About EBSCO

• EBSCO is a VENDOR.
• EBSCO is a collection of dozens of databases that cover a multitude of subjects and disciplines. To view and select from the databases, from any EBSCO database, click on the name of the database next to Searching. Selecting from this list will allow the searching of multiple EBSCO databases simultaneously. 

​About Academic Search Ultimate

• Academic Search Ultimate is a PRODUCT provided by EBSCO.
• Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary source of more than 8,500 sources including more than 4,600 full text periodicals, of which more than 3,900 are scholarly. Given the broad, multi-coverage nature of this database, it is taught in first-year instruction and is one of the first choices for a substantial number of students. 

 About Sources Found in Academic Search Ultimate

• Sources include magazines, journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers.
• Full text availability in EBSCO databases will be indicated under Access Options.
• Charts, graphs, pictures, etc. that are present will be indicated in each article record under Source. Look for notes such as: 2 charts, 1 diagram, 1 color, 2 b.w., etc.

The Library subscribes to several dozen EBSCO databases. The search screens will look very similar, but some of the limits and other functions may differ slightly. Subject terms are NOT consistent from database to database. 

1. Searching Academic Search Ultimate

To begin searching, enter search terms in the boxes provided. 

• Each keyword/keyword phrase should be entered in a separate search box.
• Default settings are usually sufficient for basic and initial searches. 
• Phrases can be entered in quotes (example: "gun control").
• To truncate a word, add an * to the root of the word. For example, entering charit* will find charity, charities, charitable, etc.
• The sort default is Relevance. Change to another sort option via the drop-down at the top of the Search Results.

2. Setting Limits and Refining Search Options

Limits can be very helpful in focusing a search and may be set at any time during the course of a search.

Note: Limits vary in the individual EBSCO databases. 

• Initial limits may be set when beginning a search.
• After a search has begun, limits may be applied via the filters above the results.
• Limits applied will appear above the results under All Filters. Limits can be removed by clicking on the X.

Limit examples include:

• Full Text: Not recommended!! This will eliminate access to links to full text in other databases provided by the Discover feature.
• Source Type: Limit to articles published in a specific periodical type.
• Publication Date: Change the date of the results by selecting a desired timeframe from the dropdown above the results, or by selecting a custom date range in All Filters. 
• Subject: Thesaurus Term: Available in All Filters. Subject headings present in results from the current search. Use these to focus a search. Note: Clicking on one of these will combine the subject terms with the previous search, often resulting in significantly fewer results. A suggested strategy is to choose a subject from within a record or copy and paste the new subject into one of the search boxes.
• Subject: Available in All Filters. Generally author assigned keywords. These are often not assigned subjects within a database. Subject: Thesaurus Term is usually more helpful.

Each record may be saved and managed individually, or records may be saved as a group. Please note that articles added to the Saved folder cannot be saved after a search session unless patrons create a MyEBSCO account. The Add to Project feature can only be used when logged into MyEBSCO. Logins for MyEBSCO are separate from SSO for the university. 

• To manage individually:
  • Select an option from the menu that appears at the upper-right when in a record.
    • Save allows you to add articles to the Saved folder on the left of the screen. 
    • Cite provides a citation of the article in various citation styles.
    • Share allows you to create a sustainable link (URL) to return to the article, email it, or save it to a cloud-based drive. 
    • Add to Project allows you to add articles to designated project folders when logged into MyEBSCO. 
• To manage items as a group:
  • Place articles in the Saved folder.
  • To view, click on the Saved folder on the left side of the screen.
  • Select all by clicking the box above the articles. This allows you to export citations to management software and/or to download the articles. You can also manage each article individually in this screen. 

Full text availability is indicated at the bottom of each citation under Access Options.

• Online Full Text Accessible text optimized for reading online, including a linked Table of Contents as well as translation and listening tools.
• PDF. Digitized version of the actual print article.
• Discover Full Text at UIUC. Click on the Discover link to open a new window, which will provide information about the article's availability in other databases. Follow the links provided to locate the article.
• Full Text from [Database]. Links to the full text of the article in another database. 

• Searching. Clicking the database name next to Searching allows you to add or change the EBSCO database(s) you are searching from the full menu of options. 
• Ask a Librarian service is available within the search interface. 
• MyEBSCO is an EBSCO feature and allows users to save search histories and results, preferences, share folders with others, and more. Each individual must create their own account.
  Note: We are unable to help users troubleshoot their accounts using this feature. Questions about individual accounts need to be referred to EBSCO.