U.S. Department of Energy, providing information on traditional energy resources, as well as alternative energy resources.

Official Energy Statistics from the U.S. Government. Includes environment link providing information relating to greenhouse gas, climate change, electricity, etc. Also has very useful Energy A-Z subject guide, with links pertinent to environmental studies.

Find all kinds of environmental information about an area by zip code, city, or county. (EPA)

A non-profit organization which has been providing access to thousands of online environmental resources since 1991.

Gives basic but useful information on a broad range of subjects. Well organized, and searchable.

EPA's mission is to protect human health and to safeguard the natural environment -- air, water, and land.

International guide to environmental products and services. Divided into 10 classification chapters including areas such as water, recycling, air pollution, and soil preservation.

Mission is to safeguard environmental quality, consistent with the social and economic needs of the State, so as to protect health, welfare, property and the quality of life.

Includes environmental links, reference resources, full-text publications, issues, and news.

Sponsors fundamental scientific research that helps solve intractable environmental problems while also contributing to the general advance of relevant areas of science.

Full-text HTML publication, spurred by rising concerns about the role of agricultural chemicals as water contaminants, examines policy alternatives that might control nitrogen fertilizer as a source of nitrates in water.

Information on Health and Safety, Environmental Effects, Regulating Pesticides, and more.

A rich resource with lots of news, information, and resources. (U.S. Gov)

Offers lots of useful information on the Nitrogen Cycle with plenty of clear diagrams, as well as a glossary of related terms. (U of I)

One-stop location for current toxicity and regulatory information for pesticides. (Pesticide Action Network)

Reports, articles, links, and other resources.

Educational information on the effective, economic, and environmentally sound use of pesticides. Provides facts, newsletter, and links. (U of I Extension)

Provides a huge store of information in numerous databases, including maps, imagery, and publications.

Info-packed full-text HTML publication that provides an in depth look at beekeeping, including how to care during different seasons.

Lots of resources, including educational materials, online journals, and links to specialized entomological associations.

Thorough index of internet sites. Everything from ants to tropical butterflies, and much more. (Colorado State University)

List of sites on a wide range of insect topics, including recipes, behavior, research, and more. (Washington University)

Current news and searchable pest management strategic plans for critical commodities and regions.

Contains exhaustive information about the ASAP program and sustainable agriculture in Illinois and beyond. (U of Illinois)

Specializes in identifying and accessing information related to alternative agricultural enterprises and crops as well as alternative cropping systems. (National Agriculture Library)

Provides an economic overview of organic agriculture and includes links to publications, recommended readings, related topics, and maps and images. (USDA)

Provides information and documents by subject. (US Gov)

Includes the National Standards on Organic Agricultural Production and Handling. Also provides news, updates, and links to additional resources. (USDA/AMS)

Offers resources, applications for grants, and professional development information. (US Gov)

Provides an overview of organic agriculture in 25 European countries.

A non-profit, tax-exempt foundation directed by certified organic farmers. Supports organic farming grant-making research and advocacy. Includes full-text publications, news, and links to additional websites.

An organic foods product, marketing, and research company. Offers a gateway to information about organic foods by providing links and information about businesses, websites, magazines, and more.

A non-profit organization that publishes general and specific brand name lists of materials allowed and prohibited in the the production, processing, and handling of organic food and fiber. Includes full-text papers, news, and analysis of national organic policies and GMOs.

A membership based business association representing the organic industry in North America. Includes online directories, industry information, and other news.

Provides information about completed and ongoing research, as well as a access to a large list of related Extension publications. (Purdue University)

Dedicated to the exchange of scientific and practical information on sustainable agriculture systems using a variety of printed and electronic communications tools. (US Gov)

SARE works to increase knowledge about - and help farmers and ranchers adopt - practices that are economically viable, environmentally sound and socially responsible.

Links and resources by subject.

Thorough and well organized gathering of web resources.

Database. Search by use (e.g. wound, fever, etc.) to get a list of plants that apply. (Agricultural Research Services - USDA)

List of databases with searches by plants, chemicals, uses, etc. (Agricultural Research Services - USDS)

Database of articles on Pubmed - searchable by herb. Links to articles are broken down into categories, such as "Evidence for Efficacy" and "Methods of Preparation." (Aetna InteliHealth)

Introduction to Medicinal Herbs as well as links to sections on 18 different herbs.

A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants. (University of Michigan)