Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Research Guide to Brazil: Catalogs

Relevant Catalogs about Brazil

University of Illinois Online Catalog: This catalog searches for items in the University of Illinois collection.

Classic Catalog: This catalog is the same as the University of Illinois Online Catalog, except you can also search by call number.

I-Share:  Searches for items in more than 80 academic libraries in Illinois, including the University of Illinois. A patron is able to request materials and have them sent to any library at the University of Illinois.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL): This allows the user to borrow materials on a global scale. If there is an item that is not available through the University of Illinois or the I-Share catalog, a user is able to request it through ILL.


A user can search by keyword, title, and subject headings. Some suggestions for subject headings are:

  • Brazil-Bibliography-Catalogs
  • Brazil-History
  • Brazil-History-Bibliography

 

Other Catalogs

WorldCat: This catalog allows the users to request books that are not available through the University of Illinois Catalog and I-Share. Items take a couple of weeks to arrive, so it would be best to plan ahead.

Library of Congress: The catalog for the Library of Congress. The user will also find additional resources like finding aids or e-resources catalog.

Library of Congress Gateway to Library Catalogs: This provides a list of other library catalogs and links. It is organized alphabetically.

Biblioteca Nacional Digital Brazil (National Digital Library):

This source provides online access to varied documentation including primary sources and articles on several topics relevant tp the study of Brazilian history, politics, society, and culture. The Biblioteca Nacional Digital facilitates access to articles about historical publications and some original article transcriptions, digitized archival material (including photographs, manuscripts, official documents, newspapers, plates, maps, and others); online exhibits on varied subject areas, including photographs and articles; and dossiers regarding special collections held at the National Library of Brazil, or developed in partnership with relevant institutions.


From all these resources available at the National Digital Library, we recommend the Digital Newspapers and Periodicals Library (Hemeroteca Digital), which provides online access to magazines and newspapers published as early as 1821.


Fundação Biblioteca Nacional (Online Catalog / National Library of Brazil):

The online catalog of the National Library of Brazil lists maps, images (including photographs, caricatures, visual art, engravings and others), manuscripts, music (scores and audio recordings), books, rare books, newspapers and periodicals (paper and microfilm), and reference books held at the National Library located at Rio de Janeiro.

Additional information regarding special collections not included at the online catalog but also held by the Library  is available at the Library's website here. Special collections also include maps, music, iconography, manuscripts, reference works, rare works and periodicals. Searches can be filtered and customized by varied categories.

University of São Paulo Library Catalog:

The University of São Paulo (USP) is the largest public university in Brazil and one of the most prestigious ones in the country as well as in Latin America. The library's main catalog, which enables simple and advanced searches, can be customized by several categories including searching in local catalogs of specialized libraries. Additional sites for integrated search in the USP integrated library system are listed here.

A large variety of content is accessible online, including maps, rare books, and articles.


From the special collections available at the USP Library, we recommend taking a look at the Theses and Dissertations catalog, which contains 56,921 items. The theses collection includes materials in Portuguese, English, Spanish and French. These materials' date range is 1942- present and are available online for download in PDF format.

 

Loading ...

Assistant Professor and Librarian of Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Bibliographies and Research Material about Brazil

Bibliographies available at the Library

National Archives of Brazil - Online Exhibits