Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Food Science & Human Nutrition: Government Websites

Resources for the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition

Government and Related Websites

Federal Government Websites

  • Dietary Guidelines for Americans
    Advice for people two years and older about how good dietary habits can promote health and reduce risk for major chronic diseases.
     
  • Economic Research Service
    (USDA) This site provides access to information about food safety, biotechnology, food marketing and consumption, and nutrition.

     
  • Food and Drug Administration
    Responsible for protecting and advancing public health.
     
  • Food and Nutrition Information Center
    (National Agricultural Library) A Federal Government web site with links to publications, databases, and program materials.

     
  • FoodData Central
    Provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural research. Supported by both the Agricultural Research Service and National Agricultural Library.
     
  • Food Safety and Inspection Service
    (USDA) This site provides access to current news on food safety as well as information on food safety programs, regulations, and organizations.

     
  • FoodSafety.gov
    The US Department of Health and Human Services's official website on food safety.

  • Herbs at a Glance

Herbs at a Glance is a series of brief fact sheets by the NIH that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.

Food safety education information for various topics.

State Government Websites

Local Government Websites

Related websites

  • America's Test Kitchen
    America's Test Kitchen produces magazines, cookbooks, and a television show, dedicated to developing the best recipes.
  • Ask the Dietitian
    A question-and-answer site monitored by a registered dietitian.
     
  • Dietitian Central
    A site about jobs in nutrition and dietetics, with information on continuing education, salaries, news and articles, as well as resume postings.
  • Epicurious.com
    "For people who eat," this site includes recipes, cooking advice, wine selection advice, and travel information.
  • FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization)
    United Nations agency that collects and disseminates information about food, nutrition, agriculture, forestry, and fisheries.
     
  • Food and Drug Law Institute
    Provides a neutral forum for communication and discussion of laws, policies, and new technologies for food and drugs.
     
  • Food Science Central
    This site provides access to free and subscription-based food science information, including current food science papers, news stories, and web site reviews.
     
  • Institute of Food Research
    From the UK, this site provides access to strategic research on food science, materials, safety, and quality, as well as on nutrition and health. Includes publications with instructional materials.
     
  • International Food Information Council
    This organization is dedicated to collecting and disseminating scientific information on food safety, nutrition, and health. The site provides access to IFIC publications, and regularly updated information about food safety and nutrition.
     
  • Mayo Clinic Nutrition and Healthy Eating
    Nutrition news and resources from the Mayo Clinic.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Funk ACES Library
Contact:
200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Reference Desk: 217-244-2249
Website