Books on Architectural Drawing
Drawing for Architects by
Immediate and constructive, the physicality of hand drawing, upon which representation formats are based, is a necessary skill needed to communicate ideas in the field of architectural design. Drawing for Architects provides what practicing architects and architectural students need - a technique-based, progression of drawing types and instructions teaching core drawing principles needed to connect drawing with architectural design. Respected architect and author Julia McMorrough outlines issues around each of the types of drawing, showing that the conversations of plan, section, elevation, axonometric, and perspective each have a relation to the kind of design information that drawing makes possible to express. Drawing for Architects explains both the technical and disciplinary importance of drawing and how to enable design creativity and application through its practiced use.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781592538973Publication Date: 2015
Architectural Drawing by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781780671697Publication Date: 2014-10-21Architecture & Art
Architectural Drawing and Light Construction by Call Number: Q. 720.284 G775aISBN: 9780135132159Publication Date: 2008-07-23Architecture & Art
Architectural Graphics by Call Number: 720.284 C441a2015ISBN: 9781119035664Publication Date: 2015Located in Architecture & Art Closed Stacks (non-circulating)
Drawing for Architecture by Call Number: 724.6 K895dISBN: 9780262512930Publication Date: 2009-07-10Main Stacks
Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain by Call Number: NC730 .E34 2012bISBN: 9781585429196Publication Date: 2012-04-26Undergrad
Architecture by
A superb visual reference to the principles of architecture Now including interactive CD-ROM! For more than thirty years, the beautifully illustrated Architecture: Form, Space, and Order has been the classic introduction to the basic vocabulary of architectural design. The updated Third Edition features expanded sections on circulation, light, views, and site context, along with new considerations of environmental factors, building codes, and contemporary examples of form, space, and order. This classic visual reference helps both students and practicing architects understand the basic vocabulary of architectural design by examining how form and space are ordered in the built environment.? Using his trademark meticulous drawing, Professor Ching shows the relationship between fundamental elements of architecture through the ages and across cultural boundaries. By looking at these seminal ideas, Architecture: Form, Space, and Order encourages the reader to look critically at the built environment and promotes a more evocative understanding of architecture. In addition to updates to content and many of the illustrations, this new edition includes a companion CD-ROM that brings the book's architectural concepts to life through three-dimensional models and animations created by Professor Ching.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781118004838Publication Date: 2010-09-09
The Thinking Hand by
In our current global networked culture that puts so much emphasis on the virtual and the visual, the mind and the body have become detached and ultimately disconnected. Though physical appearance is idolised for its sexual appeal and its social identity, the role of the body in developing a full understanding of the physical world and the human condition has become neglected. The potential of the human body as a knowing entity - with all our senses as well as our entire bodily functions being structured to produce and maintain silent knowledge together - fails to be recognised. It is only through the unity of mind and body that craftsmanship and artistic work can be fully realised. Even those endeavours that are generally regarded as solely intellectual, such as writing and thinking, depend on this union of mental and manual skills. In The Thinking Hand, Juhani Pallasmaa reveals the miraculous potential of the human hand. He shows how the pencil in the hand of the artist or architect becomes the bridge between the imagining mind and the emerging image. The book surveys the multiple essences of the hand, its biological evolution and its role in the shaping of culture, highlighting how the hand-tool union and eye-hand-mind fusion are essential for dexterity and how ultimately the body and the senses play a crucial role in memory and creative work. Pallasmaa here continues the exploration begun in his classic work The Eyes of the Skin by further investigating the interplay of emotion and imagination, intelligence and making, theory and life, once again redefining the task of art and architecture through well-grounded human truths.
ISBN: 9780470779286Publication Date: 2009
Architectural Drawing Course by
Create a foundation for your architectural designs and creative pursuits! Explore the new tools that are becoming more readily available in school, including 3-D printers, CNC mills, laser cutters, and other tools that are revolutionizing architectural drawing. Along the way, you'll learn how to: See and sketch with accuracy Develop fundamental drawing and modeling skills Master subjective representation and rules of perspective Employ spatial strategies, and more This book will give you a foundation course in architectural design while emphasizing architecture's creative aspects. Readers will find a wonderful introduction to architecture's visual language, plus a series of instructional tutorials about drawing, rendering and diagramming ideas, and so much more.
