Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jornal do Brasil: Our library has the complete collection of Jornal do Brasil. Founded in 1891, the Jornal do Brasil is one of Brazil's oldest and most important newspapers. The library has this newspaper in print from 1966 to 2005, one of the very few longest running collections of the newspaper in the U.S. The library also has this source on microfilm from 1891 to 1901.
Image credit: Journal do Brasil, "Inimigos que se aliam", 06/19/2012
Jornal do Brasil - Suplemento Dominical: Our library has one of only two copies of this suplemento in the world (Center for Research Libraries). We have a complete run from June 1956 to December 1961. The collection is available on DVD at the International and Area Studies Library, in-room use only.
March 4, 1961
March 11, 1961
Search for more information about using newspapers for research about Brazil, at the Library's History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library (HPNL).
Bibliographies on Brazil's History
Brazil, 1822-1930 : an annotated bibliography for social historians by
Call Number: 016.981 L578B
Publication Date: 1983
This bibliography lists 1673 works and provides comprehensive coverage of major works on Brazil from 1822 to 1930. It is intended to support researchers, students, and librarians interested in Brazilian history and politics over time and from various disciplines. The included items are primarily published in English, while others appear in Portuguese, Spanish, French, and German. This bibliography includes a succinct description about each item listed, and is organized by subject area and alphabetically by author's last name. Subject areas covered include general history and historiography, state, policy, and economics, demography and urbanization, contemporary narratives, slavery, society and social structure, culture, education, medicine, and science. The book also includes a first chapter discussing main reference works and research aids, as well as indexes by topic and by author.
Brazil since 1930 by
Call Number: 016.98106 L578B
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
This bibliography includes 1848 items for the time period between 1930 and 1979. Topics include political history, popular culture, sports, and music, among others. The bibliography contains books, articles and unpublished papers. Listed works are published mainly in English, but the primary works appear in Portuguese, Spanish, French, and German. This bibliography includes a succinct description about each item listed, and is organized by subject area and alphabetically by author's last name. Subject areas covered include general history and historiography, state, policy and economics, demography and urbanization, contemporary narratives, slavery, society and social structure, culture and education, medicine and science. The book also includes a first chapter that discusses important reference works and research aids, as well as indexes by topic and by author.
Bibliographia historica do primeiro reinado á maioridade: (1822-1840) by
Call Number: 016.98104 B469B
Publication Date: 1936
This bibliography published in 1936 by Brazil's National Archive was developed in conjunction with the Second Conference of National History, addressing the historical periods known as "Período das Regências" and "Golpe da Maioridade". It is arranged alphabetically, and compiles books, articles and some primary sources listed mainly at "Bibliotheca brasiliensis ou manuscriptos, livros antigos e gravuras sobre Brasil", in prominent library catalogs, and at the National Archives of Brazil, which was the main source for this compilation.
Processo de modernização do Brasil, 1850-1930 : economia e sociedade, uma bibliografia by
Call Number: Q. 016.981 P838P
Publication Date: 1985
This bibliography, was published by the Center of Historical Studies of the Fundação Casa de Rui Barbosa
, an institution affiliated with the Ministry of Culture. It lists 2053 works relevant for historical research on Brazil in the social sciences and the humanities in general, especially political and economic issues from the period known as the First Republic (Primeira República), which covers the years from 1850-1930. Selected works are the most representative pieces that provide a comprehensive view of the history of Brazil, and primarily have a national approach. Hence, works covering strictly regional issues were not included. The listed works provide both a descriptive approach produced by intellectuals from the "Segundo Reinado" and the first republican decades, and a more interpretive approach by scholars pertaining to "modernist movements". This book is arranged by subject area and alphabetically by author's last name. It includes a small abstract about each listed item; an introductory essay about Brazilian historiography regarding the period 1850-1930 identifying four main historical periods and indexes by topic, by author, and by title.
Primary Sources Guides about Brazil at European and American Archive -"Projeto Resgate Barão do Rio Branco”-:
Through the "Project Rescue" (Projeto Resgate) aimed at recovering and collecting primary sources from Brazilian colonial and imperial history, Brazil's Ministry of Culture, in partnership with various agencies, published eight guides with primary source content that organizes historical documentation available in archives outside Brazil.
At our University Library, six of the primary source guides can be found, as listed below. For more information about the Projeto Resgate and for online access to digitized primary sources from the Historical Ultramarine Archive at Lisbon, Portugal, visit the "Online Re(sources)" section of this guide, at the tab "Brazil- Non Univ. of Illinois Online Resources".
