LibGuides: Jewish Studies: Bible (Tanakh)

Encyclopedias

The Anchor Bible dictionary by David Noel Freedman
Call Number: 220.3 AN21
ISBN: 0385193602
Publication Date: 1992
6 volumes. "A major undertaking and it has been admirably executed. A wide range of scholars has contributed impressive and important articles [...] In general all contributors seem to have produced judicious and well-balanced essays. Even writers known to be partisan have written fair assessments of the state of a question [...] a fresh, innovative and authoritative compilation that will serve as a reference book for years ahead" (from the Novum Testamentum review by J. K. Elliott). See also the Journal of Biblical Literature review by Walter Harrelson, the Choice review by K. Moll, and the Christian Century review by Robert L. Brawley and Edward E Campbell.
The HarperCollins Bible dictionary by Paul J. Achtemeier
Call Number: 220.3 H231
ISBN: 0060600373
Publication Date: 1996
"The articles contained in the dictionary are useful, relevant, and up-to-date [...] The language is generally nontechnical, and the content accessible to nonspecialists [...] the best comprehensive one-volume Bible dictionary on the market, and is sometimes superior to much larger (and more expensive) dictionaries on minor topics" (from the Review of Biblical Literature review by D. Rudman).
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by Bruce M. Metzger (Editor); Michael David Coogan (Editor)
Call Number: 220 ONLINE
ISBN: 0195046455
Publication Date: 1993
Online version of the 1 volume original. Concise, signed entries. No bibliographies. "By and large, the inquisitive laypersons to whom this book is directed should find it both informative and entertaining. Most readers will consult it for information about biblical books, characters, places, institutions, and themes, and the Companion supplies such information in abundance. Scholars will naturally find errors of omission, commission, and interpretation in their areas of specialization, but will have to acknowledge that most of the articles are judicious and reliable" (from the Journal of the American Oriental Society review by Alan Cooper). See also the South Atlantic Review review by James M. Kee, the Vetus Testamentum review by Katharine J. Dell, and the Novum Testamentum review by J. K. Elliott.
The Oxford guide to ideas & issues of the Bible by Bruce M. Metzger, and Michael D. Coogan
Call Number: 220.3 Ox26
ISBN: 0195149173
Publication Date: 2001
"Articles are concerned with the biblical evidence and perhaps even more so with the Bible's contribution to the modem world and present discussions [...] emphasis is less on what the Bible has to say of its own accord, and more on what has been done with it and can be done with it today. An emphasis is placed on how scholars, churches and others have interpreted biblical traditions. In addition, it contains articles on all kinds of issues surrounding the Bible, its transmission, present function and significance for the present day" (from the Religion & Theology review by Christoph W. Stenschke).
Harper's Bible dictionary by Paul J. Achtemeier
Call Number: 220.3 H234
ISBN: 0060698632
Publication Date: 1985
"179 members of the Society of Biblical Literature have collaborated to produce what may be the best single-volume bible dictionary currently available. Estimations of the worth
and utility of Bible dictionaries are apt to vary considerably, depending on the orientation of the reader or reviewer, and there are dictionaries with conservative constituencies and those that appeal to liberals. However, it is unlikely that another 1-volume Bible dictionary will soon come along that rivals Harper's Bible Dictionary in the undeniable authority of its scholarship and in its broad appeal to religious liberals and conservatives alike" (from the Journal of the American Academy of Religion review by Stephen E. Robinson). See also the Journal of the American Oriental Society review by David Marcus, the Journal of Biblical Literature review by M. de Jonge, and the Journal of religion review by John S. Hanson.
Eerdmans dictionary of the Bible by David Noel Freedman
Call Number: 220.3 Ee72
ISBN: 0802824005
Publication Date: 2000
"Nearly 5,000 articles in this significant new reference book [...] The book is well laid out and contains illustrations, maps and archaeological charts. Many of the entries have bibliographies to suggest further reading. The standard of scholarship is high and ensures that the information is up-to-date. The contributors draw on the latest scholarship and discoveries in archaeology, as well as insights from literary, historical and sociological approaches" (from the Vetus Testamentum review by P. J. Harland). See also the Journal of Semitic Studies review by George J. Brooke, the Evangelical Quarterly review by Paul Ellingworth, the Heythrop Journal review by Richard Briggs, the Review of Biblical Literature review by N. Clayton Croy, the other Review of Biblical Literature review by A.H. Konkel, the Novum Testamentum review by J.K. Elliott, the Concordia Journal review by Reed Lessing, the Scottish Journal of Theology review by Simon J. Gathercole, the Bibliotheca Sacra review by Matthew S. DeMoss, and the Review & Expositor review by David M. May.
Dictionary of Judaism in the biblical period : 450 B.C.E. to 600 C.E. by Jacob Neusner
