How Do I Find Journals?
The best way to find academic articles in journals is to the Journal Search function in the Library Catalog. You can locate journals by searching by the title or by selecting a subject to narrow down your search. If you are searching by title, once you have located the journal and selected the title from the results list an authentication window will open in another window. There you will select the red "Go" button. It will load the journal content and you can then select the volume/issue and year to find a specific article.
In order to find print journals in the library, you need to have the call number and location. You can receive a text with this information through the Library Catalog.
Here is a guide to all Ricker Library Architecture Journals.
Suggested Journals
Article Databases
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. The American and international journals indexed include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present, with selective coverage back to 1741.
- Building Types Online This link opens in a new windowThe database Building Types Online is a resource for the study and practice of architectural design. It is based on the publisher’s high international standing in professional architecture books, on the knowledge of the authors and editors who are leading experts in their fields, as well as on the technical quality of the illustrations. The database offers exclusive and unparalleled, highly flexible and detailed search and browse access to the contents of the Birkhäuser program on building types. All content was written and selected by internationally renowned authors in architectural design.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature as well as to patents, standards and handbooks (Compendex, US Patents, Inspec, EP Patents, NTIS, WO Patents, GEOBASE, and GeoRef).
- Material ConneXion This link opens in a new windowMaterial ConneXion is a database of materials used in architecture and design. Users have unlimited access to comprehensive product information, technical specifications, application information, manufacturer and distributor contact information, and images for each of the materials and processes. Searchable by product, process, and application.
- DETAIL InspirationDETAIL Inspiration is an image and reference database with more than 3000 projects from the last 30 years of architecture magazine, DETAIL. This collection presents construction solutions for architects as they research. Projects are detailed and available to download as PDFs. The database content is expanded and updated with the release of each new issue of the magazine.