Skip to Main Content

University Library

LibGuides

Cannabis Business

Industry Information

Understanding the competitive landscape of the industry and company placement is important.  When searching for industry profiles, they ideally should contain the following:

  • SIC/NAICS
  • List of competitors
  • Total market revenue
  • Current conditions
  • Some forecasts (1-5 y)

Industry profiles are usually difficult to find on the open net, but you can find them in the following databases: 

Databases for Cannabis Industry Research

First Research

Search by entering a keyword, or by clicking the link to Browse Industry Profiles.

Each entry contains an Industry Overview, including discussions on the competitive landscape; products, operations, and technology; sales and marketing; finance and regulation; regional and international issues; and human resources. Recent developments, business challenges, trends and opportunities are also covered.

Click on the submit button to search under Access First Research.

undefined

 

Search for marijuana or cannabis.

undefined

Mintel

Use the search box in the left side to start your search, and use the filters on the left to narrow down your results.

IBISWorld

This source contains market research reports on over 700 U.S. industries. Also contains industry risk ratings, global industry research, and company research on over 8,000 U.S. public companies.

In the search bar, type in marijuana.

 

Click on a report. Pay attention to the tabs on the left hand side that say Industry Outlook, Competitive Landscape, Key Statistics, etc. 

undefined

IBISWorld- Industry Insight

In the search box, type in cannabis and press the magnifying glass to search.  

undefined

 

When the search results, check out the "Regulatory Challenges Affecting the US Cannabis Industry" report.

undefined

 

 

For more reports- go back to the homepage and click on Resources. When the dropdown box appears, click on Analyst Insights. 

undefined

 

Then, you should see the Analyst Insights page. On the top right hand corner, type in Cannabis.

undefined

 

Check out these reports:

- North American Green Rush: One of the Fastest Growing Industries

- Potential Competitors in a North American Cannabis Market

undefined

Passport

This database contains demographic, economic, and background marketing statistics for over 200 countries, as well as market and economic forecasts. Passport also contains major market reports and consumer lifestyle reports for countries from all over the globe.

 

On the right-hand side of the search box, select Analysis and then type in Cannabis.

undefined

 

Technavio

Technavio provides access to subscribed market and industry reports.

Type in cannabis or similar search terms in the search box. When the search loads, you can limit the results by clicking options on the left hand side.

undefined

 

New Frontier Data

This market research firm specializes in the global cannabis industry, delivering solutions that enable investors, operators, advertisers, brands, researchers, and policymakers to assess, understand, engage and transact with the cannabis industry and its consumers. In addition to reports, it also offers newsletters to be delivered weekly via e-mail. 

The library does not subscribe to this database. However, it offers some free reports.   Example: 

 

 

 

BDS Analytics

BDS Analytics is a Colorado-based market research firm specializing in the cannabis industry.   They offer some free high-level reports.   An example is below.