Call Number: Q. 296.0901 D561
ISBN: 0028972880
Publication Date: 1996
2 volumes. "it will prove an invaluable tool for scholars and students, especially in regard with the early Rabbinic Judaism. From that point of view and for many other aspects of Biblical Judaism in general, the Dictionary will be an indispensable complement to the existing biblical dictionaries" (from the Biblical Archaeologist review by Paul-Hubert Poirier). See also the Expository Times review by Paul Foster, the Journal of Theological Studies review by C.T.R. Hayward, the Reviews in Religion & Theology review by Gerard Norton, and the Choice review by D. Kranzler.
Dictionary of deities and demons in the Bible by Karel van der Toorn, Bob Becking, and Pieter W. van der Horst
Call Number: 220.3 D5612 1999
ISBN: 0802824919
Publication Date: 1999
"This superb volume is as valuable to scholars of the entire ancient Near East as it is to those more narrowly focused on the Bible" (from the Journal of Near Eastern Studies review by Robert D. Biggs). See also the Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research review by Gary A. Rendsburg, the Journal of the American Oriental Society review by Jack M. Sasson, the Jewish Quarterly Review review by Victor Avigdor Hurowitz, and the Journal of Biblical Literature review by Bart D. Ehrman.
The Zondervan pictorial encyclopedia of the Bible by Merrill C. Tenney
Call Number: 220.3 Z76
Publication Date: 1975
5 volumes. "Runs to just under 5,000 pages of text, interspersed with many illustrations in black and white and accompanied by colored plates in each volume and also a set of Rand McNally maps in the final volume. Among the illustrations special mention must be accorded to the quite superb set of 71 photos in color of Biblical coins" (from the Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society review by I. Howard Marshall).
The Interpreter's dictionary of the Bible : an illustrated encyclopedia identifying and explaining all proper names and significant terms and subjects in the Holy Scriptures, including the Aprocrypha... by George Arthur Buttrick
Call Number: 220.3 IN82
Publication Date: 1962
4 volumes. "This dictionary has only to a limited extent made a break with the planning conceptions of the dictionaries of fifty years ago. The writing of the individual articles, however, shows many signs of wholesome development beyond earlier scholarly fashions: greater flexibility, the use of literary criticism without being imprisoned in it, an adequate sense of self-criticism in many directions [...] this is a work everyone is going to be using, and using with gratitude, for the next generation" (from the Journal of Biblical Literature review by James Barr). See also the Journal of Bible and Religion review by Shemaryahu Talmon.
Illustrated dictionary and concordance of the Bible by Geoffrey Wigoder
Call Number: Q. 220.3 IL6
ISBN: 0029163803
Publication Date: 1986
"Author has kept the text to a single column, has used quite large type, and has selected a type of paper that enhances color photographs, maps, and illustrations [...] no other Bible dictionary has more maps and photographs of the countries and the topography of the Bible [...] treatment of the archaeological material is superb. Not everyone will agree with some of the views and conclusions, but everyone will benefit from the profuse illustrations, from the careful presentations of the evidence and from the emerging picture of how richly archaeological finds do illustrate, and help to make comprehensible, the Biblical record" (from the Biblical Archaeology Review review by Walter Harrelson).
Theological dictionary of the Old Testament by G. Johannes Botterweck and Helmer Ringgren
Call Number: 221.3 B65tEw
Publication Date: 1974
"Unabridged translation of the Theologisches Worterbuch zum Alten Testament [...] continues to be a most valuable resource for the study of Hebrew Scripture. On the first page of the Editors' Preface in vol. 1 of the series, it is stated that the purpose of TDOT is to analyze the Hebrew Bible's 'religious statements with the aid of all accessible resources and to present them in their peculiarity, in order to shed as much light as possible on the connections of the content of Old Testament thought in a given text, tradition, or institution.' This is an ambitious undertaking, to be sure, and the editors and contributors are to be congratulated for the significant achievement in that regard which this series represents" (from the Journal of Biblical Literature review by Robert J. V. Hiebert ). See also the Journal of the American Academy of Religion review by Gene M. Tucker.
The Oxford handbook of biblical studies by J.W. Rogerson and Judith M. Lieu
Call Number: 220.6 Ox22
ISBN: 0199254257
Publication Date: 2006
"The range is impressive and embraces a number of ancillary disciplines, such as Egyptology, rhetorical criticism, and 'Jewish Interpretation of the Bible' [...] all readers, however expert in their own areas, will find at least some parts of it helpful" (from the Journal of Theological Studies review by A.E. Harvey). See also the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament revew by H. Kraus, the Journal for the Study of the New Testament review by Angus Paddison, and the Modern Believing review by Hywel Clifford.

