What is Cannabis?
Check out these websites for more information:
What is Marijuana? - Center for Disease Control
Cannabis (Marijuana) and Cannabinoids: What You Need to Know- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Everything You Need to Know About Marijuana (Cannabis)- MedicalNewsToday
Cannabis- World Health Organization
Cannabis Database Chart
Cannabis Business Databases
Sometimes it's challenging to choose a right database to start your search among so many available resources, and it's often hard to remember all features for various databases. This chart includes BIS subscribed key databases and their various features. Click on the database name to directly go to the database. You will need your NetID and password to login.
If you're having trouble accessing a database or getting an error code, try opening the link in an incognito or private window. For further assistance, contact bis@library.illinois.edu.
| Database | Articles | Policy | Consumers | Medical Marijuana | Industry Information | Company Information | Products/ Patents |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BCC Research | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ Products | ||||
| Business Source Ultimate | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||
| Derwent Innovation Index via Web of Science | ✔ in Web of Science | ✔ | |||||
| Hoover's | ✔ | ||||||
| IBISWorld | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ Products | ||
| Mintel | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||
| Nexis Uni | ✔ | ||||||
| EMIS | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||
| PrivCo | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| ProQuest One Business | ✔ | ||||||
| SSRN | ✔ | ||||||
| Statista | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||
| Technavio |
|
✔ | ✔ |
Cannabis Search Terms
The UGL has created a guide called "Marijuana Legalization". Some of their suggested search terms include:
- Controlled substance
- Decriminalization
- Drug control
- Drug laws
- Drug legalization
- Herbal medicine
- Marijuana industry
- Marijuana legalization
- Marijuana prohibition
- Medical marijuana
Also search for:
- Cannabis
- Cannabis Industry
- CBD
- Cannabis Regulation
- Cannabis Sales
- Cannabis Business
- Cannabis Segmentation
Search Tips
Using good search strategies can find more relevant information. Note: Different databases may use slightly different methods.
These strategies are particularly helpful for searching databases such as Business Source Ultimate.
| Name | Description | Example | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boolean Operators | Use AND, OR, NOT to limit, expand, or exclude search results. |
|
|||
| Quotation Marks | Use quotation marks to search an exact phrase. | "medical marijuana" will search for the words together rather than separately. | |||
| Truncation/Stemming | Searches variations of the same word. To do this, place an asterisk at the end of the word. |
teach* will search teach, teacher, teaching, teachable child* will search child, children, childhood, childcare |