Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for print or online course reserves.
Find books and journals at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library.
Find the best library databases for your research.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Search for theses or dissertations. Also find Illinois theses and dissertations in the Library catalog, or the IDEALS digital repository (www.ideals.illinois.edu).
Welcome to the Funk ACES Library resource site for Food Science & Human Nutrition at the University of Illinois. The tabs above will take you to a variety of resources for students and professionals in the FSHN field. Additional major and concentration specific resources can be located in the drop down menu of the FSHN Majors and Concentratons tab. Please place any comments or suggestions in the comment box below. Thank you for using the Funk ACES Library website.
If you are an instructor in FSHN at UIUC and you would like to see additional resources or setup a class site, please email the Funk ACES Library. Thank you.
Fun with Foods -- Culinary Sites and other Sites of Interest
Popular Food Literature and Reviews
Magazine publishing recipes, cooking techniques, and equipment reviews.
New York Times Dining & Wine:
Newspaper section publishing restaurant and book reviews, recipes, and topical interest articles.
Magazine publishing content on recipes, food, drinks, and travel.
The Splendid Table:
Food and cooking show on National Public Radio.
Magazine publishing vegetarian recipes, lifestyle information, and resources for new vegetarians.
Magazine publishing wine reviews, wine culture, and wine tasting education.
Culinary Research Resources
Culinary History Research Guide:
A guide to the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building culinary collection at the New York Public Library in New York.
The Food and Nutrition Information Center:
Part of the USDA Agricultural Library. Includes dietary guidance, food safety information, and surveys and reports on food and nutrition issues.
Food history and period recipes from the Morris County Library in New Jersey.
International Coffee Organization:
Intergovernmental organization for coffee with statistics on the coffee trade.
International Vegetarian Union:
Resource for information on all aspects of vegetarianism. Search by global region on various topics like history, publications, or accommodation. A large pool of resources to begin research.
Food Preparation, Recipes, and Beverages
BBC - Food:
Recipes and techniques from the BBC. An illustrated glossary of foods can be found on the ingredients tab.
A database of 4733 recipes that allows you to search by drink names or names of ingredients.
Home Wine Making:
Information on viticulture and enology at the University of California Davis.
Formerly SOAR (Searchable Online Archive of Recipes). A large archive of recipes of all descriptions, searchable by ethnic region and by type of dish.
Provides access to vegetarian recipes, articles, newsletters, and coupons.
WorldCat Cookbook Finder:
Search engine to find a variety of cookbooks and nutrition books using the WorldCat database.
Alice Statler Library:
Menu collection at the City College of San Francisco focusing on San Francisco and Northern California.
Conrad N. Hilton Library:
Menu collection at the Culinary Institute of America with more than 25,000 menus from over 80 countries.