Atlases

For a good overview of the available resources, see the review article "Bible Atlases: Which Ones are the Best?" in the Biblical Archaeologist.

Oxford Bible atlas by Adrian Curtis
Call Number: 220.91 M45o 2007
ISBN: 0191001589
Publication Date: 2007
"Orients to land, history, and critical reading, and serves as a ready reference. Scholarly, accessible content, quality maps and photos, uncluttered format, and flat, sturdy binding create a resource that can be trusted" (from the Choice review by F. R. Ames).
The sacred bridge : Carta’s atlas of the Biblical world by Anson F. Rainey and R. Steven Notley
Call Number: Q. 220.9 R135s
ISBN: 965220529X
Publication Date: 2006
"Presented as the successor to The Macmillan Bible Atlas [...] The breadth of learning and the range of scholarly literature cited in the References is indeed impressive. The many excursus sections in particular provide most helpful summaries of well-known problems of biblical history and geography. The colour-coded citation of texts in the original language, with transliteration and translation where required, the full provision of source references, and the presentation of toponyms in both Arabic and Hebrew forms for the sake of clarity, demonstrate the effort put into the project by authors, editors and publishers alike" (from the Bulletin of the Anglo-Israel Archaeological Society review by John R. Bartlett).
Tübinger Bibelatlas : auf der Grundlage des Tübinger Atlas des Vorderen Orients (TAVO) = Tübingen Bible atlas : based on the Tübingen atlas of the Near and Middle East by Siegfried Mittmann and Götz Schmitt
Call Number: F. 220.91 T79
ISBN: 3438060221
Publication Date: 2001
"A selection of the 27 maps most relevant for Biblical studies from the magesterial Tübinger Atlas des Vorderen Orients [...] The maps are of the best quality in design, preciseness, print and paper quality the present reviewer has ever come across in a Bible atlas [...] a brilliant tool for intensive detailed study, not for quick reference!" (from the Religion & Theology review by Christoph W. Stenschke). See also the Zeitschrift für Antikes Christentum review by Achim Lichtenberger, and the Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society review by Carl G. Rasmussen.
The Macmillan Bible atlas by Yohanan Aharoni and Michael Avi-Yonah
Call Number: Q. 220.91 AH1M 1993
ISBN: 0025006053
Publication Date: 1993
"Since its original publication in 1968, this work has been rightly recognized as a standard reference tool in the realm of biblical geography. An insightful and eminently readable text surrounds some 264 two-color maps of Canaan and adjacent lands from early antiquity through the second century of the Common Era. They are punctuated with more than 135 graphics, a chronological timeline, and various indexes" (from the Biblical Archaeologist review by Barry J. Beitzel).
The essential atlas of the Bible by David Girling
Call Number: Q. 220.95 Es74
ISBN: 0281052751
Publication Date: 1999
"Lavishly produced, large format visualisation of the principal events of the Bible, with double-page spreads that interpret topics from the Creation through Old Testament history [...] Many of the maps are three-dimensional 'relief' pictures. There are also many reconstructions of significant buildings (especially the various temples in Jerusalem) and a profusion of other illustrations" (from the Times Educational Supplement review by David Self).
Holman Bible Atlas by Thomas C. Brisco
Call Number: Q. 220.91 B774h
ISBN: 1558197095
Publication Date: 1997
See the Master's Seminary Journal review by Keith Essex.

Factbooks

For a good overview of the available resources, see the review article "The Use and Abuse of Archaeology in Current Bible Handbooks" in The Biblical Archaeologist.

Almanac of the Bible by Geoffrey Wigoder
Call Number: 220.0202 W661A I-SHARE
ISBN: 0130268992
Publication Date: 1991
"A valuable reference work [...] Data is sorted out between 6 large categories: the ancient Near East (peoples, religion, and languages); the world of the Bible (geography, chronology, weights and measures, animals and plants); the Old Testament; the intertestamental period; the New Testament and early Church; and the Bible in civilization [...] names of the editors assure impartial, accurate scholarship" (from the Bible Today review).

Biographies

Who’s who in the ancient Near East by Gwendolyn Leick
Call Number: 939.40099 L532w
ISBN: 0415132312
Publication Date: 1999
"Brief material on the lives and contributions of a great many people of the ancient Near East, not only rulers but scribes, exorcists, and businessmen [...] There tends to be emphasis on
ancient Mesopotamia [...] has the advantage of making accessible in English a good deal of information culled from sources in a number of languages" (from the Journal of Near Eastern Studies review by Robert D. Briggs). See also the Vetus Testamentum review by Robert P. Gordon.
Who’s who in the Bible by Peter Calvocoressi
Call Number: 220.922 C139W 1988
ISBN: 0140512128
Publication Date: 1988
"Profiles, ranging in length from a sentence to several pages, of some 450 biblical characters. It is unusual in discussing the literature, visual arts, and music associated with many of these characters" (from the Library Journal review by Richard S. Watts).
Who's who in the Jewish Bible by David Mandel
ISBN: 0827608632
Publication Date: 2007
"An exhaustive biographical dictionary of 3,000 personalities from the Hebrew Bible [...] based exclusively on information contained in the Bible itself [...] the work does not take a theological approach and is 'based on a literal reading of the text'" (from the Choice review by L. E. Jorbin).
Who's who in the Bible by Joan Comay
Call Number: 220.922 W62 1980
ISBN: 051732170X
Publication Date: 1980
"Summary biographies for some 3,000 Old Testament figures. A separate section treats personages of the deuterocanonical (apocryphal) books. A brief introduction to the Old Testament along with chronological charts is also provided" (from Old Testament Abstracts by Christopher T. Begg).
Men and women of the Bible : a readers guide by Nancy M. Tischler
Call Number: 220.92 T523m
ISBN: 0313317143
Publication Date: 2002
"Descriptive catalogue of 100 biblical characters arranged alphabetically [...] each entry contains brief discussion of the name and its possible etymology, a synopsis of the biblical material (read as literature) in which the individual occurs, a brief description of the historical context and some of the archaeological evidence which might illuminate some features of the Biblical narrative" (from the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by G.J. Brooke). See also the Booklist review.
Historical dictionary of prophets in Islam and Judaism by Scott B. Noegel and Brannon M. Wheeler
Call Number: 296.0922 N68h
ISBN: 0810843056
Publication Date: 2002
"The central portion of the work, the dictionary, is sandwiched between a comprehensive introductory chapter on the history of prophecy in the Near East and nineteen extensive bibliographies on a variety of topics [...] The major section of the book consists of an alphabetically arranged list of prophets, major as well as minor, each with a brief description/identification made up of relevant information taken from biblical, Qurªanic, and later Jewish and Islamic traditions" (from the Journal of Near Eastern Studies review by Shari L. Lowin). See also the Journal of Semitic Studies review by Josef Meri, the Journal of the American Oriental Society review by Victor H. Matthews, and the Review of Biblical Literature review by Aaron Hughes.
Prophecy and the prophets of the Old Testament by John F.A. Sawyer
Call Number: 224.06 SA97P
ISBN: 0192132504
Publication Date: 1987
"Written for a general readership. The author first goes into general aspects of prophecy: the phenomenon of prophecy, types of prophetic literature, and the message of the prophets. Then, he systematically surveys the prophets from Moses to Malachi in the biblical (Christian) sequence [...] Although of necessity selective and compact, the book masterly expounds the most important issues concerning prophecy (from the Journal for the Study of Judaism in the Persian, Hellenistic and Roman Period review by Eibert Tigchelaar). See also the Expository Times review by Cyril Rodd).
All the Men of the Bible: A Portrait Gallery and Reference Library of More than 3000 Biblical Characters by Herbert Lockyer
Call Number: 220.92 L81A
Publication Date: 1958
See also All of the women of the Bible (1955) by Edith Deen.
Women in scripture : a dictionary of named and unnamed women in the Hebrew Bible, the Apocryphal / Deuterocanonical books, and the New Testament by Carol Meyers
Call Number: 220.92082 W842
ISBN: 0395709369
Publication Date: 2000
"This massive volume provides us with a thorough and comprehensive list of named and unnamed women in the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Deuterocanonical and Apocryphal literature. The entries on each woman have been written by leading scholars in these respective fields, and though brief, they provide solid information as well as additional sources for further reading" (from the Hebrew Studies Journal review by Esther Fuchs). See also the Nashim review by George Savran, the Catholic Biblical Quarterly review by Hagith Sivan, the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by Janet Tollington, the Concordia Journal review by Timothy Maschke, and the Vetus Testamentum review by Katharine J. Dell.

Introductory Works

Essential Torah : a complete guide to the five books of Moses by George Robinson
Call Number: 222.1061 R562e
ISBN: 0805241868
Publication Date: 2006
"Packs an amazing amount of information into 1 volume [...] While there is no index, the book does contain a timeline, glossaries, and bibliographic references. It is versatile enough to be used as a ready-reference book or to be read straight through [...] author does a good job discussing historically divisive topics in an inclusive and objective way" (from the Association of Jewish Libraries Newsletter review by Suzanne Smailes). See also the Library Journal review by David B. Levy, and the Publishers Weekly review.
Introducing the Old Testament by R.J. Coggins
Call Number: 221.61 C656i2001
ISBN: 0198700636
Publication Date: 2001
"Rather than treating individual books in the manner of a conventional introduction, it describes and evaluates the different methods by which scholars seek to understand the O.T. (textual and historical criticism, archaeology, sociology, anthropology, liberation theology, women's studies, and the new literary criticism), while the two concluding chapters deal more synthetically with religion and theology. No prior knowledge is assumed" (from the Vetus Testamentum review by H. G. M. Williamson).
Introduction to the Hebrew Bible by John J. Collins
Call Number: 221.6 C712
ISBN: 0800629914
Publication Date: 2004
"Both teachers and students at the undergraduate and graduate levels will benefit from the author's well-organized research [...] will be an excellent resource, either as a sole classroom text, or as supplementary material" (from the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by Elizabeth Hayes). See also the Catholic Biblical Quarterly review by Philip R. Davies.
An Introduction to the Bible by J.W. Rogerson
Call Number: 220.61 R633i 2005
ISBN: 184553039X
Publication Date: 2005
"Talks about what is meant by the Bible, the many versions of the Bible, how they came to be composed, the events that led to its canonization, how the Bible is studied, and so on. One might think this book is for beginners since it is concerned with basic information. Be that as it may, beginners should at least be familiar with the contents of the Bible before delving into the issues discussed in Rogerson's book. It is more suited for advanced students of the Bible" (from the Teaching Theology & Religion review by Gemma T. Cruz). See also the Journal for the Study of the New Testament review by Anne O'Leary, the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by J. Middlemas, and the Expository Times review by James Harding.
The Bible : landmarks of world literature by Stephen Prickett and Robert Barnes
Call Number: 220.61 P931B
ISBN: 052136759X
Publication Date: 1991
See the Vetus Testamentum review by R.P. Gordon.
The Cambridge companion to the Bible by Bruce Chilton
Call Number: 220.9 C144 2008
ISBN: 0521869978
Publication Date: 2008
"A 1-volume encyclopedia on Jewish and Christian biblical literature. Supplies readers with knowledge of the cultural contexts and main themes of the biblical writings, including the history, languages, and guiding beliefs of the writers and their audiences [...] makes excellent use of maps, illustrations, color plates, and offset boxes for definitions and special descriptions" (from the Choice review of the 1st ed. by P. K. Moser). See also the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by C.H. Knights, and the Contemporary Review review of the 2d ed.
The Old Testament : a historical and literary introduction to the Hebrew scriptures by Michael D. Coogan
Call Number: 221.61 C77o
ISBN: 0195139119
Publication Date: 2006
"A very attractive and readable introduction to the OT [...] Its manner of presentation, with lots of illustrations (both black-and-white as well
as coloured), subheadings, boxes, questions for review, fairly brief bibliographies,and so on, makes it ideal for use as a student textbook" (from the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by J. Day). See also the Heythrop Journal review by Robert C. Hill, and the Vetus testamentum review by Carmel McCarthy.
Understanding the Hebrew Bible : a reader's guide by Elliott Rabin
Call Number: 221.6 R113u
ISBN: 0881258717
Publication Date: 2006
"Intended primarily for the uninitiated in the reading of the Hebrew Bible, and those with limited understanding of its complexities [...] author organizes his presentation around 6 genres of biblical literature: Storytelling, Law, History in the Bible, History of the Bible, Prophecy, Wisdom, and Poetry" (from the Jewish Bible Quarterly review by Dan Vogel). See also the Choice review by H. M. Szpek, and the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by G.J. Brooke.
The Old testament : a brief introduction by Christoph Levin
Call Number: 221.61 L578a:E
ISBN: 0691113947
Publication Date: 2005
"This crisp, concise, and lucid introduction to the Old Testament reveals the shape and development of its canon, as well as the editorial history underlying its various parts" (from the Library Journal review by David B. Levy).
The Pentateuch : an introduction to the first five books of the Bible by Joseph Blenkinsopp
Call Number: 222.1061 B647P 1992
ISBN: 038541207X
Publication Date: 1992
"Essential reading for all engaged in or informed by critical study of the Hebrew Bible" (from the Journal of Biblical Literature review by W. Lee Humphreys). See also the Journal of Religion review by Ronald S. Hendel.

Interpretation and Commentary

Browsing Tip: For interpretations and exegeses of the Bible (including the Christian New Testament), begin browsing at 220.6; for general Bible commentaries, begin browsing at 220.7. For interpretations and exegeses of the Tanakh, begin browsing at 221.6; for general Tanakh commentaries, begin at 221.7.

Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation by John H. Hayes
Call Number: 220.603 D561
ISBN: 0687055318
Publication Date: 1999
"Editor has gathered a fine team that cuts across geographic, gender, racial, and confessional boundaries. The topics are likewise inclusive [...] All this gives the work not only a more diversity-conscious and inclusive tone, but this will surely also give it a broader appeal" (from the Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research review by J. Edward Wright). See also the Vetus Testamentum review by J. M. Squirrell, the Journal of Biblical Literature review by Larry W. Hurtado, and the Novum Testamentum review by J. K. Elliott.
Handbook of Biblical Criticism by Richard N. Soulen and R. Kendall Soulen
Call Number: 220.6 So8h 2001
ISBN: 0664223141
Publication Date: 2001
"More of a short dictionary than a handbook [...] covers all the major terms in Biblical criticism including much German terminology [...] explanations are balanced, concise, but technically fairly sophisticated" (from the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by E. Harper). See also the Master's Seminary Journal review by Michael A. Grisanti, and the Review and Expositor review by Donald Earl Keeney.
How to Read the Bible : History, Prophecy, Literature-- why Modern Readers Need to Know the Difference, and What It Means for Faith Today by Steven L. McKenzie
Call Number: 220.6 M459h
ISBN: 0195161491
Publication Date: 2005
"An effective and indeed thought-provoking book on how to read biblical literature critically" (from the Reviews in Religion and Theology review by Peter Kalve).
Oxford Bible Commentary by John Barton and John Muddiman
Call Number: 220.7 Ox22
ISBN: 0198755007
Publication Date: 2001
"An international, interfaith group of scholars is responsible for this rich, far-reaching commentary [...] Generous coverage of the full gamut of critical and postcritical approaches to the Bible characterizes the many fine introductory essays, and sensitive attention to theological and literary insights finds ample space in book-by-book commentaries that also do full justice to 'traditional' scholarly concerns relating to history and philology" (from the Choice review by L.J. Greenspoon). See also the Heythrop Journal review by Peter Edmonds, the Religion and Theology review by Christopher Stenschke, the Journal of Theological Studies review by Morna D. Hooker, and the Shofar review by Marvin A. Sweeney.
The HarperCollins Bible Commentary by James L. Mays
Call Number: 220.7 H234 2000
ISBN: 0060655488
Publication Date: 2000
"Despite its brevity, the writers are remarkably in touch with both literary (e.g., redaction) and social (e.g., feminist) criticism, but under the influence of the Society of Biblical Literature, these scholarly approaches are accessible to general readers. Another strength is the use of authors who have written internationally recognized, full-length commentaries on various books" (from the Choice review by S.A. Sanders).
The Torah : A Modern Commentary by W. Gunther Plaut
Call Number: 222.1077 T63
ISBN: 0807408832
Publication Date: 2005
"Each of the 5 books of the Torah has its own introduction and an essay on its place in ancient Near Eastern literature [...] The bulk of the book is the Torah in Hebrew, the English translation in the middle, and notes explaining the meaning of the passages at the bottom of the page [...] written from a Reform Judaism perspective" (from the Library Journal review of the 1st edition).

Special Topic: Qumran Community

Browsing Tip: Begin browsing, on the shelf or in the catalog, at 221.44 and also at 296.155 for Dead Sea Scrolls and the Qumran Community.

See also the Lawrence A. Schiffman article in Religious Studies Review, "New Tools for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls": v.20 (1994), 112-16.

The Dead Sea scrolls on microfiche : a comprehensive facsimile edition of the texts from the Judean Desert by Emanuel Tov
Call Number: MFICHE 296.155 D3405
ISBN: 9004102884
Publication Date: 1993
Includes a Companion volume. See the Dead Sea Discoveries review by Michael A. Knibb, the Vetus Testamentum review by E. D. Herbert and D. K. Falk, the Journal of Biblical Literature review by John J. Collins, and the Journal of the American Oriental Society review by Stephen A. Kaufman.
The Dead Sea scrolls translated : the Qumran texts in English by Florentino García Martínez and Wilfred G. E. Watson
Call Number: 296.155 D344
ISBN: 9004100482
Publication Date: 1994
"The most comprehensive translation of the Dead Sea Scrolls now available [1995], and it should rapidly become a standard textbook. In addition to its comprehensiveness, it has one outstanding feature that sets it apart from all previous translations of the Scrolls. The different fragments of the same documents are translated separately and in full. So, for example, we are not given a single text of the Community Rule with a list of variants, but each fragment is presented individually, while its place in the whole document is noted. This feature makes this translation especially attractive for classroom use, as it enables the student to wrestle with the compositional history of these texts" (from the Journal of Biblical Literature review by John J. Collins). See also the Dead Sea Discoveries review by Joseph M. Baumgarten, the Dead Sea Discoveries review of the 2d edition, by George J. Brooke, the Novum Testamentum review by J. K. Elliott, and the Journal for the Study of the Pseudepigrapha review by James VanderKam,
The complete Dead Sea scrolls in English by Géza Vermès
Call Number: 296.155 D343V
ISBN: 0713991313
Publication Date: 1997
"This work is of greatest value to the general reader and to high school and college teachers using the book for introductory courses. Vermes is widely respected as a scholar and translator. Although several of his renderings have recently been challenged, the general reader can be confident of the competency of his translation [...] the best choice when opting for a single edition" (from the History Teacher review by Joseph Gerics). See also the Dead Sea Discoveries review by John R. Levison, the Journal of Religion review by Michael O. Wise, the Journal of Semitic Studies review by Martin G. Abegg, Jr., the Journal for the Study of the Pseudepigrapha review by James C. VanderKam, the Journal of Jewish Studies review by Sebastian Brock, and the Commentary review by James Kugel.
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls by Lawrence H. Schiffman (Editor); James C. VanderKam (Editor)
Call Number: 296.155 ONLINE
ISBN: 0195084500
Publication Date: 2000
Online version of the 2 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated. "The standard reference on the subject" (from the Choice review by G. Holloway). See also the Journal of Near Eastern Studies review by Dennis Pardee, the Shofar review by David S. Williams, the Journal for the Study of Judaism in the Persian, Hellenistic, and Roman Period review by Eibert Tigchelaar, the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by J. Campbell, the Religious Studies Review review by Sidnie White Crawford, the Journal of Semitic Studies review by Dwight Swanson, and the Vetus Testamentum review by J. M. Squirrell.
The Dead Sea scrolls : a short history by Weston Fields
Call Number: 296.155 F46d
ISBN: 9004157603
Publication Date: 2006
"The book is well-organized and the writing is clear and fluid- the occasionally folksy or journalistic style is especially fitting for the intended audience of "non-specialists". (From the Dead Sea Discoveries review by Robert Holmstedt)
A Bibliography of the Finds in the Desert of Judah, 1970-95: Arranged by Author with Citation and Subject Indexes by Florentino García Martínez; Donald W. Parry
Call Number: 016.296155 G165B
ISBN: 9004105883
Publication Date: 1996
This volume contains a bibliography of the research on the Dead Sea Scrolls published during the last 25 years, and as such it provides scholars with a tool for further research.Although originally planned as a continuation of B. Jongeling's A Classified Bibliography of the Finds of the Desert of Judah 1958-1969, the materials are presented in a different way in order to avoid unnecessary duplication of entries. Each bibliographical entry is alphabetically listed in the first part of the book and is provided with an identification number which allows for multiple classifications. The second part offers a classification of the materials by themes, topics and keywords, but also by manuscript numbers and titles of the compositions as well as by authors.
A Guide to the Dead Sea Scrolls and Related Literature by Joseph A. Fitzmyer
Call Number: 016.2961 F557g
ISBN: 0802862411
Publication Date: 2008
"Encyclopedic in scope, this well-organized, reliable reference work gives greater access to the Dead Sea Scrolls. It can serve as a beginning for those doing research on the Scrolls and their importance for early Judaism and Christianity" (from the Choice review by D. B. Levy).
The Orion Center bibliography of the Dead Sea scrolls by Avital Pinnick
Call Number: 016.296155 P656o 2001
ISBN: 9004123660
Publication Date: 1995-2000
Updated by The Orion Center bibliography of the Dead Sea scrolls and associated literature (2000-2006) by Ruth A. Clements and Nadav Sharon.

Special Topic: Archaeology and History of the Biblical World

The New encyclopedia of archaeological excavations in the Holy Land by Ephraim Stern
Call Number: Q. 933.003 EN87:E
ISBN: 0132762889
Publication Date: 1993
4 vols. "Represents the work of an international body of experts [...] It is an extremely valuable resource that gives access to material remains that provide evidence of the daily lives, including religious observance, of Western Semitic peoples, Jews, Christians, and Muslims over several millennia" (from the History of Religions review by Adela Yarbro Collins). See also the Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research review by Walter E. Rast, the Biblical Archaeologist review by Donald H. Wimmer, the Choice review by M. R. Dittemore, the Restoration Quarterly review by Dale W. Manor, and the Religious Studies Review review by David I. Owen.
Archaeology of the land of the Bible by Amihai Mazar
Call Number: 220.93 M456a
ISBN: 038523970X
Publication Date: 1990-2000
2 vols. "Not since the publication of W. F Albright's The Archaeology of Palestine (last revised in 1960) and of Kathleen Kenyon's Archaeology in the Holy Land (first published in 1960 and only very modestly revised in later editions through 1984) has such a comprehensive and well balanced treatment been available in English" (from the Biblical Archaeologist review by Joe D. Seger). See also the American Journal of Archaeology review by William G. Dever, and the Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research review by Burton MacDonald, the Heythrop Journal review by Robin Duckworth, the Journal of Jewish Studies review by P.R.S. Moorey, the Restoration Quarterly review by Dale W. Manor, the Interpretation review by Andrew Dearman, and the Expository Times review by John Bartlett.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East by Eric M. Meyers (Editor); American Schools of Oriental Research Staff (Compiled by)
Call Number: 939.4 ONLINE
ISBN: 0195065123
Publication Date: 1996
Online version of the 5 volume original. "There are many points in these volumes where the biblical scholar and student of ancient religion might wish for a fuller treatment. But these points are easily overshadowed by the sheer wealth of information that is provided over a huge range of material" (from the Journal of Religion review by John J. Collins). See also the Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research review by Walter E. Aufrecht, the Journal of Biblical Literature review by Baruch Halpern, the Ars Orientalis review by Margaret Cool Root, the Journal of Near Eastern Studies review by Robert D. Biggs, the American Journal of Archaeology review by Norman Yoffee, the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by L.L. Grabbe, and the Restoration Quarterly review by Dale Manor.
The Oxford history of the biblical world by Michael D. Coogan
Call Number: 220.95 Ox2
ISBN: 0195139372
Publication Date: 2001
"As implied in its title, its perspective is wider than the usual biblical histories, yet the reader is neither overwhelmed by detail nor distracted by a lack of focus. This is a significant contribution to the field, and will be very helpful for students of biblical studies, and for others who seek an up to date and comprehensive 'history of the biblical world'" (from the Journal of Religious History review by Joseph Sobb). See also the Review & Expositor review by Terry Eddinger, and the Reviews in Religion & Theology review by Yvonne Sherwood.
A History of Ancient Israel and Judah by J. Maxwell Miller and John H. Hayes
Call Number: 933 M615H
ISBN: 0664223583
Publication Date: 1986
"Students and others will find the book helpful, and it will doubtless and deservedly become a standard text-book" (from the Vetus Testamentum review by J. A. Emerton). See also the Biblical Archaeologist review by Paul E. Dion, the Journal of the American Oriental Society review by John van Seters, the Journal of Biblical Literature review by James W. Flanagan, and the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by J. Day.
The illustrated guide to the Bible by J.R. Porter
Call Number: 220.61 P834i 2008
ISBN: 019534233X
Publication Date: 2008
"Provides an analysis that emphasizes the biblical narrative, its meaning and historical context.The guide also features over 300 full-color reproductions, photographs, maps, charts, tables and family trees, including boxed sidebars that provide additional detailed information" (from Old Testament Abstracts).
The Old Testament world by John Rogerson and Philip R. Davies
Call Number: 221.9 R633o 2005
ISBN: 0567084884
Publication Date: 2005
"Focus is helpfully maintained both on the world out of which the OT arose and the world evoked by its texts. The OT is primarily treated as a cultural text, but occasional brief comments usefully point to ways in which theological and religious significance may be found in the texts. This new edition will doubtless and rightly prolong the work’s use as a textbook" (from the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by K.N. Beech-Grüneberg). See also the Review of Biblical Literature review by Zvi Brettler, and the Journal of Theological Studies review by Deborah Rooke.

Special Topic: Book History of the Bible

This section is a guide to the history of the Bible as a book: its transmission and publication history.

In the beginning : bibles before the year 1000 by Michelle Brown
Call Number: Q. 220.4074753 In16
ISBN: 1588342409
Publication Date: 2006
"This is an important, reliable and well-produced book of value as an introduction to codicology, paleography, and biblical textual criticism." (From the Novum Testamentum review by J.K. Elliott)
The book : a history of the Bible by Christopher De Hamel
Call Number: 220.09 D365b
ISBN: 0714837741
Publication Date: 2001
"The Book is huge in scope, painstakingly researched, clearly presented, yet cautious in its methodology. Gerald Hammond has criticized de Hamel, unfairly I think, in the London Review of Books (25 July 2002) for his lack of attention to the Bible's cultural importance. De Hamel seems well aware of the Bible's cultural impact on the world...about his chosen topic, however, he has written well." (From the Christianity and Literature review by E.H. Ford)
Whose Bible is it? : a history of the Scriptures through the ages by Jaroslav Pelikán
Call Number: 220.09 P363w
ISBN: 0670033855
Publication Date: 2005
A textual and cultural history of the Bible which focuses on authorship.
How the Bible became a book : the textualization of ancient Israel by William M. Schniedewind
Call Number: 220.1 Sch59h
ISBN: 0521829461
Publication Date: 2004
"Carefully rehearses the examples of Hebrew writing, both in and outside the Bible. It demonstrates that the earlier passages of the Bible are oral in their orientation, while the later prophets and the books of Deuteronomy and Chronicles regard writing as part of everyday life, even retrojecting it into the distant past. This book adds a new angle to the discussion of the origins of the Bible—that of writing itself. The author succeeds at this even while trying to accommodate both popular and scholarly audiences" (from the Shofar review by Ely Levine).
The Oxford illustrated history of the Bible by John Rogerson
Call Number: 220.09 Ox22
ISBN: 0198601182
Publication Date: 2001
" The Oxford illustrated history of the Bible should be useful to students or any interested patron seeking information regarding the history of the bible...Because of the importance and popularity of the subject matter, it is highly recommended for all public and academic libraries." (From the Reference & User Services Quarterly review by Craig L. Shufelt)
La Bible au moyen âge : bibliographie by André Vernet
Call Number: 016.22067 V595B
ISBN: 2222043433
Publication Date: 1989
A bibliography and historiography of Biblical studies during the Middle Ages from 600 to 1500 CE.

Texts

The New Oxford Annotated Bible by Michael David Coogan; Marc Zvi Brettler; Carol A. Newsom; Pheme Perkins
Call Number: 220.52 B4722001
ISBN: 0195284801
Publication Date: 2001
A modern reference edition of the Bible with commentaries included.
JPS Hebrew-English Tanakh
Call Number: 221.52 J556t1999
ISBN: 0827606567
Publication Date: 1999
"In sum, this is a superb tool, especially for students and general readers who seek familiarity with the Hebrew text of the Bible together with a reliable modern English translation" (From the Review of Biblical Literature article by Marvin A. Sweeney)
Bible in English
20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth centuries, all edited from a Christian tradition.
Tanach: The Torah, Prophets, Writings: the 24 books of the Bible Newly Translated and Annotated by Nosson Scherman; Yaakov Blinder
Call Number: BS 715 1996
Publication Date: 1996
An English-Hebrew commentary on the Tanach.