Guia de Fontes Para a História Do Brasil Holandês: Acervos de Manuscritos Em Arquivos Holandeses by
Call Number: 016.981032 G9402
Publication Date: 2001
This was the first of the eight primary source guides resulting from Projeto Resgate. This guide is particularly relevant for the colonial period of Dutch domination in Brazil, from 1630 to 1654. The guide completes and expands previous efforts of recovering Brazilian historical documentation held in Holland. The guide covers mainly the Public Dutch Archives from which three are especially relevant for research on Brazil: the General Archive of the State at The Hague (Algemeen Rijksarchief - ARA); the Municipal Archive of Amsterdam (Gemeente Archief) ; the Archive of the Royal House at The Hague (Koninklijk Huisarchief). Another relevant collection is the Leiden University Library (Universiteitsbibliotheek Leiden). An important highlight from this guide is that the General Archive of the State - ARA includes a series about the Companhia das Indias Ocidentais and of the Estados-Gerais, which promoted and led the colonial project in Brazil. This book includes three introductory essays, and is divided into three sections, each having differing characteristics. The first section is arranged by provenance; it is a guide to the Dutch Archives prepared exclusively for the Projeto Resgate and this publication. The second section is a reprint one of the earliest initiatives in collecting Brazilian documentation in the Netherlands, "Relatorios de Pesquisa" (1886) by Jose Hygino Duarte Pereira; it is arranged by provenance and includes a narrative description of materials; some materials are arranged chronologically. The third section is a reprint from the compilation "Relatorios de Pesquisa. A universidade do Recife e a Pesquisa Historica" by Jose Antonio Gonsalves de Mello (1957), which was the most recent guide of sources prior to this 2001 publication from the Projeto Resgate; it also includes a narrative description of materials, and some materials are listed chronologically.
Guia de Fontes Para a História Franco-Brasileira: Brasil Colônia, Vice-Reino E Reino Unido: Acervos de Manuscritos Em Arquivos Franceses by
Call Number: 981.032 G94
Publication Date: 2002
This guide to Brazilian primary sources stored in France was the second guide published by the Projeto Resgate. This guide, covering the 17th and 18th centuries, expands the 1975 work "Catálogo de Documentos Referentes ao Brasil" by Cícero Dias and published by Brazil's Ministry of International Affairs. It collects materials from 40 French archives scattered throughout the country, including National and Provincial archives, as well as other archives from public institutions, public and private libraries, religious communities and even families. Primary sources listed in this guide include materials like diplomatic correspondence, commercial transactions, military projects, slave trade documents, civil records, religious missions, diaries, and maps among others. The guide is arranged by provenance and archival series; it includes an introductory essay about historic French-Brazilian relations, a methodological description, and an index by names, topics and material type. It also provides information about access to all the archives listed.
Guia Dos Arquivos Americanos Sobre O Brasil by
Call Number: 016.981 G94
Publication Date: 2002
This guide also integrates Projeto Resgate for recovering and organizing historical documentation held outside of Brazil. However, unlike the other guides that address European archives, the present guide lists materials regarding diplomatic relations between Brazil, the United States, and the United Kingdom between the 19th and 20th centuries (until the 1950s). It covers diverse materials from manuscripts to modern formats such as microfilms, photographs, and electronic content. The institutions that formed part of this project include the National Archives and Administrative Records, presidential libraries, and other relevant, public and private libraries at the Library of Congress and the Benson Latin American Collection. The publication is arranged by provenance and chronologically, and contains an introductory essay, and appendixes expand the resources provided. It also offers general information about accessing all archives and libraries listed.
Guía de fuentes manuscritas para la historia del Brasil conservadas en España = Guia de fontes manuscritas para a história do Brasil conservadas em Espanha by
Call Number: 016.981 G589g
Publication Date: 2002
This guide, part of the Projeto Resgate, was developed using a previous guide about the Archivo General de las Indias at Seville as a reference, which was published in 1966 by João Cabral de Mello Neto. It expands, corrects, and organizes its contents. It covers unpublished items from different archives and institutions including the National General Archive of Spain, the Archives of the Central Administration, the Archives of the Autonomous Administration, Military Archives, Ecclesiastical Archives, Libraries with primary sources, Archives from the Nobility, Cultural Institutions and special foundations. The guide contains over 300 items and is arranged by the sources' provenance and chronologically. It also includes onomastic and subject indexes, as well as an introductory essay.
England and Ireland
Guia de fontes para a história do Brasil colonial conservadas nos institutos e arquivos italianos =: Guida alle fonti per la storia del Brasile coloniale conservate negli archivi e instituti de conservazione italiani by
Call Number: F2526 .G85 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Also, as part of the Projeto Resgate, this guide lists primary sources from Brazil's colonial period that are held in Italian archives and other institutions, specifically covering material from the 16th century through 1850. Institutions covered include archives from Italian states, archives and preservation institutions located in Rome (for example, the National Library of Rome), religious archives (including communities like the Dominicans, Jesuits, Franciscans, and others), pontifical archives and other religious institutions. The guide is arranged by the material's provenance and chronologically, and includes six introductory essays, a methodological introduction, a glossary, and three appendixes regarding religious archives outside of Rome, cartography and bibliography.
Assistant Professor and Librarian of Latin American and Caribbean Studies
International and Area Studies Library
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies