Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Clerkships

Faculty Recommended eBooks

Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, 11e

By Allan H. Ropper, Martin A. Samuels, Joshua P. Klein, & Sashank Prasad
ISBN: 9780071842617
Publication Date: 2019

The definitive text on the full spectrum of neurology presented in full color and better than ever! Long considered the field's gold-standard text, it provides the very latest treatment and management strategies needed to confidently handle both common and rare neurologic conditions. Presented in full color, this classic resource meets the needs of the seasoned professional or the aspiring clinician, and has been hailed as the most detailed, thorough, and authoritative text on the subject. The latest scientific research is included in just the right amount of detail to serve as a clinical reference or a starting point for additional learning. The text is logically divided into six sections: The Clinical Method of Neurology; Cardinal Manifestations of Neurologic Disease; Growth and Development of the Nervous System in the Neurology of Aging; Major Categories of Neurologic Diseases; Diseases of the Spinal Cord, Peripheral Nerve, and Muscle; and Psychiatric Disorders.

Localization in Clinical Neurology, 7e

By Paul W. Brazis, Joseph C. Masdeu, & José Biller
ISBN: 9781496319128 
Publication Date: 2017

The seventh edition of this text is again directed at “frontline” clinicians caring for patients with neurologic disease processes who are confronted with the “Where is it?” of neurologic disorders. Much new material has been added reflecting multiple additions to the neurologic literature concerning neuroanatomy and principles of neurologic localization. There is still no substitute for an accurate neurologic history and examination to focalize appropriate neuroimaging and electrophysiologic studies to diagnose neurologic problems.

Pocket Neurology, 2e

By M. Brandon Westover, Emily Choi DeCroos, Karim Awad, & Matt T. Bianch
ISBN: 9781496305534 
Publication Date: 2016

Written by residents for residents, this text is your go-to resource for essential neurologic information in a high-yield, easy-to-use format. Concise and well organized, it provides must-know information on hospital- and clinic-based neurologic workup, diagnosis, and management. Find what you need quickly and easily with concise text, numerous tables, and bulleted lists throughout. Progress logically from neurologic signs and symptoms to differential diagnosis, workup and diagnosis, assessment of risks and benefits of available treatments, to treatment and prognosis. Stay up to date in every area of neurology with significantly revised chapters on stroke, epilepsy, dementia, and MS, and more drug dosing information regarding inpatient care. Consult this high-yield handbook by clinical presentation, such as coma, stroke, headaches, and seizures, or by special topic, such as neuroimaging, behavioral neurology, and sleep medicine.

Practical Neurology, 5e

By José Biller
ISBN: 9781496326959
Publication Date: 2017

This book is a complement to core neurology texts, providing easy access to the clinically relevant information. Organized in a reader-friendly outline format with straightforward, templated chapters, this edition contains new chapters that highlight recent advances in neurotherapeutics and clinical neurosciences, 82 new clinical videos, and fully updated content throughout.

Clinical Neurology eBooks

Atlas of Clinical Neurology, 4e

By Roger N. Rosenberg
ISBN: 9783030032814
Publication Date: 2019

This atlas is an indispensable guide to the field of neurology, featuring the most clinically essential images and figures. Chapters offer insight and research written by deeply practiced, knowledgeable neurologists that is supplemented with detailed imagery, tables, algorithms, and delineative drawings. Topics covered include developmental and genetic diseases, neuroendocrine disorders, critical care neurology, cerebrovascular disease, dementias, behavioral neurology, neuro-oncology, movement disorders, epilepsy, neuromuscular diseases, infectious diseases, neuroimmunology, neurotoxic disorders, and headache. The authors also delve into specific issues currently prevalent in neuroscientific research, including Alzheimer’s disease, dementia, Machado-Joseph disease, Huntington’s disease, and brain scanning with PET and fMRI. The Atlas of Clinical Neurology, 4th Editionserves as a comprehensive and premier visual resource for neurologists.

Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice, 8e

By Joseph Jankovic, John C. Mazziotta, Scott L. Pomeroy, Nancy J. Newman, & Walter G. Bradley
ISBN: 0323642616
Publication Date: 2022

From the very beginning, Neurology in Clinical Practice has served as a textbook of neurology that comprehensively covers the clinical neurosciences and provides, not only a description of neurological diseases and their pathophysiology, but also a practical approach to their diagnosis and management. Accordingly, the eighth edition of Neurology in Clinical Practice is the comprehensive and most authoritative presentation of both the art and the science of neurology. New chapters have been added covering ocular functional and structural investigations, cerebral palsy and palliative and end of life care, and chapters have been reorganized and consolidated.

