Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff Achievments
Library Building Project
Make a Gift
Libraries & Hours
Online Reference Collection
Digital Library Collections
Setup & Use My Account
Returns & Recalls
Fines & Fees
Ask a Librarian
Savvy Researcher Workshops
Research Data Service
Distance Learners & Instructors
Other Campus Libraries
Access & Connectivity
Virtual & Augmented Reality
COVID-19 Updates and Resources
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Site Navigation Menu
Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
Search this Guide
Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences: Government Websites
Resources for the Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
Funk Library Resources
Major NRES Databases
Associations and Organizations
NRES Resources by Topic
Illinois Department of Natural Resources
Mission is to manage, protect and sustain Illinois' natural and cultural resources; provide resource-compatible recreational opportunities; and promote natural resource-related public safety, education, and science.
Illinois Natural Resources Conservation Service
Resource of up-to-date information on conservation topics including programs, news, data, and more. Part of the US Department of Agriculture.
Illinois State Water Survey
Provides lots of general information, current and historical, as well as information on the Survey's current research.
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA)
Mission is to safeguard environmental quality, consistent with the social and economic needs of the State, so as to protect health, welfare, property and the quality of life.
Department of Energy - Office of Science
Sponsors fundamental scientific research that helps solve intractable environmental problems while also contributing to the general advance of relevant areas of science.
National Agriculture Library- Water Quality Information Center
Provides access to the Database of Online Documents Covering Water and Agriculture, currently containing 1,442 titles, along with other resources. (National Agriculture Library)
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Mission is to reduce the burden of human illness and dysfunction from environmental causes by understanding each of these elements and how they interrelate.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
A rich resource with lots of news, information, and resources.
National Park Service
Find a park in your area, read about the research the parks are doing, and find other information about science, laws, and more.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
US government agency site with information on environmental research, regulations, and, news.
USDA National Resource Conservation Service
US Department of Agriculture agency focused on providing resources, training, education, and financial assistance related to conservation efforts in the United States.
Energy Information Administration
Primarily economic data, including "policy-neutral data, forcasts, and analyses," regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
United States Geological Survey (USGS)
Provides a huge store of information in numerous databases, including maps, imagery, and publications.
Funk ACES Library
200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Reference Desk: 217-244-2249
Associations and Organizations >>
Jun 25, 2020 9:19 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem