Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Envirofacts Data Warehouse
Find all kinds of environmental information about an area by zip code, city, or county. (EPA)
A non-profit organization which has been providing access to thousands of online environmental resources since 1991.
Environmental Literacy Council
Gives basic but useful information on a broad range of subjects. Well organized, and searchable.
Green Pages: The Global Directory for Environmental Technology
International guide to environmental products and services. Divided into 10 classification chapters including areas such as water, recycling, air pollution, and soil preservation.
National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE)
Includes environmental links, reference resources, full-text publications, issues, and news.
Information on Health and Safety, Environmental Effects, Regulating Pesticides, and more.
Pesticide Action Network North American (PANNA)
Reports, articles, links, and other resources.
U of I Extension: Pesticide Safety Education
Educational information on the effective, economic, and environmentally sound use of pesticides. Provides facts, newsletter, and links.
Soil Productivity and Management
Plants and Forests
Environmental News Network
Contains over 40,000 articles relating to various environmental topics.
An international knowledge bank and multimedia learning center. Database of extension materials relevant to plants. Easy to understand quality information. (Ohio State University)
USDA Plants Database
A wealth of information and tools provided by the USDA.
International Society of Arboriculture
The International Society of Arboriculture "promotes the professional practice of arboriculture and fosters a greater worldwide awareness of the benefits of trees." The ISA Certified Arborists certification is voluntary program with six different credentials to certify criteria in training, knowledge, and experience.
Society of American Foresters
Provides access to information and networking opportunities to prepare members for the challenges and the changes that face natural resource professionals.
Tree Fact Sheets
This resources is searchable by tree species for identification, images, and other information. (Virginia Tech)
Fish and Wildlife
American Fisheries Society
Mission is to improve the conservation and sustainability of fishery resources and aquatic ecosystems by advancing fisheries and aquatic science and promoting the development of fisheries professionals. Includes publications and links.
EPA Fish Advisories
Got latest legistlative information, fact sheets on contamination, and other research.
National Park Service
Find a park in your area, read about the research the parks are doing, and find other information about science, laws, and more.
National Wildlife Federation
Fun and useful info, including how to turn your backyard into a wildlife habitat, what to do for abandoned or injured animals, and information on endangered species. Also, in depth news, factsheets, and reports.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services
Contains basic information on fish and wildlife issues.
Tool connecting the natural resource workforce, scientists, educators, and the public to their wilderness heritage through ready access to wilderness information. Search legislation and policy.
Aquatic Ecology and Water Quality
Center for Aquatic Ecology
A part of U of I's own Illinois Natural History Survey. Includes research, publications, and outreach, as well as opportunities for Graduate Students.
Economic Effects of Controls on Nitrogen Fertilizer
Full-text HTML publication, spurred by rising concerns about the role of agricultural chemicals as water contaminants, examines policy alternatives that might control nitrogen fertilizer as a source of nitrates in water.
EPA Water Topics
This site is packed with information, tools, pollution controls, health advisories, etc.
Provides results from the monitoring of Illinois streams. (IL Gov)
National Agriculture Library- Water and Agriculture Information Center
Access to information on water and agriculture, specifically the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water and agriculture.
Midwestern Beekeeper's Association
Their newsletter, The Bee Line, provides a variety of resources and information related to beekeeping in the Midwest.
List of sites on a wide range of insect topics, including recipes, behavior, research, and more. (Washington University)
USDA Integrated Pest Management Center
Current news and searchable pest management strategic plans for critical commodities and regions. Go to "About" then "Regional IPM Centers" to see more specific information about your region of interest.
A forum for the identification, images, and information of insects and spiders. This links directly to information on starting a insect collection.
Butterflies and Moths of North America
Collects, stores, and shares species information and occurrence data. Anyone can participate by submitting photos of butterflies, moths, and caterpillars.
Human Dimensions of the Environment
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
Features more than 250 common genetic terms pronounced and explained in an easy-to-understand way. Presented by the National Human Genome Research Institute. Many terms include images, animation, and links to related terms.
NCBI WWW Entrez Browser
Incorporates many protein and DNA sequence databases (GenBank, EMBL, DDJB) in a format that is easy to use. Medline records and 3-D structures are found here.
USDA Biotechnology Regulatory Services (BRS)
Contains detailed information on how the USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) regulates the movement, importation, and field testing of genetically engineered plants and microorganisms.