Clinical Cases in Neurology

By Ondrej Dolezal
ISBN: 9783030166274
Publication Date: 2019

This text provides 25 neurological case studies, consisting of reviews of MRI scans, short answer questions and follow-up stories, as a means for practicing and improving diagnostic skills. 

Clinical Neuroanatomy, 29e

By Stephen G. Waxman
ISBN: 9781260452358
Publication Date: 2020

This text provides an accessible, easy-to-remember synopsis of neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical implications. It was designed to provide a clear, manageable, and concise overview for busy medical students and residents, trainees in health-related fields, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows, and practicing clinicians.

Clinical Neurology, 10e

By Roger P. Simon, Michael J. Aminoff, & David A. Greenberg
ISBN: 9781259861727
Publication Date: 2018

This text provides core didactic material relating to the function of the nervous system in health and disease, as well as new and evolving diagnostic and therapeutic material. 

Netter's Neurology, 3e

By Jayashri Srinivasan, Claudia J. Chaves, Brian J. Scott, & Juan E. Small
ISBN: 9780323554763
Publication Date: 2020

This text provides the best of an atlas, an anthology of clinical cases, & an important basic introduction to requisite information needed to diagnose & initiate treatment of various neurologic and neuromuscular disorders. Includes case vignettes and illustrations. 

Neurology Secrets, 6e

By Joseph S. Kass & Eli M. Mizrahi
ISBN: 9780323359418
Publication Date: 2017

This text provides an up-to-date, concise overview of the most important topic in neurology today. It functions as both a comprehensive introduction for medical students, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners, as well as a reference guide for residents and practitioners. 

Pediatric Neurology eBooks

Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology: A Signs and Symptoms Approach, 8e

By J. Eric Piña-Garza & Kaitlin C. James
ISBN: 9780323485289
Publication Date: 2019

This text provides a solid foundation in the diagnosis and management of primary neurologic disorders of childhood, while bringing you fully up to date with recent developments in the field. It offers step-by-step, authoritative guidance that considers each presenting symptom in terms of differential diagnosis and treatment, reflecting real-life patient evaluation and management. Perfect for board exam preparation, office use, or residency reference, this well-organized, revised edition is an ideal introduction to this complex and fast-changing field.

Swaiman's Pediatric Neurology: Principles & Practice, 6e

By Kenneth F. Swaiman, Stephen Ashwal, Donna M. Ferriero, Nina F. Schor, Richard S. Finkel, Andrea L. Gropman, Phillip L. Pearl, & Michael I. Shevell
ISBN: 9780323374828
Publication Date: 2018

This text has long been the reference choice for authoritative guidance in pediatric neurology. The 6th edition continues this tradition of excellence with thorough revisions that bring you fully up-to-date will new topics in the field. Includes 5 new sections, 62 new chapters, and a new layout. It is a comprehensive and clearly-written resource for the experienced clinician as well as the physician-in-training.

Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn, 6e

By Joseph J. Volpe, Terrie E. Inder, Basil T. Darras, Linda S. de Vries, Adre J. du Plessis, Jeffrey J. Neil, & Jeffrey M. Perlman
ISBN: 9780323428767
Publication Date: 2018

A clear, engaging writing style, hundreds of full-color images, and new information throughout make Volpe’s Neurology of the Newborn, 6th Edition, an indispensable resource for those who provide care for neonates with neurological conditions. World authority Dr. Joseph Volpe, along with Dr. Terrie E. Inder and other distinguished editors, continue the unparalleled clarity and guidance you’ve come to expect from the leading reference in the field – keeping you up to date with today’s latest advances in diagnosis and management, as well as the many scientific and technological advances that are revolutionizing neonatal neurology.

Clinical Child Neurology

By Mustafa A. M. Salih
ISBN: 9783319431529
Publication Date: 2020

This text adopts a problem-based approach to childhood disorders of the nervous system with the aim of supporting practicing child neurologists, pediatricians, and residents in training in their management of children with neurological disorders. Throughout, the practical assistance that it offers is based firmly on the best available current scientific evidence. The various pediatric neurologic diseases and organ systems are covered by pediatric neurologists and scientists from leading university hospitals and health centers in both the developed and the developing world. In addition to the full range of more frequent disorders, the book spans the neurological aspects of neglected tropical diseases and neurogenetic diagnostic and management algorithms utilizing the power of emerging DNA technology.