It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
This bibliography compiles more than 2280 sources relevant to the study of African populations and their descendants in Brazil. It adds to the work of previous bibliographers like Nina Rodrigues (1900 -1932), Manuel Querino (1909-1928), and Arthur Ramos (1956), as well as more recent works like those by Solange Martins Couceiro (1971). The last of these was particularly important for acquiring an initial compilation of 881 works on Afro-Brazilian topics. This bibliography is arranged alphabetically and includes an introductory essay.
This bibliography, published by the National Library of Brazil, lists books and primary sources relevant to the study of slavery and African heritage in Brazil's history and culture. The volume is divided into three chapters, each one referring to a specific moment in the evolution of slavery in Brazil up until the freed Brazilian slaves' suffrage. Each one includes a brief essay on each of the chapter's topics. Materials are arranged alphabetically by author's name and by material type. Some materials listed include a succinct description of the items' main features.
This guide was published in 1988 by the National Institute of Folklore, now "Centro Nacional de Folclore e Cultura Popular" (National Center of Folklore and Popular Culture), an organization that integrates the National Foundation for the Arts (FUNARTE), affiliated with the Ministry of Culture. It was published to commemorate the centennial of the abolition of slavery in Brazil. It lists 956 works considered the most significant publications related to African heritage in Brazil. The guide is arranged alphabetically by author's last name and includes a subject index.
This guide was published also in relation to the centennial of the abolition of slavery in Brazil. It lists archival material, bibliographic material, and magazines. Archival contents listed are held at the Historic Archive and at the "Casa de Rui Barbosa" Foundation's library. A highlight from the archival material listed here includes correspondence received by Rui Barbosa from different abolitionists as well as from supporters of slavery. The bibliographic references cover works by Brazilian and international authors. This publication is arranged by material type and alphabetically by author's last name.
This bibliography lists 358 items including books, book chapters, articles, government publications, and special collections regarding Japanese migration to Brazil. These resources were compiled from Japanese, Brazilian, and European countries. The book is organized by Japanese language materials, Portuguese language materials, and materials in other European languages. Items are arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
This bibliography was published by the Casa de Rui Barbosa Foundation, affiliated with Brazil's Ministry of Culture, intending to support and promote historical research about Brazil's first republic. Selected materials were created after 1910 and include books and archival material like brochures, magazines, cartoons, correspondence, and iconography. These documents were collected from institutions that specialize in Brazilian history, like the National Archive, the "Casa de Cultura São Saruê", "Fundação Casa de Rui Barbosa", "Instituto Histórico e Geográfico Brasileiro", "Itamarati" and the national museum "Museu da República". Items listed are arranged alphabetically by authors' last names.
This bibliography is divided in five sections according to five historical moments: republican propaganda (1870-1890), "República Velha" (1891-1930), the Revolution of 1930 and the "Estado Novo" (1931-1945), the postwar period (1964-1970), and the decade of the 1970s (1970-1980). For each section, the bibliography includes collective works, individual works, essays, biographies and memoirs, periodicals, bibliographies, and non-bibliographic sources such as archival material. The book includes complementary references that list additional published bibliographies and an index by authors' last names and institutions.
This volume is an inventory of material held at the Historical Archive of the Brazilian Historical and Geographical Institute, regarding the União Democrática Nacional -UDN- (National Democratic Union), a very influential political party in Brazil's political and economic history between 1945 and 1965. Items listed refer to the political party system, elections, correspondence, party administration, newspaper clippings, and other special documents. The book includes indexes by UDN members, by subject of meeting minutes of the National Directory board, by topic, and by last names of people relevant to this subject. This publication also includes a detailed presentation of the classification system used at the archive and for creating the inventory.
This guide is divided into six sections, each related to a specific subject area for the study of Brazil. Sections include a brief commentary about the main features of each topic and list selected bibliographic material-mainly books- considered the most relevant in each specific area. Materials included are organized alphabetically by authors' last names.
This bibliography list works strictly in relation to agrarian reform in Brazil, most of which are available at the Land Tenure Center Library from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Items listed are mainly in English and Portuguese. The guide is divided in sections by Brazilian regions, and some subject areas including regional development and agriculture. Items are arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
This volume compiles 438 bibliographies relevant to the study of Brazilian agricultural issues published between 1964 and 1974 by national institutions. Each item listed includes acronyms of the institutions where the bibliographies were located. The book includes an index by topics and titles and a directory of participant institutions.
This book includes 198 scholarly works regarding educational issues in Brazil. The book is divided into two parts: the first part is an academic essay about Brazil's educational history. The second part is an annotated bibliography divided into 11 sections, each one addressing specific topics: general references, educational statistics and school systems, social values related to education, educational psychology, education and economics, educational planning and research, elementary education, secondary education, higher education, and regulations and policy. Each item listed in the bibliography includes a succinct abstract of the item's main characteristics. Sections are arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
This book includes approximately 500 references including books, articles, electronically compiled papers presented at conferences, theses and dissertations, and other documentation that have been referenced at scholarly studies regarding racial relations in Brazilian education between 1994 and 2004. Each item listed includes a brief description. The bibliography is divided into six sections. The first one discusses methodological approaches, section two is a short essay about race and education in Brazil, and sections three through six constitute the bibliographical compilation. Items are arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
This catalog, published by the State University of Rio de Janeiro (UERJ), lists 265 theses about Rio de Janeiro, through 1960 and 1990, mainly in Brazil but also in other countries, covering diverse academic fields. Items listed include abstracts and are arranged alphabetically by author's last name. The book includes a methodological description of the compilation and some statistical data.
This bibliography, published by the Catholic editorial Pauline Books, lists books, theses, and articles related to the study of religious beliefs, which are relevant for research on popular culture and religion in Brazil. Listed works are arranged in five sections: popular religion in general; popular religion in Brazil; diverse religious beliefs; spiritism; and indigenous religions. Items are arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
Assistant Professor and Librarian of Latin American and Caribbean Studies