Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Database Training

Graduate Assistant Training: Introduction to Database Searching.

Starting Databases by Subject (Selected List)

See also: Undergraduate Library Find Articles Guide. Departmental library pages will also provide descriptive lists of databases relevant to specific disciplines.

Topic

Database 

All

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)Best starting point for most topics. Contains large amount of full-text.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)Essential for graduate students working on their theses or for patrons wanting to be comprehensive. Need to be clear with patrons what they will find in the database.

Art

Art Source (EBSCO)Visual arts, architecture. 

Business

ABI-Inform Collection (ProQuest)Business, advertising, management.

Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)Business, management, finance.

Communication

Communication Source (EBSCO)Communications, film studies, public opinion. 

Education

ERIC (EBSCO)Education research and practice. 

Education Full Text (EBSCO)Education. 

Engineering

Engineering Village (Elsevier)Engineering, physics.   

IEEE XploreFull text of articles and conference papers from the IEEE. 

History

America: History and Life (EBSCO)American and Canadian history.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)World History.

Law

LexisNexis AcademicCase law, codes and regulations, law journal articles, patents.

Life Sciences &
Agriculture

Biological Abstracts (Thomson Reuters)Biology, biomedical science, related areas. Part of Web of Science.

CABI (Thomson Reuters)Agriculture, leisure, recreation, tourism, veterinary medicine. Part of Web of Science.

Literature

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)Literary criticism and analysis. 

Medicine

MedlinePlus (National Library of Medicine)Consumer health info.

Health Source (EBSCO)Nursing and allied health.

CINAHL (EBSCO)Nursing and allied health.

PubMed (National Library of Medicine)Biomedical research, psychology, allied health. 

Music, Dance, & Theater

Music Index (EBSCO)Music.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest)Theater, dance, film.

News

Access World News (NewsBank)U.S. and international newspapers.

LexisNexis AcademicNews, broadcast transcripts. 

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)U.S. and international newspapers, news wires, TV, radio news transcripts. 

Physical Sciences & Engineering

Engineering Village (Elsevier)Engineering, physics.

Web of ScienceLarge general science indexing database.

Psychology

PsycINFO (ProQuest)Psychology. 

Social Sciences

SocINDEX (ProQuest)Sociology. 

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)Political science, international relations, law, public administration/policy.

PAIS Index (ProQuest)Political, social, public policy issues.

Women & Gender Studies

GenderWatch (ProQuest)Gender studies.