Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Phase 2: Major Clinical Experience

              CIVL Home                                                 Medical Students Home                                                Faculty Home

Recommended Family Medicine eBooks

Case Files in Family Medicine, 5e

By Eugene C. Toy, Donald Briscoe, Bruce Britton, & Joel J. Heidelbaugh 

Fifth edition includes updated case files on: abdominal pain and vomiting in a child; acute causes of wheezing and stridor in children; acute diarrhea; acute low back pain; adolescent health maintenance; adult female health maintenance; adult male health maintenance; advances in hyperlipidemia management; advances in somatic symptom disorder and interprofessional care; adverse drug reactions and interactions; allergic disorders, anaphylaxis, and conjunctivitis; anemia in the geriatric patient; autism spectrum disorder; breast diseases; cerebrovascular accident/transient ischemic attack; chest pain; chronic kidney disease; clinician well-being; comprehensive review questions; dementia; diabetes mellitus; dyspepsia and peptic ulcer disease; dyspnea (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease); electrolyte disorders; family planning--contraceptives; family violence; fever and rash; geriatric health maintenance and end-of-life issues; grief-associated vitamin B12 deficiency; health disparities; heart failure; hematuria; HIV, AIDS, and other sexually transmitted infections; hyperlipidemia; hypertension; irritable bowel syndrome; jaundice; joint pain; knee injury; limping in children; lower extremity edema; lower gastrointestinal bleeding; major depressive disorder and other mood disorders; male genitourinary conditions; menstrual cycle irregularity; migraine and other headache syndromes; movement disorders; musculoskeletal injuries; obesity; obstructive sleep apnea; opioid use disorder and chronic pain management; osteoporosis; palpitations; pneumonia; postoperative fever; postpartum care; prenatal care; skin lesions; sting and bite injuries; substance use disorder; thyroid disorders; tobacco use and cessation; upper respiratory and ear infections; vaginitis and other vaginal infections; well-child care; wheezing and asthma. 

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3e

By Richard P. Usatine, Mindy A. Smith, E.J. Mayeaux, Jr., & Heidi S. Chumley
ISBN: 9781259862045
Publication Date: 2019

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings. Page after page, the book's precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text. Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. 

New to the 3rd edition:

  • New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues
  • New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter
  • New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques
  • Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies 

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5e

By Jeannette E. South-Paul, Samuel C. Matheny, & Evelyn L. Lewis
ISBN: 9781260134896
Publication Date: 2020

This text is a comprehensive, single source reference for practicing family physicians and trainees delivering primary care in a continuity environment for all patients across the lifespan. The text is organized according to the developmental lifespan beginning with infancy, childhood, and adolescence, including a focus on the reproductive years, and progressing through adulthood and the mature, senior years.

This text has been adapted from one edition to another to incorporate emerging areas that impact individual patients and/or populations and are likely to present in a primary care setting. Areas such as immunization updates, genetics in primary care, pharmacogenomics, and telemedicine are presented, as well as current approaches and treatments for the usual chronic diseases such as hypertension and diabetes mellitus.

Outstanding features of the fifth edition include evidence-based recommendations; complementary and alternative therapies; attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients; recognition of the impact of illness on the family; patient education information; end-of-life issues.

Fracture Management for Primary Care and Emergency Medicine, 4e

By M. P. Eiff
ISBN: 9780323496346
Publication Date: 2020

This text is a practical, user-friendly book that helps clinicians manage their patients who have fractures. It takes a systematic approach to each fracture that enables you to find the information you need quickly, including what to look for, what to do in the acute setting, when to refer, and how to manage the fracture long term. The many high-quality radiographs and illustrations help clinicians properly identify those fractures that can be managed by primary care providers and those that need to be referred.

The fourth edition builds on the primary care aspects of the third edition, while bringing an emergency medicine perspective to each chapter. New content includes: emergency considerations; timing of referrals and consultations; emergent care; point-of-care ultrasound; sedation and analgesia including procedural sedation; fracture/dislocation reduction techniques; and reassessment before discharge from the emergency department or clinic. The online book also includes videos covering techniques for splinting and reducing dislocations.

Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients, 2e

By Talmadge E. King & Margaret B. Wheeler
ISBN: 9780071834018
Publication Date: 2016

The purpose of this book is to offer the theoretical background and practical knowledge required to teach clinicians to care for vulnerable, underserved patients both at the individual and system levels. This text provides both an appreciation of the need to address inequities at multiple levels and practical suggestions for how to improve the care of vulnerable populations. It aims to "enable" health-care workers, students, and other interested parties to contribute to the solution. It focuses on issues of patient care that are common among underserved patients and suggest ways to use our materials as teaching tools for health professions trainees in both didactic and clinical settings.

This text is appropriate for students, residents and practitioners (medical students, nurses, pharmacists, physician's assistants, public health, and other health-care practitioners) both in clinical, community, or social medicine classes and in practical experiences, including, but not limited to, primary care rotations and clerkships in family medicine, pediatrics, internal medicine, women's medicine, and psychiatry.

The text is organized into three sections: Principles, Practice, and Populations. Chapters in each section discuss ways in which both the individual practitioner and the health-care system may be more responsive to patients with these characteristics to assure they receive accessible, high-quality care, thereby reducing the inequities in health care that are both causes and consequences of vulnerability. The text presents clinical approaches to many issues that complicate caring for socially vulnerable patients. Many chapters feature both Key Concepts and Common Pitfalls, and end with a Core Competency highlighting important concepts and skills for quick and easy referencing.

Pfenninger & Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care, 4e

By Grant C. Fowler
ISBN: 9780323567954
Publication Date: 2020

Primary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler’s Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This fourth edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more. No other primary care procedure book compares with Pfenninger and Fowler’s breadth and depth of practical, step-by-step content!

Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics, 7e

By Gregg A. Warshaw et al.
ISBN:  0323721680
Publication Date: 2022

This text is useful to any health professional who provides primary care services to older patients. All the chapters in the seventh edition have been updated to current evidenced-based practice. Topics included in the expanded content are integrative medicine, opioid management, gastroenterology, and care of older lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender adults.

An outline of the basic format of the book follows:

  • Three units: Principles and Practice; Geriatric Syndromes and Common Special Problems; and Selected Clinical Problems of the Organ Systems.
     
  • Each clinical chapter has core text with the following subheadings to assist readers when using the text for reference: Prevalence and Impact; Risk Factors and Pathophysiology; Differential Diagnosis and Assessment; Management; and Summary.
     
  • In all but a few chapters, cases and case discussions (generally in several numbered parts and set in a font that differs from that used in the core text) are interspersed within the text at appropriate points. Although the case and its discussion illustrate the text and show the text “in action,” the text itself stands alone. With few exceptions, all the core information—as in a conventional textbook—is in the text itself.

Textbook of Family Medicine, 9e

By Robert E. Rakel
ISBN: 9780323239905
Publication Date: 2016

This text is designed to be a resource for family physicians to help them remain current with advances in medicine. It is especially valuable to those preparing for certification or recertification by the American Board of Family Medicine. The clinical chapters combine a family physician with an authority in the field to ensure that the material is current and relevant to the needs of the family physician. This edition continues an evidence-based approach, giving the Strength of Recommendation (SOR) taxonomy in the Key Treatment boxes, focusing on Grade A recommendations. More than 1000 tables and color illustrations facilitate the rapid retrieval of essential information and are used to present in-depth data conveniently. Although this text focuses on problems most frequently encountered in the primary care setting, significant attention is also given to potentially serious problems that would be dangerous if missed.