ISBN: 9781438011158Publication Date: 2018- Architectural Drawing by
This book focuses on the exciting possibilities for representing the built environment with techniques ranging from pencil sketching to computers. It teaches students the following skills: how to draw using a range of media, the basic rules of making effective spatial images, and how to express ideas through appropriate media and forms of communication. Following a brief introduction, the book is divided into three sections: Media, Types, and Places. Each section is illustrated with exemplary drawings and accompanying commentaries. Step-by-step sequences and practical tips will further help students to make the most of their newly acquired skills. The second edition includes more guidance on basic hand drawing skills, more on a variety of techniques, and new artworks from practicing architects, making it an indispensable practical and inspirational resource.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781780671697Publication Date: 2014
Books on Architectural Modeling
Drawing from the Model by
Bridges traditional and contemporary methods of creating architectural design drawings and 3D models through digital tools and computational processes. Drawing from the Model: Fundamentals of Digital Drawing, 3D Modeling, and Visual Programming in Architectural Design presents architectural design students, educators, and professionals with a broad overview of traditional and contemporary architectural representation methods. The book offers insights into developments in computing in relation to architectural drawing and modeling, by addressing historical analog methods of architectural drawing based on descriptive geometry and projection, and transitioning to contemporary digital methods based on computational processes and emerging technologies. Drawing from the Model offers digital tools, techniques, and workflows for producing architectural design drawings (plans, sections, elevations, axonometrics, and perspectives), using contemporary 2D drawing and 3D modeling design software. Visual programming is introduced to address topics of parametric modeling, algorithmic design, computational simulations, physical computing, and robotics. The book focuses on digital design software used in higher education and industry, including Robert McNeel & Associates Rhinoceros® (Rhino 6 for Windows), Grasshopper®, Adobe Illustrator® CC, and Arduino, and features an appendix filled with 10 design drawing and 3D modeling exercises intended as educational and pedagogical examples for readers to practice and/or teach workflows that are addresses in the book. Bridges analog hand-drawing and digital design drawing techniques Provides comprehensive coverage of architectural representation, computing, computer-aided drafting, and 3D modeling tools, techniques, and workflows, for contemporary architectural design drawing aesthetics and graphics. Introduces topics of parametric modeling, algorithmic design, computational simulation, physical computing, and robotics through visual programming environments and processes. Features tutorial-based instruction using the latest versions of Rhinoceros® (Rhino 6 for Windows), Grasshopper®, Adobe Illustrator® CC, and Arduino.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781119115649Publication Date: 2019
Model Making for Architects by
Model making is a beautiful and skilful craft, and architectural model making is a vital part of the building process. The architectural model is often the first time that a building is visualized in 3D. It can capture the excitement of the architect's vision but can also reveal unforeseen difficulties.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781847974907Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Architectural Modelmaking by
The physical model is an important communication tool for architects. Although the proliferation of CAD programs has enabled the creation of increasingly complex computer models and virtual environments, there is also a growing need to address the three-dimensional qualities of architecture that may be lost when using such media. This book focuses on the inspiring possibilities for modeling the built environment with all the different media and techniques available. In describing the use of different models in different contexts, the book provides a practical guide to how and why models are used and what they are used for. This second edition includes more detailed step-by-step exercises, expanded discussion of materials and techniques, and updated coverage of digital techniques.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781780671710Publication Date: 2014
Studio Craft & Techniques for Architects by
Studio Craft & Technique is a one-stop handbook for undergraduate students of architecture. Based on the belief that technology and craft are at the heart of design studies, this book encourages students to think of them as aspects of an integrated whole. The book provides step-by-step techniques for skills that students use in their undergraduate studies, such as drawing, model making and surveying and explains the conventions of architectural representation. It also explains the primary elements of construction and structure from first principles, using clear diagrams and drawings. Students can use this handbook on a daily basis in their design and technology studios through their first years of study. Recommended to first year students at numerous architecture schools, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781780676579Publication Date: 2015
Architectural Scale Models in the Digital Age by
Making physical models of complex geometric shapes and their multiple structural connections is a major challenge in the age of advanced digital technology and parametric design in architecture. This approach requires new modeling strategies, technology and methods which are covered in this book. Complex geometric forms generated using virtual media can be tested and validated only by means of physical models, which also make it possible to assess their practical application. The complexity of contemporary architectural design requires the mastery of new methods of producing scale models, which opens a new chapter in the field of modeling, and is the focus of this book. Along with the traditional methods that provide the basis for modeling, this book presents the principles of digital NURBS modeling, parametric modeling, digital modeling support, and model creation, complete with a number of tutorials, practical advice and examples found in architectural practice today.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9783709114476Publication Date: 2013
Architecture and Modelbuilding by
Architectural models are used at various stages of a project. As working models they support the design process: they are made up from time to time using simple materials, such as cardboard, without any attempt at accuracy, and continue to be adjusted and added to as the ideas and the design progress. The point here is to swiftly check a design idea, to allow it to be continued or dismissed. Presentational models are more involved; at this stage the design has been completed and the purpose of the model is to convey the ideas to the potential user in a clear and easy-to-understand way. The book Architecture and Model Building includes outstanding examples explaining the possibilities of this medium and, at the same time, provides comprehensive information on materials and techniques.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9783035614794Publication Date: 2018-09-10
Materials, Making and Architectural Details
Constructing Architecture by
Systematically structured and prepared with the student in mind, the book conveys in one volume the necessary basic technical building construction knowledge to enable readers to implement a wide range of designs. For this reason, over the last 14 years, it has developed into an indispensable information and reference handbook, not only for students and teachers, but also for architects. The 4th edition of this standard work for building construction has again been revised in terms of content and illustrations. References to standards, thermal insulation standards, and some project examples have been updated; they are now comprehensively and systematically documented, explaining the design process from start to finish.
ISBN: 3035616698Publication Date: 2018
Prototyping for Architects by
The first overview of how new digital design and fabrication techniques offer new possibilities for prototyping in architecture Prototyping is an essential part of designers' repertoires, allowing them to test their projects from structural, aesthetic, and technical standpoints. Prototyping for Architects examines how architects are combining new digital design and fabrication technologies with traditional hands-on building techniques to gain more insight into the strengths and weaknesses of their designs. Beginning with an introduction charting the rise of prototyping in design history, this cutting-edge volume for students and professionals presents an extensive range of prototyping techniques, followed by a selection of 30 projects by leading contemporary international architects. Jane and Mark Burry explain how prototyping at a miniature scale helps communicate complex spatial ideas; how prototyping empowers the architect-designer to test and prove a building's feasibility; and how additive (3D printing) or subtractive (robotic milling) prototyping can lead to exciting new design possibilities. A reference section, which includes a glossary of technical terms, offers further information and clarification.
ISBN: 9780500343050Publication Date: 2016
