"Bibliographical essays that summarize and evaluate the secondary literature for the 'student, teacher, researcher and librarian.' Specifically on offer here are 450 topics that focus primarily on the religion and ideology of Judaism, ranging chronologically from the ancient Near East to Zionism, and thematically from doctrines and concepts of God to sex and suicide [...] well conceived, planned and presented" (from the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament review by S.C. Reif).
"Works harder than its title would suggest. While, as a 'guide', it can do little more than map its terrain, the book offers far more than a survey of Judaism’s encounter with European modernity. Each contributor’s essay is sufficiently long, sophisticated and cutting-edge to genuinely develop the student and general reader’s knowledge and thinking" (from the Journal of Modern Jewish Studies review by Melissa Raphael).
"Provides an excellent introduction to the contemporary academic study of Judaism and everything related to it [...] intended to provide a snapshot of the current state of research in Jewish studies" (from the Religion & and Theology review by Christoph Stenschke).
Published by Libraries Unlimited, this annotated guide to reference works and bibliographies on Judaism includes many useful general sources, as well as an extensive list of specialized sources organized by subject. Its most lengthy chapter, on Jewish Communities of the Diaspora, is organized geographically and includes six pages of sources in a variety of languages relating to Poland/Russia/Ukraine/Lithuania/Latvia/Estonia. "A greatly expanded and revised edition of a classic in the field, this title responds to the recent exponential increase in knowledge and interest in things Jewish, especially the rapid growth of electronic media (including Web sites) as major research sources" (from the Choice review by D. Kranzler).
"Taken together, the Companion and the Reader demonstrate that, with strict editorial guidelines and control, it is indeed possible to produce worthwhile introductory textbooks for a subject as broad and diverse as 'Judaism'" (From the Editors Choice review)
"Readers should be aware that the volume is an introduction to an area of bibliographic literature; it is not meant in any sense to be comprehensive." (From the Library Quarterly review by Harold Goodman).
"Today, we have two very helpful volumes by Shimeon Brisman- A History and Guide to Judaic Bibliography(1977) and A History and Guide to Judaic Encyclopedias and Lexicons(1987). (from the AJS review by Michael A. Meyer)
ATLA Religion Database Identifies journal articles and books on all aspects of Religious Studies. Indexing for some journal titles extends back into the 19th century. Indexes publications from 1949-present. Catholic Periodical and Literature Index identifies journal articles, book chapters, church publications, papal documents, and electronic resources about the Roman Catholic Church and its history. Indexes publications from 1981-present. For retrospective coverage: Print edition extends coverage back to 1968, with Catholic Periodical Index covering 1930-1966.
Journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.
The main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.
"...comprehensive index of fifty three Jewish festschriften which the diligent compilers have collected up to 1936. The volume is more useful in that listing is made by subjects as well as authors and titles". (From the Journal of Biblical Literature review by Erwin R. Goodenough)
Coverage: 1936-1971. "This volume constitutes a very important addition to the skimpy specialized bibliographical aid shelf in Jewish studies...a requirement for trainees in this hobby or profession in the Jewish field. (From the Jewish Social Studies review by Abraham Duker)
"The bibliography is followed by author and subject indices, which greatly increase its utility...This volume serves as an important contribution to the fields of both Jewish studies and translation in general and will be used by scholars for years to come". (From the Language review by Kirsten Fudeman)