Family Medicine Learning Tools

US Preventive Services

Special Topics eBooks

Essential Orthopaedics, 2e

By Mark D. Miller, Jennifer A. Hart, & John M. MacKnight
ISBN: 9780323567046
Publication Date: 2020

This text is designed to be a user-friendly reference to assist primary care physicians, physician's assistants, nurse practitioners, physical therapists, and athletic trainers. This new edition brings updates, such as ICD-10-CM codes for the most common orthopaedic conditions, current concept updates, new composite figures, and even some new chapters to highlight the changes in the field. Within each specific topic chapter you will find a consistent format designed to aid efficiency in finding the information that you need as quickly as possible. Initial sections are devoted to a number of general topics important to orthopaedic care. A review of orthopaedic anatomy and terminology is followed by information on the nuances of radiologic evaluation of orthopaedic conditions. Subsequent chapters are dedicated to such vital topics as pharmacology, impairment and disability, and principles of rehabilitation. Additional chapters are dedicated to special populations and conditions such as the obese, elderly, pediatric, and female and pregnant patients, and those with multiple comorbid conditions, arthritides, and trauma. The remainder of the text is divided into major anatomic groups: shoulder, elbow, wrist/hand, spine, pelvis/hip, knee and lower leg, and ankle and foot, with a special section dedicated to pediatrics. Each section begins with an anatomic graphic that will direct you to likely diagnoses based on the location of the patient's symptoms or findings. The following pages include a review of regional anatomy, pertinent history that is characteristic for each anatomic area, a review of specific physical examination techniques, and practical management of imaging strategies.

Integrative Medicine, 4e

By David Rakel
ISBN: 9780323358682
Publication Date: 2018

Stay on the cutting edge of today's most promising trends in complementary and alternative medical treatments with Dr. David Rakel's Integrative Medicine, 4th Edition. Written by physicians who are experts in both traditional and integrative medicine, this highly regarded, evidence-based reference covers therapies such as botanicals, supplements, mind-body, lifestyle choices, nutrition, exercise, spirituality, and more. Integrative Medicine, 4th Edition uses a clinical, disease-oriented approach, offering practical guidance for reducing costs and improving patient care. Helps you safely and effectively incorporate complementary and alternative therapies into your everyday practice, while focusing on prevention and wellness for a better quality of life. Uses the reliable SORT method (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) to provide evidence-based ratings, grading both the evidence and the relative potential harm. Explains how to make the best use of integrative medicine and the mechanisms by which these therapeutic modalities work, keeping you at the forefront of the trend toward integrative health care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Includes 13 brand-new chapters, covering hot topics such as personalized medicine, MTHFR mutation, food allergy and intolerance, the gut-immune influence on systemic inflammation and disease, chelation therapy, testosterone deficiency, adrenal fatigue, and much more. Features more than 100 significantly revised chapters and hundreds of new figures and tables throughout. Provides online access to new multiple-choice questions for every chapter, perfect for board exam review - plus downloadable Patient Education Guides and video collections.

Management of Cancer in the Older Patient

By Richard P. Usatine, Patricia Ganz, Arash Naeim, & David Reuben
ISBN: 9781455723133
Publication Date: 2012

This text offers the help you need to effectively diagnose, refer, and manage cancer in geriatric patients. You'll see how to provide effective cancer screening; refer your patients to the right oncologist; deal with comorbidities, frailties, and other complications; navigate end-of-life issues; and much more. A templated, user-friendly format makes it easy to find and apply the answers you need. See how to best manage geriatric cancer patients with help from leading specialists in both geriatrics and oncology Make informed decisions as to when to refer patients to specialists. Provide the supportive care your patients and their families need on issues such as such as mental health, pain, fatigue, nausea, insomnia. Be prepared to help cancer survivors navigate their after-treatment care including adjuvant therapy, side effects, second cancers, quality of life, and other concerns. Offer accurate guidance on ethical issues like competency, end of life, hospice, the role of the caregiver, and more.

Urgent Care Dermatology: Symptom-Based Diagnosis

By James E. Fitzpatrick, Whitney A. High, & Lamar Kyle
ISBN: 9780323485531
Publication Date: 2018

This text helps you quickly identify skin conditions and provide necessary treatment at the point of care. Concise, to-the-point text is highlighted by more than 1,000 high-quality photographs – all conveniently organized by lesion appearance – making this resource ideal for first-line clinicians to quickly identify and treat dermatologic conditions.

Organizations & Associations