In this guide
In this guide you will find research resources about varied topics on Indigenous populations and languages in Latin America and the Caribbean, with special focus on Quechua and Aimara. Each section includes materials on language and linguistics, literature, and social-historical aspects related with the main indigenous languages highlighted here:
Books and Articles
For additional support in finding books and articles about Latin America and the Caribbean, and Indigenous populations in the area, visit our Latin American & Caribbean Research Guide.This guide provides resources and orientation on how to find specific topics and materials using the University Library Catalog, as well as databases (open access and available to the University of Illinois Community).
Indigenous Languages and Populations in "Latin" America
Image: Still from "My Chacra", by Burlage, Jason (2016), available to Illinois campus community trhough kanopy streaming.
Image: From "The Andean science of weaving: structures and techniques of warp-faced weaves". Available at the University Library
Image from Peru's Ministry of Culture database on Indigenous or Originary Populations
Image from Peru's Ministry of Culture database on Indigenous or Originary Populations
Image from Peru's Ministry of Culture database on Indigenous or Originary Populations
Introduction
Welcome to the Research Guide to Indigenous Populations and Languages in "Latin" America. The purpose of this guide is to provide central access to relevant resources for the study of Latin America's indigenous populations and languages, focusing on Quechua and Aymara. An indigenous term for "Latin America" is Abya-Yala. Meaning "land in its full maturity," "Abya-Yala" is a term often used by indigenous peoples of the Americas to refer to the continent free of an European lens. While the guide is curated mainly for users at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, we hope that it could also be of use for other patrons elsewhere.
In addition to highlighting print resources in the collection at the International and Area Studies Library, the guide also provides information about the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies’ resources and classes on Quechua. Likewise, the guide offers information about relevant e-resources and databases, both at Illinois and beyond. Due to the consortium between the The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign's Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies and The University of Chicago's Center for Latin American Studies, this guide also provides access to resources for indigenous populations at the Regenstein Library at the University of Chicago.
While this guide aims to be comprehensive, some researchers might need extra assistance with particular topics. We encourage you to contact Prof. Antonio Sotomayor, Librarian of Latin America and Caribbean Studies, and the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, for further assistance regarding your research.
Guide Prepared by:
Catalina Hernandez-Cabal - Graduate Student
Antonio Sotomayor - Librarian of Latin American & Caribbean Studies
