Resource Guide
Where to find resources:
Print: Go to the specified library and find the text by call number. Ask a librarian for help if needed.
UIUC Online Research Resources: Available to all UIUC affiliated faculty, staff and students. You will be prompted to log in with your NetID and password if you access them outside the UIUC campus network. You can access these via the Alphabetical List of Databases.
Additionally, some texts can be accessed as part of CARLI, the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois.
WWW: general websites (some come with our subscription).
If you’re having trouble accessing a database or getting an error code, try opening the link in an incognito or private window. For further assistance, contact bis@library.illinois.edu.
Start on Your Own
The University Libraries strive to provide as many resources via the web for your searching convenience at any place or whenever you would like to do research.
For simple searching, you can try the STEM Entrepreneurship and Business website, which has links to 3 pillars or broad categories grouped by type of information: Company - Industry - Country. This is a good place to start when you aren't certain where to go first.
The STEM Entrepreneurship and Business website also has Fast Answers, a database of frequently asked questions on a topic level. You can search the entire database or click on one of the areas of finance, accounting, economics, labor, companies, industries, etc., and look at the lists of questions. NOTE: This is not the place to do a company search on a specific company. Instead, it is a tool which will lead you to sources on how to find information on companies, industries, or topics.
Key Databases
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
To search for a company, type in the company name in the search box. Click on All Fields and scroll to Company Entity - CO.
Scroll down and you can search for SWOT Analysis under Publication Type.
Or search for NAICS/Industry Code, Product Name, and Company/Entity.
Created to support country market research, this database includes In-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends for over 195 countries worldwide, with an 18 month outlook. Quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from reliable sources and reviewed by Economist Intelligence Unit analysts to provide consistent, objective and impartial coverage.
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
Provides access to a mixture of practical and theoretical business content including company, industry, and country reports, scholarly journals and ebooks, videos, dissertations, newspapers, and more.
WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available).
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail enginlib@library.illinois.edu.
