- Illinois Natural History Survey Bulletin: Author GuidelinesConsider publishing in the INHS Bulletin! The Bulletin publishes monographs, research papers, and conceptual reviews on all aspects of natural history and related disciplines, including biodiversity and conservation, ecology, systematics and taxonomy, and fisheries and wildlife biology and management. We welcome manuscripts from all biomes, taxa, disciplines, and cultures, as well as all research approaches, including experimental, theoretical, analytical, and the development of new methodologies. A very modest APC is charged for open access online publication.
Citation Management and Style Guides
- Citation Managers Describes and compares citation management tools
Scientific Style and Format by
For more than fifty years, authors, editors, and publishers in the scientific community have turned to Scientific Style and Format for authoritative recommendations on all matters of writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences. Now in its eighth edition, it has been fully revised to reflect today?s best practices in scientific publishing. Scientific Style and Format citation style has been comprehensively reorganized, and its style recommendations have been updated to align with the advice of authoritative international bodies. Also new to the eighth edition are guidelines and examples for citing online images and information graphics, podcasts and webcasts, online videos, blogs, social networking sites, and e-books. Style instructions for physics, chemistry, genetics, biological sciences, and astronomy have been adjusted to reflect developments in each field. The coverage of numbers, units, mathematical expressions, and statistics has been revised and now includes more information on managing tables, figures, and indexes. Additionally, a full discussion of plagiarism and other aspects of academic integrity is incorporated, along with a complete treatment of developments in copyright law, including Creative Commons. For the first time in its history, Scientific Style and Format will be available simultaneously in print and online at www.scientificstyleandformat.org. Online subscribers will receive access to full-text searches of the new edition and other online tools, as well as the popular Chicago Manual of Style Online Forum, a community discussion board for editors and authors. Whether online or in print, the eighth edition of Scientific Style and Format remains the essential resource for those writing, editing, and publishing in the scientific community.
ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014-05-07
The Chicago Manual of Style by
**The 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been superseded by the 17th edition.** While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book--including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters.
ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Find and assess publication/presentation venues
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 80 countries. It is one of the best known sources of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and the social sciences.
- Scopus CiteScoreCiteScore metrics measure citation impact for journals, book series, conference proceedings, and trade journals.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsFind peer reviewed open access journals.
- SHERPA/RoMEOCheck publisher policies on author rights.
Publishing Support
- Campus Open Access Policy [pdf]As of May 14, 2016, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign claims a non-exclusive license to all scholarly articles produced by its faculty.
- Open Access Publishing Fee (APC) Waivers and ReductionsWaivers and reductions available to UIUC authors for open access publishing.
- Copyright ServicesThe Office of Scholarly Communication and Publishing offers consultations, workshops and lectures on copyright, and online guides and information for educators, researchers, and students.
Starting a new journal or working to move a print journal online?
- Illinois Open Publishing Network (IOPN) JournalsIOPN offers journal publishing services to members of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign community and established, high-quality scholarly communities with strong disciplinary ties to the university. At least one member of the editorial board must be affiliated with the University of Illinois at the time the journal begins publication with IOPN. Visit page to check the criteria and access the Journal proposal form.
Author rights
- Author rightsKnow your rights and negotiate with publishers to retain them.
- General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure See Article III, Sections 5, 4, 2(a) and 2(d) for University of Illinois rules on ownership of intellectual property.
Identifiers for publications
- How to obtain an ISSN for a new journal (or new format of an existing journal)Learn about ISSNs and how to obtain them, from the Library of Congress.
- How to obtain an ISBN for a BooksThis Information from the U.S. ISBN may be helpful if you or on organization you're working with do not already have a system in place for obtaining ISBNs for books.
- Obtaining DOIs for articlesPublishers can join CrossRef to assign DOIs to articles and other published objects. There is a fee for membership and for assigned DOIs. Alternatively, publishers can work with existing members of CrossRef, such as the Illinois Open Publishing Network, and use their platforms for online publication.
- Obtaining DOIs for DataYou can use the services of the Illinois Research Data Service, including the Illinois Data Bank and our membership in Dryad to publish datasets and obtain Datacite DOIs for them.
Author identifiers and profiles
- ORCiD ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized.
- Illinois Experts Faculty and some Academic Professionals have Illinois Experts profiles. If you have a profile, you can enhance it by adding citations and info on your research interests. Log in to access your profile. FAQs and tutorials.
- Google Scholar Citations You can create a profile in Google Scholar to track citations to your publications.