To cite a diary that has been published, citation that would normally be used for a book in the listed styles would be appropriate. The following guide applies to diaries that are unpublished and are instead available through a collection or archive.
Chicago Style
- To cite an unpublished diary found in a collection, start with the name of the diary's owner, followed by the identifying information: the material type (in this case, "diary") the date of the entry, the item number (if available), and the name and location of the owning institution in the following format: First Last, diary dated month day, year, item number, Institution Name, City, ST.
For example: Gwen Johnson, diary dated January 31, 1978. University of Illinois, Urbana IL.
For a digital resource or website, here is an example: CALL FAMILY PAPERS. Box:5 Folder:10 Item:1. State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory. <https://www.floridamemory.com/items/show/181329>, accessed 24 October 2024.
MLA Style
- To cite an unpublished diary in MLA format, start with the author's name (last, first), then a title of the work in quotation marks (note: some unpublished diaries may not have titles, and in this case a description would suffice). Next provide the date and the format, as follows: Last, Frist. "Title" or Description. Date. Format.
For example: Johnson, Gwen. Unpublished Diary. 1978. Diary.
For a digital resource or website, here is an example: CALL FAMILY PAPERS. State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory. Accessed 24 Oct. 2024.<https://www.floridamemory.com/items/show/181329>
APA Style
- To cite an unpublished diary in APA format, start with the author's name (last name, first initial) followed by the year in parentheses. List the title in italics if the document has one, and follow with the format in brackets as follows: Last, F. (year). Title. [Format].
For example: Johnson, G. (1978). [unpublished diary].
Digital resources and websites may be cited the same way, or else cited in-text.
Chicago Style
- To cite a letter from a collection or archive, or any sort of primary correspondence, start with the letter writer's name, followed by "to", followed by the name of the recipient. The format should look as follows: First Last to First Last, Day Month Year. Collection, Collection Owner.
For example: Sam Phillips to George Carpenter, March 29 1927. Phillips House Papers, University of Michigan Library.
For a digital resource or website, here is an example: Sherwood, W. H. "A Card." written by W. H. Sherwood, 1889. 1889. State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory. <https://www.floridamemory.com/items/show/331496>, accessed 24 October 2024.
MLA Style
- To cite a letter from a collection or archive in MLA format, start with the author's name (last, first) followed by addressee information as follows: Letter to First Last. Next, list the date, including the day, month, and year, and conclude with the collection. Last, First. Letter to First Last. Day Month, Year. Collection.
For example: Phillips, Sam. Letter to George Carpenter. 29 March, 1927. Phillips House Papers.
For a digital resource or website, here is an example: Sherwood, W. H. "A Card." written by W. H. Sherwood, 1889. 1889. State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory. Accessed 24 Oct. 2024.<https://www.floridamemory.com/items/show/331496>
APA Style
- For APA style, do not include letters in your bibliographic citations unless they are published in a collection. If unpublished, cite parenthetically in your text as follows: (F. Last, personal communication, month day year)
For example: (S. Phillips, personal communication, March 29, 1927)
Digital resources and websites may be cited the same way, or else cited in-text.