What are Point-of-Care Tools?

Point-of-Care tools allow clinicians to quickly access evidence-based information while with the patient.

Clinicians face an information overload making it difficult to quickly identify relevant, accurate and critically-appraised patient care information.

This guide provides clinicians with evidence based tools, resources and information  to support everyday patient care needs.

• These resources help you quickly and easily identify the most up to date, quality information on a clinical topic
  • Some resources help evaluate the quality of information
  • Some resources help stay up to date on new findings 
  • Some resources also provide background guidance

Subscription-based Resources and Apps for Point-of-Care

• DynaMed Plus
  • Includes Diagnosis, Treatment, Calculators, Drug interactions, and more 
    1. Access DynaMed Plus using link above using desktop and register to create an account.
    2. Then download app using your UIUC affiliation
    3. NOTE: You must re-certify your account annually
  • Clinicians can receive CME credit
• UpToDate
  • Includes Diagnosis, Treatment, Calculators, Drug interactions, and more. NOTE: resources not critically appraised
    1. Access UpToDate using link above using desktop and register to create an account.
    2. Then download app using your UIUC affiliation
    3. NOTE: You must re-certify your account every 3 months
  • Clinicians can receive CME credit
• STAT!Ref: Essential Evidence Plus (EE+)
  • Includes graded evidence-based resources including topic summaries, guidelines, systematic reviews, calculators, images, and more. Covers the most common conditions, diseases and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day
    1.  Access EE+ using link above using desktop and register to create a StatRef! account.
    2. Then navigate to app store and download app using your UIUC affiliation
    3. NOTE: You must re-certify your account every 3 months
  • Sign up for POEMS research summaries to stay up to date on recent research
• JAMAevidence
  • Includes fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature for clinical diagnoses, treatment and more. Includes: Users' Guides to the Medical Literature; Critical Appraisal Checklists; Rational Clinical Examination; and more

Free Resources and Apps for Point-of-Care

Guidelines

• Guidelines International Trust
  • One of the worlds largest international guidelines library
• U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)
  • Includes graded evidence-based guidance for screening, behavioral counseling and preventive medicine
  • Instructions to download the USPSTF app
• American College of Physicians (ACP) Clinical Guidelines and Recommendations
• ECRI Guidelines Trust

Medical Calculators

• MDCalc
• Calculate by QxMD
• MedCalX

Vaccine Schedules

• CDC Immunization Schedules
• CDC Vaccine Schedules App

Reproductive System

• American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) App
• CDC Contraceptive Guidance for Health Care Providers
• CDC Sexually Transmitted Infections Treatment Guide, 2021

General Resources

• Epocrates (free version)
  • Useful to identify recommended drugs, drug interactions and, dosages. Includes guidelines and tables. Includes ads
• Core Clerkships
  • Practical guide on how to write notes, call consults and more for each core clerkship